Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
10,141 ratings
2,041 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

CS
Mar 31, 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

HE
Aug 8, 2021

the instrutors were too good and their explination for the concepts was to the point and it made me realize things in linear algebra I didn't know before although I studied it in school of engineering

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 2,048 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Kwame A G

Mar 8, 2019

Taught in an intuitive way. Never have I been able to understand linear algebra better than after following the first 3 weeks of this course. I can't wait to complete the entire specialization

By Pushkar B

Mar 8, 2019

It's been excellent so far as the instructor has mixed the basics of linear algebra and real world examples to highlight the application in machine learning. Looking forward to further videos.

By Clinton P

Oct 23, 2020

Aside from Linear Algebra lessons (finally I got to know eigen-stuff), I was enlightened on how those light board works! I realized that I only know/met a reflected version of the professors.

By Abhishek C

Sep 25, 2020

Really liked this course and I will recommend those who want to know insights of machine learning and relation of it with Mathematics. Vector and algebric relation were very nicely explained.

By Thanawit S

Jun 29, 2019

Good course with nice lecturer.

Some topics should be explain more in detail and have some further reading / exercise for practicing.

For overall, this course is worth the time and money spend.

By Tobias K

Apr 22, 2019

Great review of a topic I learned in College. Not sure how it would be for the first time, would probably take more repetition on certain subjects. Maybe going over the videos multiple times.

By Jerome F

Dec 4, 2020

It's been 20 years since I studied this in college and all of sudden, I was in job where I had to know it again. This was the perfect review course. I can't wait to do the following courses.

By Umesh S

Nov 14, 2020

beautiful course and challenging assignments. but requires background reading to fully enjoy the videos. pace is fast for beginners/ people who are not in touch with linear algebra recently

By Theo V C

Oct 8, 2020

Excellent course. Got to see the application of linear algebra in machine learning. Great introductory course to inspire you to enroll in more courses related to python and machine learning.

By Abhishek K S

Aug 9, 2020

Fantastic, engaging course with many applications of mathematical concepts in programming, learned without going much in detail and getting the appropriate amount of mathematical knowledge.

By minh d

Apr 24, 2020

The course is good. I already learned Algebra in my school, but it is just a formula. This course help me understand more deply and cover geometry meaning of the linear algebra. Thank you !

By Lukman F R M

Mar 11, 2021

It's fun! The expert are very articulate in explaining the material. Somehow I'm surprised that I took me a longer time to understand an offline class about the same course than this one.

By Mukund K M

Sep 29, 2019

A bit challenging quizzes and assignments (for a beginner) towards the end. But this course has made me understand the fundamental concepts of Linear Algebra thoroughly. Thank you so much.

By Emmanuel A

Jun 5, 2019

Great course, The instructor takes time to explain concept in simple relate-able detail. And the assignment a design such that your learning is re-enforced. I highly recommend this course.

By Vitor R C

Sep 18, 2020

The Linear Algebra course presents an easy to understand introduction to the topics of vectors and matrix manipulation without leaving the "why are we learning this?" question unanswered.

By Nirmal D

Jun 13, 2019

This is one of the best courses on Coursera because of the great instructors, excellent Materials and challenging assignments. It showed us how to apply all the Math we learned in Python.

By noel s

Jul 8, 2020

Great teaching and very nice materials. This course has been useful to freshen up linear algebra while keeping in mind data science applications, which was exactly what I was looking for

By Brian D S

Dec 13, 2020

Very clear and easy to understand! What I liked most was the emphasis on a conceptual understanding as opposed to a computational one (though computational processes are still taught).

By Shahriar H F

Jun 23, 2020

One of the best course so far on Coursera. Got to learn the foundations of Linear Algebra with hands-on programming assignments using Python which brushes up the Python skills as well.

By Mohammad H R

May 27, 2020

I am really happy to complete this course and obviously getting exposed to the form of teaching that focuses to develop intuition behind maths rather that working out tons of examples.

By Onkar A

May 16, 2020

One of the best courses on the platform, full of in-depth level of knowledge built up by instrctor starting from base. totally worth my time and money! Thank you both david and samuel!

By Wesley M O

Jul 21, 2020

The final coding exercise was tricky if you weren't familiar with coding with Python. But the teachers were great and very enthusiastic about linear algebra -- really a great class.

By 173 N T 1

Jul 14, 2020

Excellent course content! Gives a very good in-sight on how matrices and vectors are inter-connected. The teachers teach the topics very well and it's a very thought-provoking course.

By Adson F d R

Jan 16, 2020

I liked the course very much - a very high quality material that I would recommend for people who want to improve their knowledge on the mathematical concepts used in Machine Learning

By Linda D

Dec 1, 2019

Great course for understanding the application of linear algebra in machine learning. Though compared to what I learned in class, they are relatively shallow, but more useful. Thanks~