Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.7
stars
1,190 ratings
472 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

NS
Sep 16, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

FR
May 20, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The explanations are clear and, as suggested by the title, the lecturer uses intuition and daily-life examples rather than abstract and formal definitions and notations.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 474 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By Rebk S

Dec 30, 2017

Very nice course

By Arifuzzaman M

Apr 17, 2020

Excellent!!!!

By Paul B

Mar 2, 2018

I enjoyed it.

By HUEY C S

Oct 26, 2020

Good course!

By Jaime E F

Aug 16, 2020

Great course

By Amir Z

Jun 13, 2020

Great course

By Robin C

Sep 14, 2019

Wonderful co

By Komal S

Jan 28, 2017

Nice course.

By WojciechŚwiderski

Jan 30, 2018

nice course

By Yogesh

Jul 20, 2017

Good course

By Georgia P

Jun 6, 2018

Thank you!

By Sherif N B

May 15, 2018

Thank you!

By MAURICIO W

Oct 2, 2017

Brilliant!

By Sri R W

Sep 22, 2020

Excellent

By Jayaganesh G

Dec 17, 2017

The Best.

By Michael P

Jul 27, 2017

Engaging!

By RAMAKRISHNA R

Apr 22, 2020

Excellen

By 许家骏

Nov 2, 2021

good!

By 谭洛

Aug 17, 2019

老师教的好

By Emanuele M

Jul 2, 2020

Very enjoyable and interesting introductory course to probability. The first part is very easy to follow, but I feel that starting from week four there is a decisive gap in the material difficulty(due to heavy notation). Anyway the teacher expectations seem low and the exercises and tests are too easy. The course is accompanied by a well detailed(but not very well edited) PDF. Overall a nice and fun introductory course, with a decisive lack in exercises and tests(the in class quiz are self-evident- the exercises are already solved by a tutor), which I found better developed in another similar and almost complementary course, Data Science Math Skills.

By KARTHIK K

May 28, 2020

I wish i had taken this course 15 years ago ie during my school days which would have made my life lot better :) It has given a strong fundamental understanding of the key concepts in probability. More difficult and varied exercise problems would have helped to deepen my understanding more. Nevertheless, truly worthy and fun time spent learning P. Thanks a lot Karl, Jose and all the other people for putting together this wonderful world class course together and truly making knowledge accessible to everyone.

By Radka P

Apr 29, 2020

It's very good course on introduction to probability. The lectures were taught very clear and comprehensibly. To finish this course you must complete all quizzes on 100 %, and sometimes it can be very tricky. For better understanding I would appreciate, if there were more exercises that I have solve myself. Although I think the quizzes following the Jose's lectures were unnecessarily easy, because the questions and answers in the quizzes were the same as were taught in the lectures.

By Xi W

Feb 14, 2021

I very nice course overall. I would recommend it to others. I few minor things that didn't give it a five stars. First, there are some minor errors in the videos that haven't. been fixed over the years. Second, the instructor and the TA are not available in the discussion forum. The instructor for the Calculus course on Coursera was very interactive in the discussion forum.

Again, I still think it's a great course and thank you very much for providing it.

By Hosein N

Mar 17, 2021

In comparison to other similar courses available at coursera and in terms of the course design and structure, content and the extent to which the topic of Stats and Probability at intro level is covered this course also covers it quite well, but more explanations on wk 5 content was needed as there seems to be a sense of rush to roundup and finish the course at the end. All in all, great for kickstarters!

By Amrendra P S

May 17, 2020

This course will give you an introduction to probability instead of deep knowledge or concepts. For beginners, this course is better but if you had done any course in probability then this will not be much beneficial for you. Course content if prepared and structured well, examples give you the real-life implementation but assignments are very easy and don does not cover the entire portion of the course.