Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
10,705 ratings
2,129 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

CS

Mar 31, 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

HE

Aug 8, 2021

the instrutors were too good and their explination for the concepts was to the point and it made me realize things in linear algebra I didn't know before although I studied it in school of engineering

Filter by:

1751 - 1775 of 2,141 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Ali E

Jun 4, 2020

Its such an amazing course that refreshed me quite well. It only needs some solved problems to get used to the way of solving for more applying.

By Rahul K

May 25, 2020

Course is very well taught and the focus on intuition is super useful. It would be nice to get into advanced topics after the intuition is built

By Вернер А И

Mar 10, 2018

Excellent course. Lots of practical examples. Explanations are clear. I would suggest adding a summary of the lectures in form of some document.

By Roderick R

May 2, 2018

Good course on reviewing linear algebra fundamentals. I greatly appreciated the instructors' teaching styles and made the material practical.

By MAMOON A

Apr 30, 2020

The course helps in understanding the linear algebra in all aspects i.e algebraic as well as graphical and finally implementing it in a code.

By ACHRAF S

Oct 6, 2019

Good overall, but i regret that the professor lacked deep understanding for some concepts, which made his explanations not clear by moments !

By ASHIRWAD R

Jun 9, 2020

Assignments are challenging and certainly the course is excellent for a beginner, though faced some issues at some point during assignments.

By Deleted A

Aug 4, 2019

Strong basic preparation, but I feel that it stops too short. There should be a module 6 and a module 7 covering intermediate-level topics.

By Yue

Jun 8, 2018

The lecture are sometimes confusing. The example are very easy, but the quiz and code we need to do are much more difficult than the example

By Patrick F

Jan 28, 2019

Really good course, would recommend! 4 Stars, because there is no written transcript with the Formula and examples in the videos available.

By S M A H

Sep 2, 2018

Course is very interesting and informative, but I found a couple of quiz aren't aligned with course material. These things need to improve.

By Pablo S V

Jan 2, 2021

Pretty basic, I hope it gets more into machine learning techniques in the next two parts of the course, as this one is just basic algebra

By Gajendra S

Jun 12, 2020

Really cool course, the Page Rank part was the only tough deal for me, I liked the overall course, thanks for this amazing experience! :)

By Luis M V F

Mar 9, 2019

It would be better if they have more challenging assignments, and if they had a more detailed explanation of some mathematical concepts.

By Angelo S d O

Dec 5, 2018

Nice refresher! Excellent instructors! Not recommended as a first Linear Algebra course though. I would go for MIT OpenCourseware first.

By Lasal J

Nov 6, 2020

All the first four weeks were well comprehensive and clear. Week 5 (last week) on eigenvalues seemed rushed and could have been better.

By Jitendra S R

Dec 23, 2019

This is really a very good course. To the point explanations. No more no less. Assignment Notebook links do have some problems though.

By Mohamed B

Aug 27, 2019

The concepts are explained clearly, but someone who has already done some machine learning before might find some parts unchallenging

By Aditya J

Mar 16, 2020

Overall great. But can get tough to follow at times and feel that more and in-depth explanation would be required at certain places.

By Cirus I

Aug 27, 2018

A fun way to review Linear Algebra basics focused on its applications on Machine Learning.

Good structure, nice pace, solid content.

By Gurbaaz S G

May 13, 2021

The course was informative and helpful. it helped me bring back concepts that I had forgot and also taught me a bit about python.

By Alex W

Jul 8, 2019

Basic knowledge about machine learning, but very useful, maybe this course should be tagged as higher level, instead of beginner.

By Valeria

Jun 26, 2018

I really enjoyed how much graphical explanation there was here. It finally starts making sense why we use matrices and vectors.

By Mobarak H S

Apr 13, 2020

The quiz challenge was good for me to better understand this course. And the length of video enough short to not to feel bore.

By Ahmad A A D

Nov 11, 2020

this course is good for giving introduction, but for depth understanding you should accompany with another resource materials