Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
15,269 ratings
4,019 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 4,002 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By javad s

Feb 24, 2021

I'm speechless. I'm so happy with this course and want to thanks everyone was participating in creating this course.

Thanks everyone and wishes you all the best.

By 19E-113 S M

Feb 7, 2021

This is the best MATLAB basics course on the internet. Loved it!! Thank you for such a wonderful course. Now I am very much comfortable with MATLAB programming.

By Samuel N

Aug 29, 2020

I enjoyed the course although it was quite challenging at times but the instructor really knows how to teach. recommended if you want to get started with matlab

By Md. F R

Jul 24, 2020

Apart from a lot of other good things in this course, I don't know if I have seen such an excellent presentation from the instructor in any other online course.

By Josadaque G d S

Jul 3, 2020

I've been working hard through this course on the last weeks. I can say that this couse was incredible and I could learn many useful matlab functions and tools.

By Monicka J

Jun 22, 2020

This course completely changed my perception. MATLAB was tough earlier. But this course helped me to learn easily.Thanks for cousera and thanks to Instructors.

By Ji-Young K

Jun 27, 2016

I cannot expressed how much I enjoyed this course in words. The instructor was awesome and the course material was great. I hope the second part comes out soon!

By Devadathan S

Jun 29, 2021

Really great course for understanding MATLAB programming fundamentals. The instructor is really good, the classes are interesting and assignments are creative.

By Ken B

Mar 14, 2021

Very well structured and presented course, with challenging but achievable assignments. Thanks to Mike Fitzpatrick and the others who put the course together.

By Rajesh R

Jul 17, 2020

Great course to begin coding with MATLAB. The teaching style of the professor is extremely great.

One of the human having the great humour. Absolutely Loved it!

By Dhananjay G

Jul 5, 2020

The way in which this entire course is designed is just perfect. Every week it elevates you to the new levels of understanding about MATLAB & its applications.

By Praveena B D

Jun 11, 2020

I Learn the coursera course of Introduction to Programming with MATLAB i want free certificate because i can't pay the money so plz give me certificate free

By Ankit J

Jun 8, 2020

The course has been structured really well. Helped me build my foundations of MATLAB. But, there is still a long way to go if you want to master this language.

By Pierluigi A

May 21, 2020

A clear and effective introduction to computer programming, with a bit of challenge.

The quick-witted Professor made it even funny thanks to his sense of humor.

By Süleyman Y P

May 4, 2020

Taking this course from talented instructors and learning a new programming language was a great opportunity for me. I had fun while I was learning. Thank you.

By Pujan P

Apr 28, 2020

it was an delightful experience ,would like to see further upgrade to matlab where using simulink,control system and all sort of other library things are done.

By FAQRUL H

May 27, 2018

Excellent resource to get started with MATLAB. Detailed explanation in book chapters and great presentation makes it really effective to learn the programming.

By Archit V

May 7, 2017

This course is recommended to all who want to be good in programming. The mentoring is really good for understanding and implementing on real problems as well.

By Srikanth M

Dec 17, 2020

Perfect course for Matlab learners, who had no experience with Matlab. I already know basics of C++ hence i didnt find it much difficult to learn this course.

By UTPAL

Aug 26, 2020

It was very engaging and informative. they have also worked hard to keep the course relevant with newer upgrades that come after the recording of this course.

By Arjit

Jul 30, 2020

it is a very nice course for those who are new to coding and also for those who what to learn MATLAB as a skill, which can help you in your respective fields.

By SAPTAPARNA P

Jul 3, 2020

Great instructor. Extremely well paced course with very tricky assessments to test your learning. Also, I really appreciated the instructor's sense of humour.

By SANJAY K K

Jun 11, 2020

It will very helpful for the MATLAB beginners and to enhance the skills. The course content is crystal clear. The way of teaching is very unique. Thanks a lot

By Swapnil B P

May 5, 2020

This is really good course to learn basic programming in MATLAB. Some of the assignments are really challenging, if you are a beginner in programming like me.

By Sócrates R

Oct 3, 2019

Great classes and teacher, with practical videos about matlab. The problems proposed by the course helps you to really understand what is computer programming