Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
43,363 ratings

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AT

Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

PW

May 27, 2021

useful course for fundamental learners. Everyone can take this course easily.

the instructor gives me good teaching and more information.

I can basically talk to Korean after finished the class.

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By kanishka s

May 30, 2020

Thank you so much, mam, for providing us this opportunity to learn from you. You are an amazing mentor. I really got to learn a lot and could complete the course effectively. I really appreciate the way the course material was provided and that made it super easy to go through.

By Carla M

Oct 28, 2017

After starting this course, I didn't know anything about Korean, I literally started form 0, but now I think I'm able to start a conversation with a native Korean, all the videos were very good because they were easy to understand, and every lesson were clear, I'm very thankful

By Matthew J

May 31, 2016

I love this course! This course does not require any prior knowledge in the Korean language and with this course I came from absolute beginner with no textbooks and went to knowledge of basic Korean conversation and knowledge of the rich and pure history of the Korean language.

By Andrea P A L

Sep 26, 2020

It was a very complete course, I could really learn about the Korean language and Korean culture. I'm very surprised by myself, too, it's really a challenge to choose Korean as a third language. Thank you very much for letting me be part of this course, I really appreciate it.

By Zack F

Aug 16, 2020

Great starter for those that are venturing into the Korean language. They start with the basics that will assist you in any future learning outside of the class. I had prior experience with Korean on a beginner level, this class really helped to understand the language better.

By Hoang N M

Jun 5, 2020

I love the materials/lessons of this course. It is easy to learn and commonly used on a daily basis. The professor is so professional and helpful. Her instructions are clear and easy to understand. This is overall one of the best Korean For Beginners courses I've taken so far.

By Rutuja p

Jul 4, 2021

It was very helpful and pretty easy to understand..of course it will take practice to make the roots strong...Miss Seung Hae Kang did an excellent job and I thank her for making my learning experience more smooth. Thank you Yonsei university for this amazing beginners course.

By Miranda S L

Mar 14, 2021

Me gustó bastante, fue muy sencillo de entender gracias a la explicación de la profesora exponente y agradecí mucho que tuvieran límites de entrega donde uno se puede adaptar, lo recomiendo mucho para iniciar y aprender lo básico del lenguaje para al menos lograr comunicarte.

By Agala G N N

Feb 5, 2021

I started learning Korean because of BTS, a Great course. This will helps to improve basic knowledge of the Korean language. Welcome, all colleagues from different countries to follow this course .Kamsamnida YOSEI University and Coursera

Love from Sri Lanka...................

By Supanit W

May 21, 2020

I think this course will be suit to all beginner student. I spend two or three days a week to study this course. I think it was a little time but this course has cover the thing that you should know. I can understand simple setence and the word for using in daily life. Thanks

By Wedyan A S

Jun 13, 2018

This course provides the necessary information about Korean , it's very useful. I really love this course and I have learned a lot and I look forward to learning more. Professor Seung Hae Kang was so kind and dedicated , Thank you for being a remarkable teacher.God bless you.

By Juan d J D V

May 11, 2022

me parece un excelente curso e aprendido bastante, lo explican de una manera muy bien y organizada, me resulta muy bueno la manera de dar un repaso con las actividades del pdf y eso de hacer un examen me ayudo bastante a comprender mas de forma visual y auditiva lo aprendido

By maria p c

Apr 26, 2022

Es un excelente curso, se entiende totalmente, es un buen primer paso para adentrarse a conocer un poco mas el coreano y su cultura. Aprendes las diferencias que hay entre tu idioma y el coreano. Me gustó mucho y la maestra explica muy bien, y los ejercicios te ayudan mucho.

By REiNE

Oct 7, 2021

i​ remember i was super scared and anxious to get to learn korean but honestly it was so easy and so well explain that when i finished the course i felt like, is that it?!?! i want more, but now i will encrease my vocab and practice the conversations! thank you so much!!! 😊

By Holly B

Oct 23, 2020

I can't believe it's over! This course was a delight. I enjoyed the instructor, the study materials, etc. It's a well-designed course with challenging, but not frustrating, assessments at the end of each week. Thank you, Yonsei University and Professor Seung Hae Kang. 고맙습니다!

By Aqua

Sep 11, 2020

The class was excellent. I like that I didn't need to get hung up on the romanization crutch and just listen closely to pronunciation. It was a good pace and I could easily go back to review material. The pronunciation spreadsheet was fantastic. I want to keep learning more!

By Eunice R

Aug 30, 2020

The professor understands and respects that we are doing the course as a second language, so she always takes the time to repeat the vocabulary, sentences, and every example of the lesson. The practice of the material is the key to do well. I can't wait to take more classes!

By Ana M M A

Aug 29, 2020

Perfectamente bien explicado, con ejemplos fáciles de seguir. Este material enseña lo más básico que se debe saber del idioma. La maestra explica de forma impecable y su pronunciación en inglés es excelente, por lo que sus explicaciones son absolutamente fáciles de entender.

By Raneen B

Jun 19, 2020

I love the course <3 .It's fun, easy and suitable for beginner.Everything was well explained & I really enjoyed the content. The practice exercises help understanding the lesson better.It'll help more if the romanization available.I'd like if there is level 2 course. 감사합니다

By Jessica R

Jun 7, 2020

Me pareció que estaba bien estructurado el curso, se enseñaron diferentes temas y palabras a lo largo de las 5 semanas. Me gustó cómo se explicaban los conceptos y su respectiva pronunciación, fue de gran ayuda tener diálogos por cada tema para así complementar la escritura.

By Charissa F

May 11, 2020

Very informative and easy to understand. The lessons were broken down into manageable sections which were easy to complete on time. It was nice having a Korean speaker so that I could hear the sounds as opposed to just reading what I thought they were supposed to sound like.

By Caitlyn J

Mar 14, 2022

I give this five stars because I truly appreciate how each lesson really built on what we learned as the lessons progressed. Especially the details when it came to grammer. I would reccomend this course to anyone interested in going over the fundamentals of Korean language.

By cris F

Aug 31, 2021

this is great if you want to start learning Korean from the start. there is a lot of usefull things theached here that you should know ,even if you are not going to go to Korea, for kdramas or kpop. the material provided is also great. i for sure recomend taking this curse.

By Elizabeth R D

Sep 19, 2020

I learned how to read, write and talk in korean. I can ask and answer basic questions and i know that with this and more practice i can be fluent in korean. This will aid me if i got lost in my next travel, if i meet someone new or if i need something. Thank you teacher!!!!

By Mitch C

Aug 13, 2020

This is a very helpful course for learning basic Korean language. The simple conversation parts on the start of every lesson were very useful and the Review segments to culminate each week's lesson were also beneficial. I'm looking forward in learning more of this language!