Chevron Left
Back to Leadership in 21st Century Organizations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Leadership in 21st Century Organizations by Copenhagen Business School

4.7
stars
836 ratings
305 reviews

About the Course

Meet Jim Barton, the new CEO of Santa Monica Aerospace. Jim's job won't be easy: the company's hemorrhaging cash, struggling to regain investors' trust after an accounting scandal, and striving to transform its culture to become a more global competitor. In this course, you’ll travel with Jim as he takes on leadership challenges ranging from strategy execution, to inspiring people, to maintaining an ethical approach. Experts agree that twentieth-century leadership practices are inadequate for the stormy twenty-first-century present. This provocative course equips you with the insights you'll need to rise with the occasion of a rapidly shifting business landscape. The course is based on a book, Harder Than I Thought: Adventures of a 21st Century Leader, by Robert D. Austin, Richard L. Nolan, and Shannon O'Donnell, published by Harvard Business Review Press. Purchase of the book is optional. If you want more information about the book or wish to buy it, see https://hbr.org/product/harder-than-i-thought-adventures-of-a-twenty-first/an/10332-HBK-ENG or http://www.amazon.com/Harder-Than-Thought-Adventures-Twenty-First/dp/1422162591 After taking the course, you'll be able to: o Enact your own personal leadership approach, derived from your ongoing evaluation of how Jim Barton has handled his leadership situation, as well as from established leadership concepts and frameworks; o Avoid leadership actions that might have worked in the past, but are not suited to a newly challenging 21st century world; o Navigate treacherous new 21st century leadership challenges, such as greater reliance on specialized workers or the need to respond to external scrutiny in an increasingly transparent world (and many more); o Avoid "slippery slope" ethical failures, and think more clearly about the separation between public and private life for a 21st century leader....

Top reviews

SS
Apr 26, 2021

This course will certainly help you know each stepping stone during your leadership journey.\n\nKnow the crisis and how we can sail through it, and kind of Leadership traits.\n\nKudos to the team.

WS
Jun 13, 2021

Extremely insightfull and practical course,\n\nTouches on a number of aspects of leadership in today's world. I found the reading material very useful, sometimes voluminous but extremely relevant.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 302 Reviews for Leadership in 21st Century Organizations

By S. A R K

Sep 26, 2020

A Par Excellence Program which had an unique design with context setting by Professor and enacting the whole life of SMA by all actors at Pennsylvania which was a practical organization for all of us as Students. A reel life sharing real life world of an organization pitted against a world trend setter so much so we saw ourselves as part of SMA competing against Boeing and Airbus. Accolades to entire team at CBS for such a massive role out. Thank you and Gracias

By Ravikanth K

Oct 12, 2020

Very good course in the world of leadership training and tune ourselves to the 21 century organizations. The case studies taken across the businesses help students to gain insights in to the board rooms and influential policy making and come to executing philosophies etc..

Only draw back is the many final course assignments are copied and submitted as work, one needs to check for plagiarism before evaluating others.

By Satish D

Jan 17, 2021

Leadership in 21st Century Organizations is wonderful course. It has given thoughtful insights of today's VUCA world. Course structured very well with simulated case study, which gives insights of minor things. New concepts, decision making strategy, collaboration, team building, communications, finance, quality, conflict management and many more things has been learnt from the course. Enjoyed fully.

By vicky p

Sep 27, 2020

The course is very good for someone who is interested in learning Leadership skills. The unique way of showing the skills and learnings through Episodes was great. Also the additional material used for external reading is great. Some of the articles needed subscription which should have been somehow handled within the course. Also the duration required for the course is longer than mentioned.

By Thomasena J

Sep 23, 2020

Excellent course! The video presentation of SMA and Jim Barton were a great way to see the material come to life. All examples were relevant and made absorbing the content easier. The conversations in the discussion threads were enlightening and reinforced the material for each module. This course is on par with the leadership courses I took during my MBA program. 10/10 would recommend!

By Asad M

Jun 7, 2021

Absolutely brilliant! The case study of Jim Barton, CEO of SMA, made the learning so much richer. The videos of the facilitators and the adjunct learning material were superb. The reflective exercises and discussions were really appreciated. I learned a lot. Thanks to the course developers and facilitators for making me a lifelong learner of leadership skills.

By Dr. N G

Nov 29, 2020

A very comprehensive Leadership development program. Course content is very relevant, detailed and updated. I personally had good learning from the program. Excellent instructors. But few links were not not working and some asked for subscribing at a homepage (what I personally disliked a little bit) but all over, a great course.

By Babu T

Jul 4, 2021

Good course to understand the leadership aspects especially for future leaders.

It had given the insight about different type of leaderships techniques, Helped in understanding the taping the recourses with the examples and actual case study links were more appropriate

Thanks Regards

Babu TS

By Beulah H

Nov 9, 2020

This course on 21st century leadership enabled me to demystify leadership responsibilities through very entertaining and instructive videos, talks, articles and analysis. There is a methodology behind the role and this course teaches you to get ahead with it with confidence.

By Philipp C

Sep 28, 2020

One of the best coursera courses I've ever taken!

Unique combination of fun, useful information and amount of additional material to examine. The idea to make the course as a serials was really great! Its furious drive and great performance threw me at extreme delight!

By Giuliano S

Nov 13, 2020

Intensive training. Many and many video and reading observed, studied. A clean and lean overview of new leadership style need for the 21st century. A great opportunity to grow up for me, and for any other who will to learn new management characteristics.

By Socrates

Jan 19, 2021

Very organized and interesting course. The material, the structure and the way which the course is taught is superb. I have no more words i enjoy everything and i am very delighted for acquiring all this useful knoweldge!!!

By Kavita K

Jul 13, 2020

The course was extremely insightful and sighted some very good examples from the real world of leadership. I feel well equipped now with a lot more knowledge and experience to deal with in the real world organizations.

By Jitendra R

Jun 18, 2021

I​t was excellent journey through out the coures and it's very useful to me and my orgnizations to given me this opprtunity.

C​oursera is unique platform globally for individual and orgnizations.

Outstanding

By Ismail A

Apr 12, 2021

This course was very interesting and incredibly detailed. It did a great job integrating theories, real-world examples, lectures and a fictional drama exploring all of these. I learnt a lot from this course.

By Sachin S

Apr 27, 2021

This course will certainly help you know each stepping stone during your leadership journey.

Know the crisis and how we can sail through it, and kind of Leadership traits.

Kudos to the team.

By Radha G

Jul 23, 2021

A great way to learn being at home or anywhere in this pandemic.

Nicely categorized capsules and chronological way in the form of weekly study materials.

A great learning experience!!!

By Dr. N D

Oct 11, 2020

One of the best courses I have undertaken! Every leader must take this course for being effective and compassionate as someone whose actions decide the course of a company.

By P B R R

Aug 26, 2021

Well knitted course with thought fully dramatized modules, current issues related to the course and provided clear thought process on leader ship

By Liju V

Oct 27, 2020

Very informative and valuable course provided you go in detail by taking time and effort through all the materials provided .

By Frida A

Nov 10, 2020

It was a wonderful course. the best online course that I ever followed. Thank you very much to the authors.

By Tyler B

Nov 26, 2020

Good readings and interesting lectures. A good course to apply to yourself as you go through the course.

By William P

Dec 29, 2020

It's a wonderful course. I really enjoyed it and I liked the Instructors. they made it really exciting.

By Indranil C

Dec 7, 2020

Great illustrious way to get back to the basics and learn more about how to Lead in the 21st Century.