Chevron Left
Back to Life, Health and Radiation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Life, Health and Radiation by The University of Sydney

4.8
stars
202 ratings
62 reviews

About the Course

Radiation is all around us - without it we wouldn’t exist. Yet the word has become synonymous with danger, death and disaster. This MOOC will allow the world to see radiation in a new light, to expose its benefits as well as its risks. X-ray radiation, for example, is a scientific and medical discovery that has improved or prolonged billions of lives. Most of us have had an X-ray at some point in our life, at the Dentist, in a hospital or clinic. Yet few people really understand what X-rays are or where they come from. In this course, we will travel along the spectrum of electromagnetic radiation from unimaginably long to infinitesimally small wavelengths. At each significant point along the way we will stop and consider: What is the wavelength and frequency of this radiation? Is it ionising or not? Who discovered it and how? What are the uses of this radiation and What are the risks associated with it? Through this we hope to clarify a topic that is often confusing and concerning for many....

Top reviews

EP

Jan 16, 2020

The curriculum neglected the topic of low frequency exposures (ELF) and its effect on circadian and immunological outcomes, which can indirectly contribute to adverse effects and possibly cancer.

SG

Feb 15, 2020

Very insightful and engaging. I would recommend this course to those of whom are considering further education in the area of radiation-derived healthcare.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 65 Reviews for Life, Health and Radiation

By VINDYA M

Nov 20, 2020

Absolutely loved this course! No unnecessary pressure, descriptive lectures, good explanations with animations and graphics. Very informative.

By JOEL B

Sep 13, 2020

The Course Gives a good ideas about Electromagnetic spectrum and its piratical applications, safe uses..

Thank you for this interesting Topic

By Imran A

May 18, 2021

the best knowledge ever received form such a short course, looking for more informative course in safety use of nuclear medicine

By Yuleidy N J V

Nov 23, 2021

muy interesante y explicativo, me gusto mucho, aprendi muchas cosas que no sabia sobre la radiación.

By Dr C V M

Mar 27, 2021

Extremely useful to know about all radiation spectrum and relationship with the medical field.

By Muhammad U

Aug 7, 2020

Through this course , I have become familiar with the fascinating world of radiations.

By Ignacio P J

Dec 3, 2021

Es un repaso al espectro electromagnético y a las radiaciones asociadas al mismo.

By Rubel H

Jun 1, 2020

It's very easy to learn. Courses are awesome, I like this process of learn.

By Gibson A

Sep 4, 2020

The course is very educative in the field of applied physics in medicine.

By Samantha

Jan 26, 2021

Very engaging and insightful introductory course to radiobiology!

By Virgi

Sep 22, 2021

t​hank you for giving me such an amazing experience of learning!

By Anton S

Apr 25, 2022

very informative - tests might be hard for non professionals

By Fethi C

May 2, 2020

Well structured course very rich in pertinent informations;

By Taha H K

Dec 11, 2021

Very nice course , it has a lot of very useful information

By Vijaya A

Oct 9, 2021

It is very help for me to understand how radiation works.

By Joana N

Oct 19, 2021

Excellent course, very well structured and explained!

By eidner

Apr 12, 2022

I loved it, very understandable explanations.

By Mary T A

May 10, 2022

​it was a good experience. I learnt a lot

By Abu S M S

Aug 19, 2021

Wonderful course and tough one.

Thanks...

By Renugadevi K

Jul 30, 2020

A chance to learn something interesting

By Simeon D

Sep 13, 2020

A very informative introductory course!

By Dr.RIBOY C

Apr 3, 2020

Very interesting and informative course

By Muhammad H

Feb 19, 2022

Absolutely love the flow o the course!

By JOHN K L

Jul 29, 2021

EXELLANT BASIC INTRODUCTORY COURSE

By MOHAMMAD G A A

Aug 5, 2020

A really well designed course