Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
37,693 ratings
9,732 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

CS
Jan 6, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

AT
Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 9,850 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Marilyn P

May 24, 2021

Antes que todo quiero agradecer la equipo de trabajo que realizo el curso. Es muy buen trabajo. El curso es fácil de seguir, muy completo, Personalmente lo tomé como complemento de otro curso que estoy haciendo de coreano y me ayudo mucho. recomendado 100%

감사합니다.

By Pichaya S

May 5, 2021

I'm so glad I took this course. My interest in the Korean language started when I came back to listen to K-pop and It grew up on me. I fell in love with the language. This course has given me the basic skills to talk in basic conversations in Korean very easily.

By MARIA D L A T T

Oct 24, 2020

Fue fantástico, siempre he querido aprender coreano pero dada la dificultad para los maestros coreanos perfeccionar el español era dificil comprender algunos contextos, pero haberlo aprendido del ingles al coreano fue mucho mas facil, pude entender muchas cosas.

By Bria T

Sep 30, 2020

Very informative and helpful. Though I am a little concern for those who will take it with zero knowledge as it may be too confusing for them. Nevertheless, they could use the forum to interact with the lecturer and other students to ask and clarify the lessons.

By Ana R R A

Jun 17, 2020

I really love this course. The teacher explains well the grammar. I also like the way how she taught the pronunciation of the Korean words. I am also able to learn basic conversational Korean. I hope more of course like this will also be given here in Coursera.

By Ava F

Jun 14, 2020

This course was very informative and precise. I could retain the new information and I learned phrases that would help me in everyday life. This course was very well worth it and I’m glad it was free and easily accessible to anyone who wants to learn. Thank you!

By Joan M Q

May 20, 2020

This course helped me not just to gain the basics of writing, reading and speaking the Korean language. But also enjoy learning a lot about their culture. Hope I can get to visit South Korea after the pandemic ends and practice applying what I learned. ❤️ 고맙습니다!

By Kelsey W

Nov 21, 2016

This easy-to-learn course teaches you everything you need to read Hangul (the Korean alphabet), understand sentence structure, and begin verb conjugation. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an accessible introductory experience into the Korean language.

By Kosithirunsakun, N

Mar 24, 2016

I am looking for the course which provide me the new knowledge. This course can provide me the third languages, I am so excited not only Korean Language but also cultural and traditional. I am thankful all of you to give me the new experiences. I do appreciate.

By Anderson S L

Sep 2, 2021

This course was amazing!! You really learn korean language from different contexts. It is a good route to begin with passion another language. Thank you to Yonsei University for this course. To Seung Hae Kang thanks for everything and I hope to see you someday-

By Sofia A

Nov 27, 2020

Particularmente me encantó el curso. Fue muy fácil de entender. Hay que estudiar mucho, es un idioma bastante complejo, hay que aprender sistemas numéricos nuevos, mas caracteres y no es tan sencillo. La profesora excelente, se entendió muy bien todo!. Gracias!

By Victor C

Nov 1, 2020

I love the fact that in every lesson, they will provide PDFs which will make us review after classes. I also love how soothing the voice of seonsaengnim is! It definitely helps to lessen how overwhelming the lessons are haha. Thank you so much! - Victor Caberte

By Jonafe A M

Aug 25, 2020

Thank you so much for giving me this experience it really means a lot to me. Thank you for my good and patient instructor to this course and I am so glad that I was able to learn more about Hangul. I enjoyed every lesson in this course. Thank you and God bless!

By Luke A J

Jul 3, 2020

It was fun and interesting, I think I am already ahead of level 1 Korean so I skipped alot of the videos and went straight to the tests but overall I think if you follow along with the videos and make notes yourself, you can learn alot from this course. Thanks.

By Shivangi p

May 7, 2021

it was so much fun to learn the korean language the insterctor was superb and the videos was so good and easy to understand the concept and language and the explanation was also good. i'm so happy by this online course its so helpfull to learn the language .

By BALID, C J A (

Nov 5, 2020

Professor Kang is very helpful and she explains very clearly. The conversations before discussions were able to help me get a broad view of what the discussion will be all about and trimming it down to bits helped me get a clearer understanding of every topic.

By Shanice B

Jun 30, 2020

This is a great course for people that have already started learning Korean and need help building a proper foundation. I definitely learned a lot. I was a bit overwhelmed by the vocabulary but they are all necessary words you will need for basic conversation.

By Carmina E S C

Jun 8, 2020

Muchas gracias, me siento muy feliz, porque este curso me gustó mucho como introducción al idioma coreano, me siento muy motivada para seguir adelante en el aprendizaje de este bello idioma. espero que pronto tenga mayor fluidez al leer y en la pronunciación .

By Li Y

May 1, 2020

great intro to Korean course for beginners. would be great if the vocabulary section was not chopped up in each video, it would be easier for students to write down all the vocab for the unit in sequence so that we can take notes better. other than that, v fun

By Olga M

Jan 15, 2018

Great for total beginners. The only thing I would comment on is the tests, they are quite easy and could be a little bit more demanding. However if you can devote yourself to learn and not rely to much on the test to check out your knowledge then it's perfect.

By Marlon S

Dec 30, 2020

Great course and good starting point for more advanced studies of the language. I loved the Hangul emphasis and the drills and it had quite a steep learning curve. A lot of things covered in those five weeks. Very recommended for every Asian language learner.

By Kane S

Jul 5, 2020

This course taught me how to speak Korean moderately. The course was direct and the professor made the learning experience manageable and fairly simple to understand. I enjoyed this course and will take what I learned from it to better improve my own Korean.

By Deleted A

Dec 21, 2018

This course was amazing. I can't believe it. I am so happy and thankful for it. It was well disigned. The videos are clear. The lectures were helpfull. The quizes were according with the topics on the lessons. I highly recommend this FIRST STEP KOREAN course.

By Lina M T

Apr 13, 2017

This course is very practical, dynamic and understandable to people who want to learn about Korean language and Korean Culture. Maybe you should include more videos or information about traditions and customs and maybe open the second course of this language.

By Joseline G B

Dec 26, 2020

It was a really course! I learnt a lot. I definitely recommend it! But you need to learn Hangul really well so you don't suffer while you're learning new content. She gives time to pronounce after her. You can learn to read, speak and write! Excelent course!