Chevron Left
Back to Linear Regression and Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Linear Regression and Modeling by Duke University

4.7
stars
1,541 ratings
284 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces simple and multiple linear regression models. These models allow you to assess the relationship between variables in a data set and a continuous response variable. Is there a relationship between the physical attractiveness of a professor and their student evaluation scores? Can we predict the test score for a child based on certain characteristics of his or her mother? In this course, you will learn the fundamental theory behind linear regression and, through data examples, learn to fit, examine, and utilize regression models to examine relationships between multiple variables, using the free statistical software R and RStudio....

Top reviews

TM
Jul 21, 2020

A great primer on linear regression with labs that help to establish understanding and a project that is focused enough not to be overwhelming, and allows the learner to play around with the concepts

PK
May 23, 2017

Very good course taught by Dr. Mine who is as always a very good teacher. The videos are very eloquent and easy to understand. Highly recommend it if you are looking for a basic refresher course.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 282 Reviews for Linear Regression and Modeling

By Vedant G

Jul 3, 2020

informative

By Yichang L

May 3, 2020

Good course

By Qiming L

Nov 4, 2020

Very good!

By Tom B

Oct 9, 2020

Thank you!

By Lou B V

Sep 7, 2020

Thank you!

By Eduardo M

Aug 13, 2019

Excellent!

By ADITYA W P

Sep 30, 2020

thank you

By Md N I S

Dec 7, 2019

Worth it!

By gerardo r g

Jul 10, 2019

Excellent

By BillyLin

Aug 7, 2016

很棒 学到很多东西

By mausci71

Aug 11, 2020

Perfect

By Bouquegneau

Oct 10, 2017

perfect

By Byeong-eok K

Jul 13, 2017

Great.

By RAHMA M F

Oct 8, 2020

Great

By Bilinclizihin

Jan 3, 2019

10/10

By Musthafa B E

Oct 1, 2020

GOOD

By Aman G

Aug 17, 2020

nice

By Priyadharshini P

Aug 9, 2021

Is

By Sanan I

Jun 4, 2020

,

By Robert

Nov 22, 2018

/

By Yu Y

Oct 27, 2016

.

By Walter V

Jun 28, 2020

The key concepts of linear regression are explain really well, without heavy mathematical explanation, that is good, because the main concepts are what it important.

The project at the end of the course is REALLY good, you can learn a lot from the analysis and investigation you need to do on it, it took me around 30 hours to really understand and complete (a full time job of 1 week), which is really nice.

I give 4 stars to the course, because they don't dig very much in variables selection, specially with categorical variables, with are the ones i had an hard time during the project. Note: It was hard, because it was difficult, but in the process i learnt a lot of things investigating.

Besides this point, the course is really good to say: "I know the basics of linear regression, I know how to handle it in R", the topic of "Linear Regression and Modeling" is of course much, much more larger than what can be explained in 1 course.

By Neeraj P

Feb 8, 2017

First, this course will enable me to understand the quantitative part of a research. Additionally, this will help a student to understand the essence of performing such numerical calculations and will make us understand the relationship between different variables.

Secondly, this is the need of the hour and such numerical functions are used worldwide so, learning this course will help in almost every field be it 'Management' be it 'Social Sciences' or be it 'Human Behaviour'.

By Veliko D

Oct 20, 2019

The course is good and the material is presented clearly. The capstone project is very good and makes you really use all the knowledge obtained in the course and the pre-prequisite course Inferral Statistics. My only dissatisfaction is that the course was rather short: only 3 weeks of material and 1 capstone. Therefor it covered less material then I expected. For example, I expected logistic regression to be covered.

By Jason L

Jan 27, 2021

Awesome course with very clear material! I do wish that the course had a bit broader of a scope (i.e. also covering logistic regression and other kinds of regression with non-numerical response variables). Compared to the Inferential Statistics course, it feels like there was a bit less material. Otherwise, I was very happy with this course. :)