Chevron Left
Back to The Importance of Listening

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Importance of Listening by Northwestern University

4.6
stars
1,443 ratings
283 reviews

About the Course

In this second MOOC in the Social Marketing Specialization - "The Importance of Listening" - you will go deep into the Big Data of social and gain a more complete picture of what can be learned from interactions on social sites. You will be amazed at just how much information can be extracted from a single post, picture, or video. In this MOOC, guest speakers from Social Gist, BroadReader, Lexalytics, Semantria, Radian6, and IBM's Bluemix and Social Media Analytics Tools (SMA) will join Professor Hlavac to take you through the full range of analytics tools and options available to you and how to get the most from them. The best part, most of them will be available to you through the MOOC for free! Those purchasing the MOOC will receive special tools, templates, and videos to enhance your learning experience. In completing this course you will develop a fuller understanding of the data and will be able to increase the effectiveness of your content strategy by making better decisions and spotting crises before they happen! MOOC 2 bonus content in the paid toolkit includes access to Semantria's analytics engine to extract some data on the markets you are developing and have it analyzed. As a student in this course, you are being provided the opportunity to access IBM Bluemix® platform-as-a-service trial for up to six months at no-charge with no credit card (up to a $1500 value). NOTE: By enrolling in this course, given access to IBM's Bluemix technology for one month for free as well as Lexalytics' Semantria tool. For those earning a Course Certificate, you will be given an additional five months of Bluemix and three months of Semantria at no cost with a special key code. By enrolling for a Course Certificate for this MOOC, you are acknowledging that your email will be shared with Lexalytics for the sole and express purpose of generating your individual key code. After the key code has been generated, Lexalytics will delete your email from its records. Additional MOOC 2 faculty include: * Steve Dodd (SVP Business Development, Effyis - dba BoardReader and Socialgist - Global Social Media Content Access) * Seth Redmore (CMO, Lexalytics, Inc.) * Chris Gruber (Social Media Analytics Solution Architect, IBM) * Russell Beardall (Cloud Architect, IBM) * Tom Collinger (Executive Director Spiegel Research Center and Senior Director Distance Learning, Medill Integrated Marketing Communications, Northwestern) * Tressie Lieberman (VP Digital Innovation, Taco Bell)...

Top reviews

MA

Oct 07, 2020

I didn't have any idea to how control social media, but after this course that was so practical learned how to control , monitor and observe the operation and also how to find solutions to thrive.

WL

May 26, 2018

I am enjoying the journey. I anticipate being a better digital marketer than ever before. Thank you for helping me to be better all the way around: personally, academically, and professionally.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 278 Reviews for The Importance of Listening

By ARK K

Jan 17, 2019

This course has opened my minds! The tools and the paid access to tools like IBM BlueMix and Semantria, are mindblowing. It has not only helped me advance in my career but it has also opened my perspective towards building a holistic social media plan for my target market.

By Cassie C

May 27, 2020

Great tools and insights to Social Media-The importance of Listening. Listen to what our audiences wants and we will be able to connect with them. The saying goes beyond social and applies to our personal lives. When we have insights, we better marketing decisions.

By CQ

Aug 02, 2016

I still never quite grasped how to use some of the tools, but I think it was more of an issue with me not having a grasp on the product I want to market rather than the program itself. The listening tools we got out of this mooc are incredible, if you have a PC.

By Mohamed C

May 05, 2016

I discovered in this MOOC a wonderful course that gives a lot of capital tools, immediately usable and absolutely useful! Thank you all the creators and the participants of this MOOC for giving us such great chance to know how to listen people on social media.

By Lamaar W

May 24, 2020

The Importance of Listening builds exponentially on the What is Social? course. You can expect to be given the tools to be able to identify and track where and how your audience is discussing topic important to them. This has been extremely valuable.

By Andressa S

Jul 28, 2020

Mooc 2 is fantastic, making the student work with the tools learned and see the results happen. I had several insights with the testimonials of professionals who are a reference in the market. Without a doubt, I want to take the other courses!

By Neda B

Nov 23, 2015

It was an amazing opportunity to be able to learn this new concept from the experts in this field. Thanks to Randy Hlavacand, Northwestern University and Coursera for bringing this opportunity and make it accessible for everybody.

By Matthew G

Mar 04, 2016

I have learned so much from this course about social, and cannot wait to continue my journey with future courses. I would definitely suggest this course to anyone looking to brush up their knowledge on social media practices.

By sushant p

Jan 25, 2016

Great learning and very well researched course. A must do for any marketer who want to stay contemporary and learn the nuances of social listening by understanding its applicability in formulation of marketing strategy

By Lisa S

Feb 22, 2016

Wow! I feel like a whole new world has opened up to me. This specialization is more fun than work! The discovery and new tools are amazing! I can't say enough good about all of the courses in this specialization!

By Danielle C

Sep 16, 2018

It was a good course and I did learn a lot but I was worried about finishing the peer review because there was only two people who had done it and I needed to review three. Other than that, it was fine.

By Nicole P

Jun 28, 2016

I wish more companies would understand how important it is to listen to consumers versus just doing whatever they want. This MOOC is critical for business owners or anyone running social media accounts.

By Mohammadhossein A

Oct 07, 2020

I didn't have any idea to how control social media, but after this course that was so practical learned how to control , monitor and observe the operation and also how to find solutions to thrive.

By walter l

May 26, 2018

I am enjoying the journey. I anticipate being a better digital marketer than ever before. Thank you for helping me to be better all the way around: personally, academically, and professionally.

By Smita J

Apr 02, 2016

I love the real-world and practical examples given for social listening. I think the descriptions of exactly how the social listening tools actually work help me with getting my own work done.

By JIA Y

Feb 09, 2020

This is a great course which would provide you the necessary tool and perspective into current social medias. Thank you, profess Randy, and peers who helped me along the way. Best wishes!

By Ellie C

Dec 10, 2019

This is a very practical course not only help me understand what social listening is and how to leverage it, but also provide rich resources of tools that I can apply in real life.

By Namaa A

Feb 16, 2016

This Mooc Offers some great tools and tips for all social media marketers or just enthusiasts out there, great thorough content will referenced and a great experience all together

By Anli Z

Mar 15, 2017

It is a wonderful experience. This course not only teaches you knowledge of social media marketing, but practical ways to motivate your growing in social media marketing.

By Xuan Z

Mar 20, 2020

The course combined theoratical knowledge with practial interviews, which is quite useful for students without relvent knowledge background before. Highly recommend!

By RAZA I

Apr 08, 2017

Excellent information , brilliant material and entertaining discussions. Highly recommend for anyone looking to build essential skills revolving around social media.

By Raja R

Feb 17, 2017

This Course is excellent and especially Prof Randy had put in a lot of effort to give this amazing series of Mooc on Social marketing. I highly recommend these Moocs

By Michela M

Apr 23, 2019

case histories and actual firms and brands cases help a lost supporting the theory and the sturdies, the course was engaging and the assignment really challenging

By Areti S

Feb 04, 2020

Very well structured, all content covered a lots of sources and analytic tools provided! Very satisfied with the course, the instructor and overall experience.

By Megan N

Jul 17, 2018

The tools, insights and growth I got from this section was fantastic and has actually changed the way I approach my social media marketing for my business.