Chevron Left
Back to Guitar for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Guitar for Beginners by Berklee College of Music

4.8
stars
2,169 ratings
629 reviews

About the Course

Grasp the essentials needed to begin playing acoustic or electric guitar. You'll learn an easy approach to get you playing quickly, through a combination of exploring the instrument, performance technique, and basic music theory. For students who have long thought about picking up the acoustic or electric guitar, this course will provide an easy-access foundation that will get you playing. When first learning guitar, it is important to have the material presented in stages, in an enjoyable way that allows you to grasp the basics of the instrument and music. The course begins simply with the parts of the guitar, the names of the strings, tuning, and technique—whether finger-style or pick. It then explores the basics of music theory with such topics as scales, triads, power chords, and fingering and shapes. At the end of this course, students will understand the structure, parts, and accessories of the instrument, in addition to an understanding of its basic maintenance. Electric guitar players will learn the operation of their instrument along with basic options for amplification, effect pedals, and sounds. Students will also learn to develop correct technique and apply theory concepts to their playing. They will have the foundational knowledge necessary to pursue most intermediate guitar courses....

Top reviews

SM

Sep 11, 2020

If you want to learn guitar no matter which guitar you want to learn acoustic or electric if you are a beginner then quickly join this course it will really help you to upgrade your skills in guitar.

MH

Apr 4, 2020

This course was a brilliant experience. My special thanks to Thadeus Hoggart for his patient and well organized course. Highly recommended for all those who are planning to start playing the Guitar.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 625 Reviews for Guitar for Beginners

By Kevin F V H

May 13, 2021

Good!!

By Santiago C

Jun 1, 2020

Great!

By Vishesh J

May 19, 2017

Great!

By LIU X

Mar 21, 2017

Great!

By Wang G

Nov 16, 2015

Great!

By Yomna S A

Apr 16, 2022

great

By Darsh M

May 30, 2019

Great

By Daniel W

Jun 19, 2018

Cool.

By Marcelo L T

Feb 11, 2016

Cool!

By roberto m

Oct 8, 2015

great

By Piyush G

Dec 28, 2020

Good

By FANISHA A A

Oct 14, 2020

cool

By 柯冠宇

Feb 29, 2016

nice

By Braz j d b n

Dec 2, 2015

Top!

By Moisés h

Sep 13, 2015

Cool

By 樊雷松

Apr 14, 2016

喜欢。

By 罗俊

Dec 24, 2015

有帮助

By NATALIA E H P

Aug 3, 2021

Un buen curso, el profesor es muy organizado, además me gusta la doble pantalla para ver el rasgueo y la pisada de la cuerda, me gusta también que se da el tiempo de hablarnos del cuidado del instrumento motiva, hay algunos detallitos, como videos que no están en todos los idiomas y pierdes un poco el hilo ya que esto ocurrió en videos donde tenias que poner mucha atención, siento, que se deberían de agregar unos videos mas sobre acordes ya que directamente pasar de básico a lenguaje musical es un poco complicado, pero da pauta a que tu busques mas a fondo la información. Hay que esforzarse y poner mucha atención si no los últimos temas se complican.

By Louis J B

Oct 19, 2015

Musical syllabus is challenging, but yields rewarding accomplishment upon completion of the course.

There is insufficient staff monitoring and student support during the course. Be aware that you should be proficient in recording your music on your pc including being able to integrate chords and melodies of the same piece into one recording.

Newbies to guitar need to begin finger flexibility and strengthening exercises before starting the course as it will be difficult to keep up with the course and the required practice time if you are struggling with finger soreness and fatigue.

By DanielSubach

Mar 14, 2016

Nice job but somewhat slow in presentation and lumbering. The playing on recording to other students for grades is way too cumbersome. Outside of the necessary downloads, recordings, playback the course was presented well and scales and position playing were particularly helpful and clear. Position playing is not as easy as one might perceived and the Instructor did a commendable job elaborating and in particular explaining how the information can be used to be creative and improvise.

The reason not a 5 is that the grading is cumbersome and time-consuming to set up

By Kaminskaya S

Aug 19, 2020

When I started the course I was able to play guitar so it wasn't complicated to me, but absolute begginers may find this course challenging. I really love lectures because they are easy to follow and I have learned a lot about music theory! Thanks for it.

4 stars because I expected to learn more about acoustic guitar playing techniques. Moreover, there are some gaps in the lectures. For example, minor scales are not described while tasks on pentatonic minor scales design are required to complete.

By Tim D

Feb 29, 2016

Great course for learning the theory and techniques. It's difficult to master the new techniques/theory in only a week, but it builds a great foundation. After completing this course, the students should understand that there's still a lot of practice and time that needs to be put in, if playing fluently and effortlessly are the end objectives. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and plan on continuing to build upon what I learned.

By Anita W

Jun 1, 2020

It is a good course since it is for free. However, there is no mentor or instructor to give any feedback. It is you self assessing your work. Hoping your fellow students might know more than you if you have a question. Honestly, it is not the best way to learn for some people. Others might thrive in this environment. I say take it and get what you can out of it. However, you will most likely need to seek more instruction.

By Silvia R

Aug 23, 2017

Really interesting course. I suggest to attend it to the ones who are approaching the guitar but also to the musicians who want to review the basics. To me the course is well done, with a good pace and inside material. The professor is clear in the explanations of the guitar/music matters and he talks in a clear a easy English, the latter being important for the ones who do not interact in English often. Enjoy!

By Cory H

Aug 20, 2015

Good introduction to basic guitar and musical concepts such as chord diagrams, tabs, musical notation. Good video lectures and challenging (for beginners) exercises after each lesson. Recording device of some type is required, even if as simple as a computer microphone and audacity.