Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
18,665 ratings
5,647 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

GG
Jan 22, 2021

Love how Maya presented the course and I especially love the cooking sessions featuring her cute kids. I am looking forward to reading her book or if she has any YT account featuring more home cooking

AE
Jun 21, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

Filter by:

5451 - 5475 of 5,591 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Tyler Y

Oct 15, 2016

Not a very high volume of material.

By Joyce C

May 20, 2020

Very basic 101 but good refresher

By Marcello S

Jun 19, 2016

Good content but extremely basic

By Sariyya S

Jun 8, 2019

very informative for beginners

By Janet L

Jun 21, 2016

good stuff, but a bit preachy

By Haley S

Apr 7, 2020

Good very basic information.

By Luís F d C F

Sep 26, 2016

Achei um tanto superficial

By Ankit K

Apr 6, 2020

Not available certificate

By Yiannis K

Jan 14, 2020

I expected to learn more.

By Kristiana D

Apr 14, 2020

The course is very basic

By Noor B

Sep 25, 2016

Good for healthy living

By Sejal H

May 5, 2020

It was a basic course

By sarah d

Jul 21, 2016

basic but interesting

By Asmaa T

Aug 10, 2019

Needs more content/

By Tabitha

Jul 8, 2020

Covers the basics.

By Maria F G G R

Oct 21, 2019

Very basic stuff

By Hans W

Sep 6, 2017

it was alright

By Jotsna I

Mar 5, 2016

Not much depth

By María T B

Sep 24, 2020

Muy basico

By Maria A M

Oct 19, 2016

Very basic

By Roberto G

Jun 1, 2020

Too basic

By Martín R

May 20, 2020

Too basic

By Europe

Mar 31, 2020

Too easy

By Claude J G

Feb 14, 2016

The course is essentially a self-help guide focusing on the idea that cooking real food promotes health. This is certainly a message that many people need to hear.

Unfortunately, the advice concerning what to eat is less sound. Let me illustrate this with a historical counterexample.

Around 75 years ago, a Canadian dentist visited my home country of Switzerland, where he examined the health and diet of a population in a secluded mountain valley. He found them to be of exceptional health. Their diet?

breakfast: rye sourdough bread, butter and cheese

lunch: rye sourdough bread, butter and cheese

dinner: rye sourdough bread, butter, cheese and potatoes, along with some vegetables in the warmer half of the year, and small amounts of meat on Sundays

Contrary to four fundamental recommendations in the course, these people ate a lot of saturated fat (butter) and animal protein (cheese), but few vegetables and had hardly any variation in their diet.

They did prepare their own food, grown or pastured locally, in very mineral-rich soil, which imparted their butter and cheese with very high amounts of fat-soluble vitamins A, D and K2. Perhaps animal foods are not as unhealthy as the course suggests, and food (and soil) quality is paramount.

Instead of taking this course, watch Maya Adam's TEDx talk (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-gyIkA-crM) and browse the recommendations of the Weston A. Price Foundation (http://www.westonaprice.org/) to learn what to cook, in particular their Healthy4Life dietary guidelines (http://www.westonaprice.org/wp-content/uploads/Healthy4LifeEnglish.pdf). If you still need a self-help guide to actually start cooking your own food then by all means, take this course. It'll only take you about an hour.