Chevron Left
Back to Evolution Today

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Evolution Today by Universiteit Leiden

4.5
112 ratings
29 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how evolution works. You will develop an understanding of evolutionary processes and their formative power. You will see how evolution has shaped biodiversity, and continuously influences our daily life. Evolution impacts human endeavors as varied as medicine, agriculture, psychology, economy, and culture. It is the major unifying principle for biology and a fundamental natural law. In five weeks we will make evolution accessible for you and help you to recognize evolutionary processes around you, in nature as well as in society. We make use of the unique collection of Naturalis, the natural history museum in Leiden, but also take you to the field. Using classical and up-to-date examples, we will show you how scientists address evolutionary questions. In the last module, we will have a look at the future. How will humans evolve? And how do we influence our own evolution and that of other organisms? This course is aimed at anybody with a drive to obtain a deeper, broader, and pragmatic understanding of evolution, including high-school students, BSc (undergraduate) biology students, MSc (graduate) students from other disciplines, medical professionals, conservation officers and educators in museums, libraries, national parks, and schools....

Top reviews

YY

Sep 07, 2017

Excellent course! REALLY informative and the exercise questions are helpful in understanding the concepts!

VV

May 29, 2017

Interesting, good examples and case study, whole content of the course is good.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 29 Reviews for Evolution Today

By Emiel d J

Jul 06, 2018

This course is very interesting. It explains most aspects of evolution in a great way. There even is some practical work in it. The also go in the field to show some observations in nature. They are engaging and very clear in their speech.

By George G S

Jun 17, 2019

Excellent course: interesting content and engaging instructors.

By Shrikar P M

May 24, 2018

A

M

a

z

I

n

g

c

o

n

t

e

n

t

By Richard K

May 12, 2018

Very interesting class

By DC

Apr 30, 2018

Very good course, though the sequencing of aminos in a protein was a bit sadistic.

By matthew s

Mar 16, 2018

This course on evolution is not the best course on evolution I have taken. This is by some margin as well.

It's not that it's a really bad course, it's just it really not structured very well and does not flow. The course content is not explained in fine enough detail.

There are links to resources in the graded exams because, apparently, the place to learn information is not in the lectures but when taking the actual exams.

By Philip H

Jan 25, 2018

A good course with interesting information. The only issue was on genetic codes.Cordons should have been marked off for ease of answering questions, a few of which were poorly worded. But overall, very good.

By Sharell B

Dec 19, 2017

This course really made me think about evolution. :) Would recommend this course!

By Marta K

Nov 03, 2017

not overly demanding so far but really interactive and interesting. 5/5

By Gabriel A P

Oct 03, 2017

No es muy interesante el sector de los aminoacidos.

By Marcus V B C

Sep 14, 2017

Sensacional, muito bom. Mas poderia estar na língua portuguesa, traduzido para o português do Brasil.

By Yue Y

Sep 07, 2017

Excellent course! REALLY informative and the exercise questions are helpful in understanding the concepts!

By Lily A N

Aug 25, 2017

As a whole, this was a decent course; the supplemental materials and discussion forums were very helpful. However, I feel as if the information presented through the videos was very general and somewhat jumbled. Also, the gene coding exercises, while mildly interesting, were incredibly tedious to do. In short, work on adding more challenging/factual information to this course and refining your exercises from tedious to engaging, challenging, and/or interesting.

By Mikhail T

Jul 09, 2017

Amazing course!!

By Javier M B

Jun 26, 2017

Very interesting course, it's a perfect introduction to evolutionary thinking and you can discover lot of interesting topics.

By Vishal V

May 29, 2017

Interesting, good examples and case study, whole content of the course is good.

By Alma D

Apr 22, 2017

Wonderful course!

By Cliff S

Apr 03, 2017

This course starts off interesting and then just gets absurd. A huge chunk of the genetic part has activities where you have to translate large genetic sequences by hand. If you don't have access to a printer, trying to break up genetic codes into 3-letter codons and translating them is an exercise in frustration. Plus the sequences are not even easily formatted for printing as they are all images so you can't even just copy them into an editor and break up the sequences.

This was only the second course I dropped on Cousera.

By Noa B R

Mar 08, 2017

Very unclear in the way it was presented and the subject that are being talked about and not very interesting, partly because it was to easy for me.

By Abraham N

Feb 22, 2017

I love this course

By Luis J H

Feb 06, 2017

Extremely interesting, well conducted and achievable of the difficult toolls

By Joy S

Jan 23, 2017

This course is okay

By JOHN Q

Dec 19, 2016

great course....fun and interesting.

By 张瑞

Dec 15, 2016

I

By johan c

Dec 11, 2016

a very interesting course, but the explanation is slow sometimes.