Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Financial Managers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Financial Managers by Emory University

4.4
stars
217 ratings
69 reviews

About the Course

Finance is for “Non-financial Managers” who want to understand key financial principles and apply them in a real-world context. Over the course of the program window, you will work your way through a series of nine modules that move from understanding basic financial principles to applying financial analysis and ratios to drive decisions. In addition, each module is capped with an ending self-evaluation to ensure that you have absorbed the following key learning objectives: + Understand the language associated with finance + Know how and when to use financial terms and analysis techniques + Read and assess company performance using financial statements + Recognize the link between organizational strategy and financial objectives + Use "the numbers" to your best advantage to make more informed decisions...

Top reviews

MS

Feb 06, 2020

The videos were informative and concise. The only issue I found was potential rounding errors with some of the numbers but this was usually non-consequential.

KK

May 11, 2020

Very practical and useful course; I have gained good knowledge about the investment; return, ratios, and CAPM. Thank you for the great course Dr. Smith

Filter by:

51 - 70 of 70 Reviews for Finance for Non-Financial Managers

By PRAVEEN R H

Oct 09, 2020

it was a good course with insights on basics of finance and as well as income statement, balance sheet, cashflow and various ratios

By Zahid R

Jun 14, 2020

Very knowledgeable course in decision making and instructor has very well explained various topics. ... I like it.

By Danielle P

Mar 14, 2018

Very educational but easy for working professionals with a busy life.

By Faisal A

Apr 17, 2020

It’s better if there is some classes to be live with the instructor

By SHERLINE P A K

Jun 09, 2020

It was very useful in upgrading the skills in basics of accounting

By Dan I

Jan 29, 2019

Very good course and great instructor.

By Ravindharan T

Mar 24, 2018

Very useful for non financial managers

By Francis O A

Jul 21, 2020

Eye opening course.

By Khalid M A

May 05, 2020

Video Quality

By MARK B

Mar 27, 2020

The subject matter was solid, exactly what I was hoping for at the level I was hoping for: a high level review of concepts and formulas for introductory corporate finance.

I give the course a few dings however because the material was not put together well: Some of the videos didn't track with his explanations right (i.e. he would spend several minutes working through a formula but the video only showed his face), I question a decent amount of the math in the quizzes, Only the end section quizzes showed the right answers, and none of the answers came with an explanation of how the math was supposed to work. There was even a video in the middle which just showed him having technical difficulties and talking to someone off screen. It's like no one cared enough to watch the videos before they were posted. Pretty lame.

By Chris M

Jul 24, 2020

A useful course for anyone wanting to understand the fundamentals of financial statement interpretation and evaluation. The learning design needs more attention, however. In many instances, the videos focus on the instructor talking to the camera, whereas showing his spreadsheet/actions would be far more instructive. At least once, a quiz tested knowledge of something which wasn't properly explained until a subsequent video. The supporting spreadsheets with examples were good to work with, but I was amazed that there was no single summary of all the formulas used throughout the course.

By Sue A M

Jan 23, 2020

This course would significantly benefit from more case studies (examples) and exercises for students to do. The presentation/lecture portions would also benefit from more slides, and views of the documents the Professor Smith is working with. In multiple Week 7 and week 8 videos, the professor is manipulating worksheets and other documents, but for the most part, his manipulations are not shown. I found this frustrating. I would have appreciated more context such as who within an organization would use these calculations/information and when.

By Gary K

Jul 03, 2020

I found it difficult to understand the end videos mostly, due to not showing on screen when doing WACC. It was good information, but I think a workbook and course notes should be provided as a work along to match exactly what the instructor is teaching. On 3 occasions it took me over 20 minutes to find a company in yahoo finance that had the detail I needed to answer the questions.

By Mark H

Jun 27, 2020

The content is very useful and good (4 to 5 stars)

The lessons are a bit old (course is from 2014 or so) and sometimes the content could have been presented better (often the speaker is shown while it's better to see the slide / numbers / formula he's talking about)

By Mia K

May 04, 2020

The last three weeks went through concepts too quick and the quality of video makes it hard to see the excel numbers. I liked the course at the beginning, but the latter part makes me feel the lack of quality.

By Hazem A S

May 05, 2020

The last week was a mess

By Benjamin S

Aug 10, 2020

Difficult to follow in the videos. Low resolution and not always showing the "correct" screen makes it hard to follow.

Many times it is not clear what to look for in the income statement/balance sheet and in the Week 8 also the stock info as many times the words used in the statements are not the same that are used in the videos. Since there is no other lecture material it is difficult to understand. Especially if English is your second or third language it might cause some extra frustration since finance is a whole new language in itself.

Many times the calculations just don't seem to add up. A solution instead of just a result after a completed assessment would have been nice to make sure that I actually used the correct numbers and not just ended up with the correct answer by chance.

Lot's of potential, but as it is right now I would not recommend this cource.

By David F

May 07, 2020

Basics were there, syllabus included everything I wanted to see and expected. However, a lot of the videos were really poorly produced, i.e. instructor spouting off numbers he was using to calculate values but never showing the actual balance sheet / income statement he was using. Literally just a video of him talking about the numbers and math he was doing (not good for visual learners).

Also, the tests / exams were poorly done as some had questions that I am convinced did not even have a correct answer for them. Very poorly produced overall in my opinion.

By Enrique V

Jul 26, 2020

In the last two units the camera show the professor when it should be showing the spreadsheet, eventually I figured it out by re-doing the sessions. Poorly executed. My other comment is that in the first sessions the spreadsheet looks like a blur in the screen, again, p[poorly executed.

By Alexandre A

Jun 29, 2020

Course content definitely below my expectations. You can get all the subject presented here in a $10 pocket book, which will describe with more details and have a better presentation of the examples.

There were also a few theory misalignments. I tried to contact the professor and the monitors, but 3 weeks later, no feedback yet. I've lost my hopes already.

My suggestion: Do it only if you need a certificate from a renowed school really bad.