Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
11,356 ratings

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

EC

Sep 9, 2019

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

CS

Mar 31, 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 2,245 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Brian D S

Dec 13, 2020

Very clear and easy to understand! What I liked most was the emphasis on a conceptual understanding as opposed to a computational one (though computational processes are still taught).

By Shahriar H F

Jun 23, 2020

One of the best course so far on Coursera. Got to learn the foundations of Linear Algebra with hands-on programming assignments using Python which brushes up the Python skills as well.

By Mohammad H R

May 27, 2020

I am really happy to complete this course and obviously getting exposed to the form of teaching that focuses to develop intuition behind maths rather that working out tons of examples.

By Onkar A

May 16, 2020

One of the best courses on the platform, full of in-depth level of knowledge built up by instrctor starting from base. totally worth my time and money! Thank you both david and samuel!

By Wesley M O

Jul 21, 2020

The final coding exercise was tricky if you weren't familiar with coding with Python. But the teachers were great and very enthusiastic about linear algebra -- really a great class.

By Nihaar T

Jul 14, 2020

Excellent course content! Gives a very good in-sight on how matrices and vectors are inter-connected. The teachers teach the topics very well and it's a very thought-provoking course.

By Adson F d R

Jan 16, 2020

I liked the course very much - a very high quality material that I would recommend for people who want to improve their knowledge on the mathematical concepts used in Machine Learning

By Linda D

Dec 1, 2019

Great course for understanding the application of linear algebra in machine learning. Though compared to what I learned in class, they are relatively shallow, but more useful. Thanks~

By NEHAL J

Jan 26, 2019

If you're looking at refreshing your knowledge of linear algebra for machine learning, this is good course to take. Provides just about enough insights to application of linalg in ML.

By Artem P

Oct 16, 2018

Innovative instruction methods, easy to follow and very practical. Although I've taken linear algebra before, the course has helped me refresh my knowledge and learn new applications.

By Carolyn S

Sep 5, 2018

Strong review of linear algebra concepts with emphasis on intuitions for machine learning. Excited and engaging professors, good pace, worthwhile exercises, good programming examples.

By Aditya K

May 21, 2018

Fantastic course that develops the intuition behind Linear Algebra. I'm glad I did it.

I would couple this course with MIT prof Gilbert Strang's lectures on linear algebra on MIT OCW.

By Arda C T

Jan 3, 2022

I really like how this course approaches linear algebra in a rather intuitive way, I find this approach more helpful compared to courses which have a focus on computational aspects.

By Park J

Jun 16, 2020

One of the more intuitive and useful linear algebra course

All the small examples and explanation on application to machine learning has been very helpful.

The activities are great too

By Ronald A P

Jun 6, 2020

I found this course excellent! The video production was remarkable! The instructors are very good at teaching. The course in general is challenging but very satisfactory. I loved it!

By Huân C

Aug 21, 2019

I thank so much the Mathematics for machine learning: Linear Algebra, After the course I can apply math to machine learning and understand the importance of math in machine learning.

By LINGYUN D

Sep 16, 2018

Thanks for your gentle teaching through five weeks. I have a suggestion for WEEK5: the final exam answers could be more detailed as students can revise their coursework. All the best

By Duana S

Oct 5, 2021

Great bite sized videos for a quick overview of linear algebra for ML with interesting and fun assignments. Perhaps works better as a review rather than learning for the first time.

By Mohit

Oct 12, 2020

This is Amazing , Everything is clearly described by the lecturer ,Bothe the lecturer are of the best teacher i learn untill ,I'm so happy now ,climb one omre step towards our gola

By Adithya P

Sep 19, 2020

Excellent course... a complete new understanding of Mathematic(Matrices/ vectors). Awesome instrocturs, and a great learning experience. The subject is really engaging. I enjoyed it

By Gordon J

Sep 18, 2020

Challenging material though very enjoyable. Presenters were very clear and engaging. I would recommend this course to anyone with an interest in, or a need to learn, linear algebra.

By Amish A S

Jun 24, 2020

Superb Course.

Concepts are explained in a great way with real life examples. The coding assignments are also nice and help to teach how to apply the concepts that have been learned.

By Kabiraj p

Jan 31, 2019

Concise but very helpful in providing introduction to linear algebra and how it actually fits in the scope of machine learning.Excited to try out the other parts of this course too.

By Olisaemeka C A

Sep 23, 2022

The lectures were more than easy to understand, they fully encompassed some of the core functions and characteristics of vectors and some of their applications in the real world.

By Ariel M d A J

Jul 8, 2020

Great course! It gets even more complex than the linear algebra i took in college. It was quite fun and engaging, and i believe there's really valuable knowledge to be learnt here.