Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
10,241 ratings
2,057 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

NS
Dec 22, 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

CS
Mar 31, 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 2,065 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Ghanis D

Mar 11, 2021

Nice course. It's hard for me, but it make me know myself about there's still lot of things i don't know.

By Guz V

Jun 15, 2020

Fantastic course. Totally recommended. It wakes your brain and make you actually think on the concepts.

By Kong F

May 1, 2020

Very nice and interesting. The matrix is the transformation of the basic unit vector. It's really useful.

By Chethan C

Jun 17, 2019

Best course to understand the basics of linear algebra before getting started with Machine Learning or AI

By Mashchenko M

May 12, 2019

Its easily one of the best Linear Algebra course. Provides a full picture of the vectors and matrix in ML

By Syed S A

Jan 29, 2019

Amazing course with the detailed explaination on why Linear Algebra and Matrices(concepts) are important.

By Paulo Y C

Jan 11, 2019

great material! i enjoyed every second of the course - also need to thanks for the professors enthusiasm!

By Saptadeep D

Jun 1, 2018

Such a course that you won't believe, exists and published with Audit option (aka FREE!). More disbelief!

By Iurii S

Mar 28, 2018

Great intro into vector algebra - helps build better intuition even if you know all the formulas already.

By Venkatesh N

Feb 4, 2020

Great course but should be considered only as a first step. Will need to take more courses in the area.

By Markus M E

Jul 10, 2019

Just marvelous, the instructors are so friendly and enthustiastic and know how to convey knowledge well!

By Rishabh A

Jun 3, 2019

Learnt a lot about vector operations and eigenvectors. Loved it. The animation stuff was simply awesome.

By Abu I M S A

Oct 29, 2020

This is an excellent course, I had prior knowledge of linear algebra but I learned a lot of new things.

By Sanjay S

Sep 22, 2020

A very essential course for ML foundation. The course is very well designed to suit the target as well.

By Rudra P D

Sep 17, 2020

A great course to understand the underlying principles of linear algebra required for Machine Learning.

By Rami Z

Jul 24, 2020

A great course to learn the part of Linear Algebra that is necessary an sufficient for Machine Learning

By Kimia H

Jul 5, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, visualizations were useful and helped me understand concepts a lot better

By Kok H W

May 18, 2020

It provided a good coverage of fundamentals and practised through quizzes and programming applications.

By Arunish S

Jul 25, 2019

Very precise and covers all the important topics of linear algebra. Quizzes and assignments are must ..

By Prakash G

Apr 4, 2019

This is an excellent course for Machine learning foundation. The examples and excercises are quite good

By Rajat K B

Oct 16, 2018

Awesome foundation course. Especially the eigen vector and value bit and the gram shcmidt part. Awesome

By NUTDANAI H

Aug 12, 2020

Easy to understand but not too easy. Recommend for people who has some understanded in linear algebra.

By Ricardo F

May 11, 2020

Great introductory course to see how to apply abstract knowledge in linear algebra to computer science

By Riley

Jan 31, 2019

Could do with more feedback & help from faculties in the forum, but otherwise it's a very nice course!

By Stephen B

Mar 28, 2018

Very well put together, well presented and easy to understand. One of the best MOOC's I've ever taken.