Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
15,147 ratings
3,921 reviews

About the Course

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Top reviews

TJ

Sep 5, 2021

I had a lot of fun in this course. I learnt some extra bits of information related to graphic design and I think it's a great start for beginners as well as good practice for intermediate and experts!

CS

May 9, 2018

An ok course for beginners. A bit too basic for someone who has already had experience in design, but is great anyway cause it breaks things back down to the simplest parts to help you remember roots.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 3,902 Reviews for Fundamentals of Graphic Design

By Alex Z

Dec 26, 2015

excelente, me gusta que puedo ir a mi ritmo, el profesor explica de manera muy digerible, los temas son amenos y los brief despumes de cada capitulo ayudan a reafirmar lo aprendido

By Ailen B

Oct 31, 2021

Estoy satisfecha con el contenido de este curso, me ayudó a desarrollar habilidades. También a pensar y analizar en lo que se puede transmitir con una composición. Muchas gracias.

By Samuel C D

Apr 19, 2021

This course has been helpful in improving my knowledge of graphic design. It has been well worth the time and effort. You should enrol too and achieve whatever goals you may have.

By Mohammed m k

Jul 22, 2020

This course is Wonderfully designed to give a strong base to your concepts and the way the tutor teaches you is amazing!,I recommend this course to all the Graphic Design Newbies!

By Ghadah K B

Jun 29, 2020

I LEARNED A LOT ABOUT GRAPHIC DESIGNER I DIDNT EXPECT TO KNOW THAT MUCH IN JUST ONE COURSE! THANKS FOR ALL WORKERS IN THIS COURSE SPECIALLY TEACHER Michael Worthington.

VERY HAPPY!

By Олександр С М

Nov 7, 2018

Thank you for such a great fundamental course! It helped me to understand the basics of graphic design and improve my skills! Thank you once again and wish you all the best! Alex.

By Diana R U N

Sep 12, 2016

Excellent!!! I could understand things not previously understood. I could not perform activities that my computer was damaged and could only watch the videos during lunch at work.

By Mary P

Jan 17, 2016

I am a professor in the arts. I enjoyed the projects and felt this course was very organized and easy to follow. The videos and project examples brought it all together.

Thank you!

By Katerina S

Nov 21, 2015

Very-very complex and saturated course. It makes u believe in yourself and reduce fear of the white sheet))) easy to understand)

Thanks a lot! i want to create after your lectures!

By Saundarya G

Oct 15, 2021

This course has been very informative. I enjoyed doing all the assignments. This course gives ample amount of time to submit the assignments. I am glad I enrolled in this course.

By Sherif T

Jun 18, 2021

Even as an experienced graphics designer, I found this course very helpful as a starting point in deconstructing graphics design into its fundamental rules. Fantastic instructor.

By CATALINA V F

Apr 16, 2021

It was a great experience, the course was very interesting and complete, I learned a lot and I've already started using my new knowledge. Thank you very much for this opportunity

By Aigoz A

Mar 25, 2020

Clearly delivered information about the basics of graphic design. A lot of practice works. I am happy that I had the opportunity to learn more about my favorite topic. Thank you!

By Antoniya V

Mar 13, 2018

This course is perfect for beginners in graphic design because it makes you DO things not only to learn about them. You can see different aspects of visual presentation of ideas.

By Deleted A

Jan 23, 2016

A great course, it sparked my interest and built me up, starting from the scratch I now dare to pick a pen or brush and scissors and ductape and be creative! Thank you very much!

By Luiz M

May 15, 2021

Great Course, I didn't know anything of graphic design now I know something and I feel engaged to learn more. The teacher is very nice and easy to understand.

Thank you, CALARTS.

By Malena P

Oct 12, 2020

This course is interesting, well facilitated, brings many opportunities to practice the skills one learns, and encourages participation and further exploration. Congratulations!

By David O

Sep 24, 2020

Soy diseñador, sin embargo aprendí algunos elementos importantes de las artes en el diseño :) Los ejercicios tienen un componente muy creativo de lo esencial para ser diseñador.

By Ummarah S

Sep 19, 2020

i love how smoothly the course went , i had no problem doing this course amid my own busy routine . i learnt new thinks , that can furthur be groomed in to professional skills.

By Jerry A

Sep 10, 2020

This course was really able to expand my knowledge & perspective about Graphic Design at the fundamental level. I highly recommend it for everyone interested in graphic design.

By QUIAWAN, D M (

Jul 16, 2020

I have so much fun learning this course at the same time it gives me on point lessons on how to effectively apply all the fundamentals of graphic design. Thank you very much! :)

By MOR Y O

Jun 28, 2020

This is an indispensable course for people who are interested to explore into the world of graphic design. It is indeed very helpful in my daily teaching as well. Big thank you.

By SHAILESH

Jun 26, 2020

I learned about image making and basic foundation of Graphic design. Its realy nice and easy to learn by coursera.. Thank you entire team. I loved it. I will Go for Next course.

By Juan F Z R

Mar 6, 2020

Excelente, fue una maravillosa experiencia, siendo un estudiante de Arquitectura, me ha servido muchísimo para comprender un poco más acerca de la composición y el diseño en sí.