Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
5,207 ratings
1,538 reviews

About the Course

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

Top reviews

HA
Aug 17, 2019

Great for a fundamental course. I have to admit that I had learnt python a few years back and was using this as a practice and revision course. But I learnt a lot more which I can add to my knowledge.

PC
Jun 4, 2021

Well taught, assignemnts are just right in complexity, its hard enough to no be easy and but not to be frustrating and tests challange your knowledge enough for it to be rewarding to complete with 80%

Filter by:

1276 - 1300 of 1,527 Reviews for Learn to Program: The Fundamentals

By Djaber B

Apr 26, 2017

As a beginner, I found this course helpful. The approach of teaching is quite good, I also like the assignment which is often the part of a complete and meaningful program. But, I think plotting in python is missed in this course, which is equally important to other sub-course

By Aishwarya R

Aug 29, 2020

This course is quite suitable for people who have no prior knowledge of python at all, overall experience was quite good. But I feel like the programming tutorials could have been taught in steps rather (like the one in week 6 - developing a program) than just in one video.

By Leandro B

Jan 8, 2018

Well thought and very clear. The only reason I don't give the 5th star is because if you make a mistake in an assignment it does not tell you what the mistake was.

It would be nice to discover, once the exam is passed, which were the things people got wrong.

By Corey

Apr 27, 2018

Very good and clear introduction with limited practice included. Could use more challenging practice problems, but honestly, if you want to learn to program you'll have to play around with your code; don't expect to learn just by listening to lectures.

By Sheshaddri M G

Mar 26, 2021

An excellent introduction to Python! As someone who's never programmed before, I learned a lot from this course about the basics of Python and coding in general. This course has inspired me to learn more about programming and to explore Python further

By Luis

Jun 18, 2020

Thank you Jennifer, Paul and Patrick for share your knowledge with us. This is a very good course to start with Python programming. This gives you an overview of Python syntax, loops and basic concepts needed to build up our programming skills.

By Marko V

May 3, 2020

Great study material, I was really happy with what I learned. However, I do not think it was the very basics of Python programming; I had to learn the basics elsewhere before completing this course, but I still found Coursera extremely helpful!

By Bennett J

Apr 2, 2019

Decent class where I was able to learn the fundamentals of programming. While I'm certainly not ready to build anything complex and I at least know a whole bunch more than I did when I started. Pretty easy to follow throughout all weeks.

By Samir M

Oct 12, 2018

i liked the course, i think more practice would of been good and i felt sometimes some things were shown in the end tutorials and questions that we never went over in the course. I would say it has been a good intro to python though.

By reagan s

May 2, 2018

This is my first time to try python and It is a good course on computer language python for beginners. Mentors are very helpful and lectures and assignments of this course are made in way to make the basics clear (as done with me).

By Rod M

Feb 6, 2019

Course content is excellent and topics covered clearly and concisely. The quiz pages, however, are ridiculously flakey. All it takes is a loose mouse click to turn what would otherwise be a correct answer into an incorrect one!

By Pedro M A

May 20, 2020

Its a really nice way to start to get familiar with python. The dynamic of the course is nice since you can work in IDLE together with the videos. Although i think it would be nice to have more practical examples and tutorials

By John P

May 14, 2020

A well structured and informative course overall. Sometimes the instructors tend to assume knowledge or understanding that hasn't been explicitly mentioned yet, so at times it's easy to lose track or backtracking is necessary.

By Dickson A d S

May 18, 2018

A good introduction to Python, specially to those with no programming experience as is the goal of the course. For more experienced programmers, it might be too easy since it's not intended to go deep in advanced aspects.

By M N

May 8, 2020

Good course for developing muscle memory in Python3 but as someone who has worked in software development previously I found the course to not be a true introductory course to programming but more of a refresher tool.

By Ahmed E

May 30, 2020

I've had a hard time completing some of the assignments because some questions were a little unclear or inconclusive, but in general I think its a very good course and takes you a little deep into Python programming.

By Daniel B

Mar 12, 2018

(+) Instructors were great, material and assignments were thoughtful and appropriate.

(-) Open ended quiz questions were vague and the format was too particular. Did not do a good job assessing student's knowledge.

By Michael L

Jan 31, 2018

Covered the basics pretty well, but it would have been better if the notes were a bit more extensive, so that the videos did not need to be watched (as I'm not an auditory learner, and get very little out of them)

By Yasuyuki T

Sep 26, 2017

I think that it is the sensible introductory course for programming. It looks that the structure and contents of the course are well organised for building knowledge and basic skills of programming via Python.

By Nehal S

Jul 4, 2021

its a great course and I learned a lot but would appreciate it if the quizzes were improved so a hint is given as sometimes I couldn't figure out the correct answer for hours. the discussion forum helps a lot!

By Philip C

Oct 3, 2017

Lectures are good, and the tasks are challenging in a satisfying way.

Unfortunately things get a bit obscure when one makes a mistake in a task - it isn't always obvious what has been marked wrong, and why.

By Natalia P

Aug 30, 2020

Para un usuario con poca experiencia en programación como yo, los contenidos son muy explicativos y las tareas bastante interesantes, el curso te da la confianza para seguir aprendiendo y es interesante.

By Ivan R P V

Aug 20, 2020

Es muy claro como base para entender mejor otros cursos. Algunas partes relacionadas con el funcionamiento de la memoria del computador son útiles pero pueden resultar aburridas para algunas personas.

By Juliusz W

Apr 11, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. The concepts were well explained. I gave only 4 stars because I wish there were more assignments to do instead of the quizzes. All in all great intro into programming.

By Gediminas B

Dec 7, 2018

Informative, structural and challenging course. Teachers are professionals. Thank you.

Reading material could be much more detailed and with more examples instead of being a summary of a video.