Chevron Left
Back to Materials in Oral Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Materials in Oral Health by The University of Hong Kong

4.6
183 ratings
36 reviews

About the Course

The drive for development of new and novel oral biomaterials has never been more important with many people using oral biomaterials today and seeing their benefits in restoring and improving their oral health for a more enjoyable lifestyle. The unique properties of biomaterials such as titanium (Ti), zirconia (ZrO2) and various polymeric materials have made them materials of choice in oral health: dental implants, oral and maxillofacial surgery, and even regenerative medicine. Oral biomaterials research today is an exciting and intensive multidisciplinary area that encompasses contributions from a wide range of fields from professional dentistry to biology, chemistry, physics, material science, and engineering. Materials in Oral Health is a FREE 4-week course open to all interested learners. In the course, you will learn about the special properties and benefits of biomaterials including, titanium and titanium alloys, zirconia and other alloys, ceramics, and modern composites. You will gain insights of the practical use of these biomaterials in different aspects of dentistry and clinical implications. You will realize how contemporary dentistry is about unifying synthetic materials to living tooth and bone tissues. You will get in touch with the crucial roles of digital dentistry and learn about CAD/CAM technology in crown fabrication, 3D printing and digital orthodontics. And lastly, you will be introduced to procedures and testing methods used to test significant mechanical properties of biomaterials in the research laboratory. We cordially invite those of you who wish to make a difference in tomorrow’s dental materials and oral health development to join us in the 4-week journey in Materials in Oral Health. You can get recognition for completion of the course by obtaining a Course Certificate. You can refer to details on: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/208280196...

Top reviews

SV

Jun 23, 2019

The course was really effective with quizzes and the lecture videos were really amazing and overall had a good learning experience

AA

May 23, 2018

It was really interesting. Thanks HKU and Coursera. I won the best learner's essay for the 1st session of the course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 36 Reviews for Materials in Oral Health

By Hans h b k

Dec 25, 2018

I want to thank you, to try to share with us the love of materials in oral health. Why to try ? because for sure it was difficult for you to resume all of oral health in only 4 week and shorts videos. Biomatérials in oral health is the key in modern dentistry, with Research & developement we can work everyday confortable, surely and quickly in every discipline of moderne dentistry. With this course i have learn again so many things, i have refresh on my head so many important rules of material health. I want to thank you so much for this amazing work, hope to have update in 2019. Thank you all the team Great Course. Like always thank you Honk kong university dental school for this second dental MOOC innovation.

By Yomna A S

Jul 08, 2017

I loved this course from the beginning. It was an amazing experience for me. It provided me with great knowledge about dental materials. My sincere thanks and appreciation to all of the professors and the coursera community who contributed to this course. I look forward to more MOOC courses from the university of Hong Kong.

By Chompunuch S

Dec 31, 2018

good course to review about dental materials

By Dr.Arul J M

Aug 30, 2017

Great to have sessions on recent material advancements in Dentistry!

By Priyanka P

Sep 27, 2017

excellent course for the dentist as well as dental material professionals

By Luca P

May 16, 2017

Superb knoledge from this course! I would appreciate another one based more on clinical side. Lot of other things must be known.

By Juan G C M

Feb 19, 2018

I consider that I have not had enough background knowledge to ENJOY this course, It has really been a challenge to complete it for me. But I can say that it was very interesting journey! I think the course is worth it.

By Christmar D Q L

Jan 02, 2019

Excelent course!!

By Leidy V M G

Feb 07, 2019

thanks a lot.....

By Khaleel I A K

Jan 19, 2019

Excellent

By Froment-Chatre

Oct 31, 2017

Very interesting, thank you

By TAMER M H M I

Jul 06, 2018

Very helpful course

By Nawras

Jul 01, 2018

very strong topics and very int resting course

By Dr. W H

Aug 05, 2017

very informative course

By Andres A

May 23, 2018

It was really interesting. Thanks HKU and Coursera. I won the best learner's essay for the 1st session of the course.

By JOHN Q

Jul 09, 2017

Nice review. Thanks for organizing the course.

By Theano K

May 28, 2017

very useful course for all dentists

By Island M

May 13, 2017

Hope to watch many useful courses from HKU MOOC being joined with Coursera!

By Valeria R

Apr 19, 2018

Excellent! Recommended for everyone interested in the subject.

By Silverio d A S T

Aug 25, 2017

This course i recomend!

By Ajmal H

Oct 30, 2017

BEST

By Irving

Jun 06, 2017

Really helpful course! Thanks Hong Kong University!

By JaniceYoung

Jan 05, 2018

excellent course

By Sheikh A A S

Apr 14, 2018

Thanks Hong Kong candidates for this greatful course

By Sowmmya V

Jun 23, 2019

The course was really effective with quizzes and the lecture videos were really amazing and overall had a good learning experience