Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
10,703 ratings
2,127 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

HE

Aug 8, 2021

the instrutors were too good and their explination for the concepts was to the point and it made me realize things in linear algebra I didn't know before although I studied it in school of engineering

CS

Mar 31, 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

Filter by:

1776 - 1800 of 2,140 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By Joanna M

Apr 6, 2021

Great course, but there are some bugs in automatic assignment grading, and the instructors are not responsive on the forums.

By Sherina M

Mar 11, 2021

The difficulty of the problem in the quiz and the example in the video is too far, the problem in the quiz is so much harder

By Jayaram O

Jun 14, 2020

Important concepts of Linear Algebra for ML explained in a beautiful multi-dimensional method including theory and practice.

By Dharv P

Jul 22, 2020

Very Good Course, You will learn linear algebra in this course and most loved part of course for me is pagerank assignment.

By Peter S

Oct 8, 2020

A good course with some significant leaps in competence required for those of us with a social science/business background

By Kartikeya S

Jun 2, 2020

Course was nice,but if you provide more example of real world usage of Linear Algebra in Machine Learning it would be nice

By Rahul B

Apr 22, 2020

This was course made my intuition for underlying mathematics when using machine learning much more stronger and efficient.

By Muhammad E

Aug 8, 2020

the course is a bit challenging i would recommend that you better get yourself familiar with basic linear algebra first

By Sudhir N

May 31, 2019

Good refresher for basic concepts learnt in the University ages ago. WOuld like to have more real life Business examples

By jiang y

Aug 15, 2020

this is a very nice and useful lesson.

but sometime I need to search for more knowledge to help me finished my home work

By Dhruv A

Jul 31, 2020

Brilliantly conducted. Provides a great introduction to linear algebra allowing the learner to start diving in further.

By Daniel T

Jun 18, 2019

It would be better if it had lecture notes. Reviewing the material and writing it down requires rewatching the lectures

By Robert S

Aug 18, 2018

The linear algebra was taught in an easy to understand manor but the applications in machine learning were quite sparse

By Marcos G A

Jul 7, 2020

Should share additional videos (like links to khan academy if the student needs to learn more or wants to get deeper).

By Weiyu G

Aug 12, 2019

It is really intuitive and good for people who have little idea of Linear Algebra. The best part is the PageRank Algo.

By James H

May 24, 2018

Programming assignments failed to save and submit sometimes. But the course itself was well taught and at a good pace

By Alex S

Aug 8, 2018

The instructors are very good in delivering the course content..However, more reading resources should be provided.

By Isaac N

Apr 18, 2018

Provides a good understanding of Linear Algebra for Machine Learning. However, it is a little lacking in exercises.

By Rishabh D

Mar 15, 2020

There were some problems with the notebooks used in the assignments but apart from that this course was brilliant.

By SAMUEL D S A

May 9, 2020

Achei que haveria uma pequena introdução ou explicação de como seria usado esse conhecimento em Machine Learning.

By 刘静怡

Jan 12, 2019

Nice course! Hope to improve the programming function. It is really hard to find the errors in it for a greenhand

By Douglas C

Jul 2, 2020

Good course. It will be great if this can also include material if you want to go deeper after taking the class.

By Alex G

Jun 14, 2020

Went a bit too quickly for me towards the end of the course (coming into this as a layman), otherwise very good.

By Jordin W

Jan 14, 2020

Fantastic course. My favourite delivery of Linear Algebra thus far. Both Sam and David were a joy to learn from.

By Unfunny C

Dec 21, 2019

The course is very comprehensive and yet is very focused towards actual application of LA in Data Science and ML