Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
4,336 ratings

About the Course

Impact your financial decisions and learn how to affect the performance of your unit's profitability and of your organization. In this course gain a basic understanding of finance and accounting concepts to drive your organization's growth. Upon completion of this course, you will have gained general financial knowledge and an in-depth understanding of the impact of your decisions outside your functional area. Content of the course includes selected aspects of finance from a non-financial specialist perspective. Specific topics include: financial analysis; planning, forecasting, and budgeting; cash flow, and strategic financing. This class will be interactive and will require the active involvement of the participants in finance related activities. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the importance of finance and interpretation of financial information 2. Apply the concepts of accounting and finance to analyze financials 3. Learn about key accounting and finance terms 4. Examine financial statements by using key ratios 5. Explain the importance of budgeting process 6. Learn about key components needed to improve profitability...

Top reviews

AC

Dec 14, 2017

I've enjoyed this course. Prof. Standen gives a very basic but clear overview of the most common financial topics, wished I had this course a couple of years ago it would have made my life way easier.

EM

Feb 21, 2019

An excellent well-rounded course and perfect for anyone who would like to gain some insight into financial practices. I would highly recommend this course, "Finance for Non-Financial Professionals."

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 878 Reviews for Finance for Non-Financial Professionals

By Chelle B

Feb 23, 2017

Although I am NOT a financial person, I did enjoy gaining a deeper understanding of the financial aspects of the business that I will eventually have to utilize. The instructor made a subject that I usually loath a bit less intimidating. Thank you

By Bart V

Nov 29, 2015

I very concise overview. The teacher is excellent. I would have liked more real life examples,e.g. looking at the numbers for real life companies and comparing them to others and seeing what we could learn from these numbers about these companies.

By Subash R

Apr 12, 2016

As I am from science background, each and every terminology were completely new for me. After completing this course, I not only become familiar with terminologies but also understand their proper applications. Thank you for offering this course.

By Kartikeya D

May 2, 2020

Professor David has a nice way of teaching things and delve deeper into concepts but I think the course lectures could be a bit longer. They can include more real life examples and numerical problems in topics like DuPont's Pyramid, NPV and IRR.

By Sergio C

Nov 16, 2015

Really digested and simplified for people unfamiliar with financial terms or without an strong background on economics.

Strongly recommended to grasp basic, as well as, complex terms and definitions explained in a very simple way

By Niraj K

Aug 15, 2015

This course is good for basics for Non finance professionals. Topics should have bee covered more in detail and totality. For examples Accounting principles coverd only 6 or 7 principles, while there are more principles.

By Rishi A

Jan 25, 2016

Simple and important concepts that everyone should know. Took this self paced course and understood all the videos. I wish the course could have more information on Finance which is useful for entrepreneurs.

By Amanda V D E

Nov 15, 2021

This was a good overview course. I did have to pause quite often to read and re-read the powerpoints to really absorb what was being discussed. The instructor moved quickly through the material.

By Mostafa Y I A

Mar 30, 2019

A good introduction the basic financial language . Helps you understand what are those finance people are talking about.

More in depth studying is needed to go a little bit further with this.

By Marcus F

Mar 13, 2022

Was a good way to get into buisness introduction and relate some real life situations to what was learned in this course. Instrucor was not monotone which was nice for listening purposes.

By Raquel S M

Apr 19, 2020

A really useful course, with easy to understand examples and a huge amount of interesting and direct use in normal life, and of course in each business activity...join it! it worth it

By Justus H E

Sep 22, 2017

Loved the course contents, the explanations and the pace. I would have liked to have a discussion forum and see the correct solutions to the test, and especially the peer assignment.

By Luis F E D

Oct 13, 2020

Buen curso que permite validar conocimiento de conceptos bàsicos para personas que no son financieras, permitièndoles entender de manera sencilla y aplicar en el dìa a dìa. Gracias

By Timothy H

Aug 18, 2018

A reasonable brief overview of finance for non-finance professionals. I would have liked a little more detail, but his explanations were generally clear and his examples were good.

By Ruo P Z

Aug 31, 2015

As a nonfinancial person, I liked that it is a good clear intro finance. However, I wished there was more reading content available on the site to go more into depth on the topics.

By Vibhuti

Sep 9, 2015

A good overview for someone unfamiliar with finance but given the brief and introductory nature of the course, you'd need to do further reading to understand many of the concepts.

By Sam S

Nov 20, 2016

Enjoyed this module right. I felt it was quite fast and just skimmed over certain topics but I definitely learnt more than I did and looking forward to learning in more details.

By Federico L

Sep 21, 2015

Great course but, in 2 videos, the professor makes reference to exercises that should be for downloading and they are not. Please, either include them or re shoot the videos.

By Gao R

Jan 17, 2016

Very helpful for non-financial professionals. The course is too short for me. I'd like to get further knowledge about the finance. Thanks very much for your impressive work.

By Itabayeva S

Jun 8, 2020

Thank you for the course. It was useful. I would like to recommend to introduce more concepts/terms. It would be great to have more lectures within course.

Thank you again

By Yatinder

Feb 16, 2016

The course was good but it would help if after specialization in particular subject,lets say finance,coursera could help connect students with employers around the world:)

By Rodrigo L A A

Oct 21, 2020

Un curso muy gratificante en lo que se enseña y completo en los temas que abarca, aunque en el ultimo modulo se podria abarcar mas ampliamente para una mejor comprensión

By Onkar P

Aug 25, 2015

the course is very beneficial for people from other backgrounds. Understood the basic concepts of finance. thanks a lot. Waiting for such more at your pace courses. :)

By Alex N S

Apr 15, 2020

Conceptos claros e información compacta de utilidad para entender mejor aspectos de finanzas y cuentas. Podría tener mejores materiales de apoyo y ejemplos prácticos.

By Matteo B

Dec 12, 2020

Good, comprehensible introduction to something that is orthogonal to what I do in my career. Might not help in my exact career path, but interesting and stimulating.