Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
6,939 ratings

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings

(121 Reviews)

Creatively designed course

(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

AA

Jun 21, 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ

Jun 10, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 2,053 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By Hanna S M

Aug 9, 2017

This course is lengthier than the previous one. It's really fun and interesting to learn this way. Thank you ASU for providing such an inspiring course to ESL/EFL teachers around the world. Thank you to the teaching team for their great effort. Keep it up!

By Yue Z

Feb 3, 2021

I like the format of the lesson - very creative and informative at the same time! In the acting parts, there were some stereotypes that might make people feel uncomfortable and could be adjusted. Overall, it's a wonderful course and I highly recommend it!

By David H

Jan 16, 2021

An exciting and informative journey !! I recommend this module in order for you to take some techniques and tools from different approaches. The more you know about different ways of learning a language, the more tools you have to apply on your classes :)

By Karen V

Jun 7, 2020

I am really thankful i found this course. I love the way the topics are presented. The materials to learn and review are amazing and interesting. I've learned a lot. Now i'm ready to continue with the program and to improve all my teaching techniques.

By Mahnoor S

Jan 18, 2023

This course introduced me to different approaches to second language acquisition which, when applied, can prove helpful in different learning contexts with different levels of learners. Thanks to the course instructors for organising an amazing course.

By Alison H

Aug 24, 2022

All good education programs need a solid foundation in theory. This course was engaging in content and presentation. I found Dr. Dixon to be an excellent professor in teaching language. I look forward to more lessons presented by this excellent teacher.

By Mel G

Jan 23, 2022

This course has exactly what one expects from a course that teaches you how to teach: amazing teachers. I still have to finish the following courses, but until now, I can say that the questions I came with at the beginning are one by one being answered.

By Thảo D

Aug 17, 2021

Brilliant and well-delivered content. I really enjoy traveling back in time with the instructors and especially the debates between the Angel and the Devil. I can't wait to join the next course!!!!

Thanks team ASU for your effort and your creativity!!!!

By George L

Jun 21, 2018

This is the best course i have so far, detailing the various approaches to language learning. I learned quite a lot and i think i have more information to make my classes awesome. Thanks to the Arizona State University and the amazing Coursera platform.

By Wang D

Jun 27, 2017

Through the course of Theories of Second language acquisition, I just have a better understanding of the 8 approaches in history. So, I can make use of advantages of them to apply in my own teaching. Great job, ASU team and special thanks to Dr. Shane!

By Miranda B K

Mar 2, 2017

I really enjoyed this course! The content is well organized and easy to comprehend. The assignments are based on videos and current readings. All content is applicable to my current teaching situation and helped me to put theory to my current practices.

By Maria D R P

Jun 18, 2020

It is a great course. I enjoy the techniques and explanations, teachers are really involved in the teaching process and are funny. The Approaches allow us decide what kind of methods and contents we want to use in class. Thank you for this opportunity.

By Soh B N

Oct 19, 2023

The different teaching approaches gave me more insight on how to structure my lessons and coming up with my own teaching philosophy. It was very interesting learning how the pendulum swung from a focus on reading and writing to listening and speaking.

By Fabiola B S

Apr 7, 2022

The course was great.

It has offered a detailed description of each language approach and it helped me to reflect about the techniques and strategies I choose to use from each one to help my students develop their language skills and meet their goals.

By Alexis V

Mar 22, 2021

Dr Shane rocks! He doesn't mind looking ridiculous, and that's why he is so great. Thanks a lot to Jessica who summarized every single item for us, and her story in China. This is a great team of teachers and students behind the camera. Thank you all!

By Hengameh F

May 23, 2017

I appreciate all professors' efforts to prepare this course and give us the opportunity to learn from them online. I admire Dr. Dixon as a teacher. He is doing great. He depicted Language Teaching methods clearly and artistically. Thank you very much.

By Bayramov A

May 19, 2016

It has been a great experience for me. I have a broaden understanding of the theories and approaches of Second Language Acquisition. I am grateful to each member of the team who helped me to enjoy this course. Thanks Jessica, Dr. Shane and Dr. Justin.

By Eriwell H

Jan 3, 2016

This course presents various methods to learners and teachers how English should be taught in an extremely effective manner. The videos are well prepared and each lesson has been provided a well structured lesson for all kinds of learners. Keep it up!

By M T N

Jul 27, 2023

It was a really informational and beneficial course for me as it contains plenty of information about several approaches we use on daily basis but didn't had any idea but it determines each separately and guided in detail, that's why fabulous course

By Rome S

Apr 21, 2022

The effort put forth by the teachers are phenomenal! While this is a theory course, the course is engaging and never boring. I can easily recall the principles of each approach through the use of caricature. I learned so much and enjoyed the course.

By Rachel M

Apr 2, 2019

Took me a long time to finished it but I really enjoyed the lessons and all the essential questions and assessments.

This course from Arizona University is really awesome and easy to follow and understand I will definitely continue with the program.

By Janet W

Sep 27, 2016

The whole course is well put together. Not only do they give you the theory behind teaching but also the tools need to do the job. I highly recommend these course for anyone looking to improve their teaching skills in TESOL or looking to teach it.

By Laura C

Apr 3, 2016

Loved the course but I had to work hard for the grade on this one. The videos were engaging (and fun, yes, fun), making a dry topic like history of ESL teaching a lot more palatable. Be prepared to work hard in this one but it's completely worth it.

By Deepti C

Jul 2, 2020

This is such an amazing experience. It makes me wonder how amazing would the live classes be.

Dr Shane is not just a great teacher but also a great actor :)

The roles played by him to teach are so effective that none can forget the content taught

By Rayyan B

May 29, 2020

I really loved this course especially the efforts that the teachers made into the costumes and coming up with ideas to make it more fun! Highly recommend it, it was very helpful, now i know which approaches i can apply in my teaching. Thank you!