Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
10,236 ratings
2,056 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

EC
Sep 9, 2019

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

NS
Dec 22, 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

Filter by:

2001 - 2025 of 2,065 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Matthew L

Apr 8, 2020

I am new to Coursera so I have no idea of what is standard on here. Maybe this course is good relative to other courses on here, I don't know. However I do know that based on my experience I can not recommend paying for a coursera membership to take this course. This course comes with a total of less than 3.5hrs of instructional video. Considering linear algebra is usually taught with ~45 hrs of classroom instruction, this may seem short.. and it is. The course does a good job at explaining things at a conceptual level however it has few worked through example problems. The course uses quizzes and programming assignments as a way of reinforcing skills that you learn however the correct answers to the questions on quizzes are never reviewed. So if you get something wrong you'll never know what you did wrong unless you figure it out for yourself. Also the forums don't seem to be useful at all. If you are lucky another student might reply.

By Hendrik V

Jul 23, 2020

The time commitment is not realistic unless you are a math wiz and experienced programmer. Take the timelines and multiply it by at least 5. Videos do an excellent job of presenting theory and application, but there is no supplemental learning material. You can have to find all of that on your own. In general the other students in the course are lost and have no idea what is going on. I recommend that you watch the videos and follow up the subject on something like Khan Academy where you can work through multiple examples. As for the coding part you need to find someone that knows how to code math in python. Would not recommend.

By Oliverio J S J

Apr 16, 2020

I don't think this is a good course. The explanatory videos are not bad and they are easily understood, but they seem to be a series of unrelated concepts, you wouldn't know why those concepts are explained and where the lecturers want to go. There were tasks that had a much higher level of complexity than the videos and other tasks that were trivial. As if that weren't enough, I had repeated problems due to text format in the questions, since it was difficult to distinguish the vectors and matrices.

By Graham A

May 15, 2019

Very challenging to follow instruction at times. Needs to update videos so a bit longer in order to effectively teach the content. Errors with calculations in week 3 with the Composition or combination of matrix transformations video. I've also had to utilize external resources to adequately understand what is being taught. I've taken other courses through Coursera and not had this level of frustration with the other courses.

By Oliver W

Jan 14, 2021

Not a fan of this course unfortunately. They jump straight into examples before going through the formula and whatnot prior. For the most part this is fine as it is all fairly straight forward, but a few times the lectures where hard to follow.

Most annoyingly were the programming assignments. Not explained at all in lectures, and for someone with Jo programming experience it was really frustrating to get my head around

By Vinicius M

Oct 21, 2020

This course isn't for someone who is going with no knowledge of algebra, the examples are superficial and on the quiz they ask for what they didn't teach. I recommend to learn algebra before hand, I took more time to learn in other platforms what they were trying to teach over here learning with them. So go buy an algebra course and then come back here, you will be able to take more advantage of this course.

By Tony J

Jul 21, 2020

Useful insomuch as it highlights the aspects of linear algebra that are key for machine learning. The lectures and exercises help you get the basics, but if you have any questions, don't expect any help from the forum. I would strongly recommend following MIT 18.06 alongside this course to gain a more solid foundation and because the lectures in 18.06 are genuinely enjoyable.

By Saman A

Jan 31, 2020

Too many important elements are skipped in the videos. Either the videos should present the material needed for the quizzes or they should pause and link out to other resources that explain things in useful detail.

The instructors' enthusiasm, while very inspiring, does not compenstate for the fact that material relevant to the quizzes is either glossed over or missing.

By Nicholas C

Aug 23, 2021

Videos are good and some activities are very intuitive.

But every now and then a quiz is thrown in without instructional videos support it, this makes you feel lost and hopeless and there is no teacher support in the discussions to help.

I had been enjoying this course but the lack of basic support really leaves you feeling lost and stupid.

By Benjamin F

Oct 22, 2019

Great instructions. Instructors appear knowledgeable and eager to convey the subject.

Programming exercises are however of very poor quality. Even correct answers are not accepted by the automatic grading system due to its brittle design. Fledgling python programmers run the risk of picking up bad coding habits due to poor code style.

By Mayank C

May 16, 2020

I think that the course is fast-paced and skips building conceptual knowledge. It is understandable that the online course may not be as interactive as classroom programs, in which case, instructors should give some reference to reading material or exercise books to come up to pace with the speed they are flying with in this course

By HEMNATH R

May 15, 2020

please don't keep the programming quiz ,its irrelevant for what we are learning, because many may not have programming knowledge but they may be strong in maths this will restrict them from appearing .

but overall the video classed are awesome.thank you so much for giving us this opportunity.once again thanks a lot.

By Nicholas E

Jun 11, 2020

Not enough explanation. You learn how to do problems but you dont really understand it on a deeper level. I was able to pass the course but I dont think I learned much passed the examples given. Also, I think for the practice quizzes it would be beneficial to show how to get the correct answers.

By Dave D

Apr 20, 2020

Quizes and practice material were either overly repetitive or were not supported by the materials. If the course is based on exercises, then a bit of time should be spent on review of the solutions and methodologies for solving. The forum is fairly disorganized so did not solve this purpose.

By Steven M

Feb 14, 2021

I did not enjoy this course. The videos were good but covered the material very quickly and did not leave you well prepared for the assessments. I found the assessments impossible without a lot of extra study using other materials - if this is intentional it should be made clear.

By Tama H

Jul 18, 2020

1) There are not enough examples on some subjects 2) The instructors explained the theories and intuitive behind it very well, but the exercises are sometimes too difficult 3) Coding exercises are very challenging and I'm not sure what good it could bring to my data science journey

By Hayden R

Sep 3, 2020

This course does a poor job of teaching Linear Algebra, it skims through the topics and gives pretty difficult coding work with poor instruction. This course should only serve as a refresher, do not expect to learn much past the first 3 weeks.

By Niklas Z

Aug 19, 2021

It covers the basics, but frequently does not explain how it arrives at definitions or some steps in derivations. I spent a lot of time filling these gaps for myself using other (free) resources such as math stack exchange or Khan academy.

By Patrick W

May 1, 2021

Not an intro course. Probably a better review course. I spent a lot of time on other web sites to get more background info to be able to do the problem sets. On the plus side, the instructors are very enthusiastic.

By Glenn

May 13, 2021

This course is not suitable for beginners. Topics are touch-and-go, and many LA concepts are assumed of the learner. I had to basically learn the content on YouTube and then come back to complete the assignments.

By Venkata S M B

Sep 12, 2020

Not a great course. It started alright but really it lost track after two weeks. No references were made to the actual ML applications. This was more like a pointless Matrix knowledge.

By Gurrapu N

Apr 5, 2020

There is hardly any relation between videos and assignments. There should be a way to let the students know the right answers after completing the course to rectify the mistakes.

By Shrinath I

Apr 12, 2020

It was a decent course, but the teachers weren't particularly good. I had to often rely on other resources to figure out what was going on. That kind of ruined it for me.

By Muhammad Z A

Jun 9, 2020

Not a Good Course for Biggner's. Instructor do not have ability to simply topics taught in this course. They were just copy pasting its materiel from other slides.

By Kumar S

Sep 7, 2020

Instructor Taught good at the beginning till week 3, but not good after that. very disappointed. Will Never recommend any of my friend or classmate this course.