Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
10,065 ratings
2,027 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

HE
Aug 8, 2021

the instrutors were too good and their explination for the concepts was to the point and it made me realize things in linear algebra I didn't know before although I studied it in school of engineering

EC
Sep 9, 2019

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 2,042 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Brandi R

Jun 20, 2019

Wow, this course was hard. But very good, I learned so much about transforming vectors and matrices as well as some interesting Python coding.

By Abitha R

Dec 18, 2020

The course was challenging and at the same time, it gave me an idea on preparing myself for the job role I am planning to get into. Thank you.

By Amar n

Dec 11, 2020

Just Brilliant!!! Very well structured with very clear assignments. Doing the assignments is a must if you want to get clarity on the subject.

By Raghavendra R K

Sep 16, 2020

When I started this course, I have no experience in Mathematics, but after this course, I got confidence in Better understanding of algorithms

By HARSHAVARDHAN K

May 19, 2020

It was a nice course. The way they explain the concept is really appreciable. This course focused more on intuition rather than rote learning.

By Oj S

Dec 13, 2019

A very useful course for Machine learning, you will never feel aloof if you are not with a Mathematics background while learning ML afterward.

By Asrorbek O

Jun 21, 2019

The course is very great. I have thoroughly enjoyed taking it. However, 5th module should be improved by teaching diagonalization more deeply.

By Robert P C J

Jun 30, 2018

This course was a really excellent refresher in linear algebra! Everything was presented clearly, and the lectures and homework were engaging.

By aurelio m

Jan 25, 2021

It's an excellent matrix course. The teachers teach very well.

As it is a specialized program course, previous knowledge in Python is required

By Nil K P

Jul 10, 2020

It was very useful course for me as i`m not good at school math so it helped me understand concepts and not focusing on traditional methods.

By Brian W

Dec 12, 2019

Very informative, even as I start my postgraduate studies, I have picked up on a few notions and perspectives I have never considered before.

By Nano D N

May 14, 2019

I'm only at the beginning of the course but the material is really worth it.

Great instructor. He makes himself very clear and easy to follow.

By Camilo J

Feb 18, 2019

Great class and wonderfull material. Focused on intuition and programming rather that minndlessly solving problems as a mechanical challenge.

By Henry Y H

Apr 2, 2018

Website works really well and the course material is clear and concise where the lecturer describes the theory and its application very well.

By GUILHERME F D S

Feb 8, 2021

Excelente revisão de Álgebra Linear com aplicações claras em exemplos cotidianos com exercícios de programação em scripts simples de Python.

By Pendekanti N

Mar 20, 2020

Course is very interesting and all the concepts regarding linear algebra is conveyed in practical manner.Thoroughly enjoyed the whole course

By Nathan R

Jan 22, 2020

I needed a course to understand basic of linear algebra prior to starting masters course in discrete optimization. This course was perfect.

By Julio S

Nov 3, 2019

This course is very well designed, I loved it!

I would like to see an Imperial College London design a fully fledged Machine Learning Course.

By Gabor B

Oct 3, 2020

Used this course as a refresher, it has done a great job and even managed to teach me some geometric intuition behind some of the concepts.

By Yevhenii S

Feb 15, 2019

Very good course. It well structured, good lectures and assignments. It gives enough intuition and refresh to move forward. Thank you team!

By Gokhan K

Mar 18, 2021

Very nice course, teaching the necessary points in Linear Algebra with lots of examples. Quizzes and labs also contributed to my learning.

By Juan M C

Feb 15, 2021

Very easy to understand, I'm very appreciated with the methodology, because it showed practical examples to reinforce the concepts. Thanks

By Alikhan S

Oct 26, 2020

It was unbeliavable experience in my life. My first step into machine learning. Thanks a lot fot whole administration of Imperial College.

By Daria B

May 15, 2020

Very nice pace of the course will not overwhelm you. Thank you very much to all the instructors, it was indeed very fun to learn with you!

By Dilver J H G

Nov 6, 2019

I strongly recommend to follow this course, it's challenging at times but it's worth it in order to build a solid base in machine learning