Chevron Left
Back to The Politics of Skepticism

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Politics of Skepticism by Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.6
18 ratings
6 reviews

About the Course

This is a course about the history of Skepticism from the ancient Greeks to today, with special attention to the political ramifications of questioning man's ability to know the world and himself with any certainty. We will discuss the debates raging between Plato and the Sophists, the rise of Christianity in the Roman world, and the so-called 'Skeptical Crisis' of the Renaissance as well as Pierre Bayle's Skepticism and David Hume's. In addition the Natural Law tradition will be explored and the relationship between Skepticism and Conservatism. In the second part, we will explore the systematic relations between Skepticism and politics. What is skeptical doubt? When is doubt relevant? How does Skepticism relate to tolerance and to freedom of expression? And can it help us to solve political problems not only in a critical, but also in a creative way?...

Top reviews

EC

Aug 27, 2017

Very good materials and quality videos. Great teachers. This course made me decide upon Erasmus as the university i want to study at, next year.

JQ

Jun 04, 2017

Nice Course. Enjoyed the concepts. Thanks, sincerely

Filter by:

1 - 6 of 6 Reviews for The Politics of Skepticism

By Ellie C

Aug 27, 2017

Very good materials and quality videos. Great teachers. This course made me decide upon Erasmus as the university i want to study at, next year.

By Trent T

Jun 02, 2018

Loved the lessons, structure, and the professors.

By JOHN Q

Jun 04, 2017

Nice Course. Enjoyed the concepts. Thanks, sincerely

By J H B v d M

May 08, 2019

Expert philosophers/teachers who presented the lecture material in a pleasant and clear manner. The special locations where the videos are recorded, make watching the videos ageeable. The text below the videos was a good addition.

The advised or required literature was always available via a link. To make the essay's as requested, I regularly used other and complementary literature. For me that was an enrichment of the study. For all this I am grateful to the teachers.

To anyone who is interested in philosophy, I can heartily recommend this course : "The politics of Skepticism". This also applies to a further study philosophy at the Erasmus University in Rotterdam.

J.H.B. van der Meer

By Daniel S

Mar 26, 2018

Great course, but I really disliked the course requirement to watch full-length films in order to progress with the assignments. The points being lectured were not complicated or detailed enough to warrant 2 hours of YouTube-styled films to demonstrate the issues being discussed in the courses.

By Joy S

Sep 05, 2017

pretty good class.