Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.7
stars
1,136 ratings
451 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

NS
Sep 16, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

FR
May 20, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The explanations are clear and, as suggested by the title, the lecturer uses intuition and daily-life examples rather than abstract and formal definitions and notations.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 450 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By Joep M

Sep 26, 2019

Very clear and fun course! Excellent teacher with lots of examples, but also explains all the basic theory from the ground up.

By Ignatius V

Sep 19, 2020

I love this course, insightful, and Karl is a very good lecture, He isn't boring and could understands students. THANKS KARLL

By Ujjawal J

May 20, 2020

Explained the basic concepts of probability very well and through real-life examples. A very interesting and helpful course.

By Jason L

Jun 17, 2017

Great Course! The real world application examples really help to deepen ones intuitive understand of the concepts presented.

By I G A A

May 6, 2017

The course is really interesting. I like how Prof. Karl and Jose explained the materials. Thank you for creating the course!

By 林燕滨

Mar 1, 2021

it is interesting and helpful. Recommend it to anyone who hate probability. Believe me. This course will change your mind!

By Tobias A

Sep 30, 2018

Very interesting. Even with a limited unterstanding of the math behind probability you will get the gist of the course.

By Sarwar S

Nov 1, 2017

very well structured course , a must take for someone who is looking for a career in field of analytics and statistics.

By Camilo A V

Jul 15, 2020

Muy bien explicado, con ejemplos sencillos y casos de la vida real que le ayudan a uno a comprender mejor los temas.

By Irina B

Oct 28, 2017

Great course with interesting examples. Have a lot of motivation to continue learning theory of probability further.

By Thomas J H

Mar 19, 2017

Good introduction to key concepts. Wish I had taken this course before I had started other Stat Courses on Coursera.

By Angel R

May 10, 2017

excellent take on a difficult subjet. Very clear explanations of complex concepts and with every day life examples.

By Carlos V

Sep 19, 2017

Excelente curso introductorio a las probabilidades. Es un gran comienzo para entrar en el mundo de las decisiones.

By Muhammed A

Jul 1, 2020

By watching this course you will understand the basics of probability, and how we used it in real-life problems

By ameya

Dec 5, 2017

Simple to follow, structured well. Good examples. Both the professor and the teaching assistant do a great job.

By Nancy W

Aug 16, 2017

Really enjoyed this well prepared course. A gentle introduction that creates interest in toward further study.

By Shiwam B

May 12, 2020

The course was really helpful and gave a proper intuitive approach to probability which satisfied my curiosity

By George

Apr 22, 2017

Well narrated, really easy to understand. A hundred percent will recommend to my friends. Thank you Professor!

By vidya b

Sep 10, 2017

wonderful course, covers basic probability and its applications in the most interesting way i have seen ever.

By Mounika K

Jun 30, 2020

Amazing course for a beginner, works as a brush-up course for someone getting started with machine learning.

By Luisa G

Sep 16, 2017

This is not a math heavy introduction, but will walk you through probability with fun business applications.

By Harshad

Jun 21, 2017

All concepts are very well explained along with practical applications.

Wish I was taught this way at school.

By Kazis L

Nov 13, 2019

This is indeed a very good course since it's giving the real fundamentals for the subjects. Thanks a lot!!!

By Yijie X

Jan 26, 2019

Prof Karl is fun. I like this course very much and I wish there will be more advanced course taught by him.

By Sarthak K

Mar 31, 2019

Amazing refresher for important probability concepts with intriguing real world applications and examples!