Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
14,996 ratings
3,889 reviews

About the Course

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Top reviews

TJ

Sep 5, 2021

I had a lot of fun in this course. I learnt some extra bits of information related to graphic design and I think it's a great start for beginners as well as good practice for intermediate and experts!

GA

Aug 20, 2018

Very interesting, I liked the format. Easy to follow, nice excercises. It's actually good to cover the basics of design, even if you are not an absolute beginner, and especially if you are self taught

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 3,868 Reviews for Fundamentals of Graphic Design

By Devdeep M

Nov 2, 2016

It's amazing how this course breaks down graphic design to fundamentals that we hardly even think of. It acquaints you with the building blocks, and creates a foundation that'll take you a long way!

By Caroline V

Dec 30, 2021

Um curso básico com raízes profundas! Tudo parece ter sido pensado e elaborado para nos fazer se sentir parte. Senti-me presente e senti a presença e o acolhimento do professor e colegas. Obrigada!

By Stephanie E

Aug 1, 2020

This course was informational, fun, in depth, and very interesting. The professor did a great job of giving comprehensible lessons and the assignments always helped enforce the course's main ideas.

By Tatjana M

Jul 9, 2020

I loved the course, well explained, entertaining assignments.

Have to be ready for hard work ( at least I had to work hard;-)).

It s more than worth it!

No hesitations, take your breath and dive in!

By Melanie B

Nov 10, 2015

Well structure, informative, and very accessible introduction to graphic design. Assignments were achievable and enjoyable, and supported the lesson very well. Great course! I hope you create more!

By Yiğit M

Sep 22, 2021

I​ highly recommend the course for people who are looking for a introductory course for graphic design like me. I really enjoyed during the course. Assignments are also well-thought and fun to do.

By Uzair A K

Apr 1, 2021

Great course for someone who wants to get into the roots of Graphic Design. Even if you are new or already have some skills in Graphic Design you'll definitely get some benefit out of this course.

By TELUKOTI R

Jun 25, 2020

It is a very useful course in which i learn typography

Image making virtual,single,multicontrasts

And what not it is a very good course i ever scene thanking course era for giving this oppurtinity

By DENNIS J A

Apr 8, 2020

Carlart is the best institution I have ever experience, my experience studying here was so interesting, they have helped me to climb one step higher in graphic design in other to achieve my goals.

By Alicia B

Feb 13, 2020

This course gave me a great basic understanding of graphic design and further assured me of my decision to pursue a career in graphic design. The peer feedback was constructive and always helpful.

By Hope Z

Jan 3, 2020

Very great course to start designing. It helped me become bolder in creating contrasts in my work. Great for anyone interested in graphic design, or anything like bullet journalling, cooking, etc.

By Sahil M

Jan 1, 2020

The fundamental aspect of graphic design as written in the title itself is covered by the instructor in a fun and inciting way. The classes are interesting and one should definitely give it a try

By Emily G

Aug 18, 2021

Very informative for begginers, the course is easy to follow and a lot of necessery materials but they are broken down to make it easier for people who don't have a background in graphic design.

By setsuna r

Jun 23, 2017

Hands on interraction would be nice with course instructor. Everything else including community feedback is great.

Access or feedback from mentors for graded assignments would make better impact.

By Foteini F

Dec 1, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and I definitely recommend it to anyone interested in learning or fine-tuning their understanding of the basics of design.

Very well structured and worth the time!

By keren k

Jan 3, 2016

great course for beginners in graphic design.

you get to know the basic and the tasks are simple so anyone can do them.

no previous experience is needed but its fun to try and make your own designs

By Vaishnavi G

Jul 22, 2020

For people who have no knowledge of how to start, it's a good basic course to get hands-on those stuff. And the people who have the idea this course is too basic for them. Although I enjoyed it.

By Huyen T N

Jun 15, 2020

The course is condensed and very applicable. I am a designer without an art degree, the course has provided me with many insights of the art concept that will help me a lot in improving my work.

By Syed Z R

May 15, 2020

It was very helpful. I learned a lot and explored my imaginations. It helped me grow even more. I've learned new things theoretically and practically. It is a great course for beginners like me.

By Дмитрий Б

Feb 19, 2016

This course helped me to explore my creativity. Although I've been working as a graphic designer for sveral years still I found a lot of interesting stuff that opened new horizons of creativity.

By Deleted A

Feb 1, 2021

How do i leave the course. It tells me to click on the 3 dots and choose leave course but it only comes up with this option to rate the course. I may take it again but I have no time right now.

By Philip A

Jun 1, 2019

Very simple, straight-forward and effective. Even for someone who has already done graphic design for a few years this is very enlightening as it covers very strong basics. Highly recommend it!

By Lisa H

May 6, 2017

I LOVED this course. Awesome teacher, every lecture made interesting and fun to watch. Great doing the optional assignments for learning!! Recommend this 100% to any beginner of graphic design.

By Labonya B

Aug 3, 2020

It's a very basic of graphics design, very well organise. It's very helpful for the beginners. I've learned through watching videos, doing the assignments and reviewing others work. Perfect!

By Stephen M H

Jul 11, 2020

The explanations were thorough, the visuals reflected exactly what Mr. Worthington was discussing, and the pacing of the videos was outstanding. Thank you for a beneficial learning experience!