Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
15,943 ratings
4,157 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

IK

Dec 19, 2021

Basics concepts are well covered within a short time and a few videos. I would recommend it for those who want to learn complete basics. but to master it, you need to enrol in a specialization course.

DA

Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

3726 - 3750 of 4,148 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Rahul G

Jul 26, 2020

The course is really good. but the final problems are bit too hard to solve for me as a person with no coding background.

By piyush r

May 5, 2020

good programming language to learn.

it opens up a wide variety to solve any problem in which mathematics modeling is used.

By Tiffany L

Aug 2, 2020

Informational and interesting course that goes from the basics of the MATLAB interface to writing programs using MATLAB.

By Sakib J

Jun 29, 2020

This course is really wonderful. The teachers of this course try to expose all the syntax and problems easy and nicely.

By SINGHAL A

Jun 22, 2020

The way of teaching is good .

The given examples explaination was also good

The assignments was quite realated and doable

By Surathep N

Jun 5, 2020

The lessons are very clear and easy to follow . However, the assignments are quite difficult for non-programming people.

By Prarabdh J

Sep 17, 2020

Certain videos are long, which could be made shorter. The basic exercises and practices are few. The book is excellent.

By Darkhan O

Dec 17, 2020

I think, the lectures are really boring in some places. But overall it was really helpful to get the basics of matlab

By RAJAMANI S

Jul 27, 2020

I like this course. If we can get subtitles while the teacher is teaching, we can get to know many things.

thank you.

By Biraj T

Jul 11, 2019

I recommend this session to all aspiring MATLAB programmer. The course is managed and student can learn very easily.

By Luis A R S

Apr 30, 2022

It is a very useful course, I can reach all my academic goals programming with Matlab so heading to the next level!

By DR. V P

Jul 24, 2020

Videos are okay, but the learning of software should be in the forms of worked out examples parallel to explanation

By Puja G

Jun 1, 2020

The course is useful for beginners and new learners. Nut the difficulty of graded external tool increases suddenly.

By Nguyen D D

Dec 14, 2020

Thank you for providing this course because it helps me a lot to understand the knowledge about Matlab Programming

By Praduman K

May 24, 2020

Make errors more clear. When i was solving any problem and error occurred, the external tool was not of much help.

By shubham m

Mar 30, 2017

i liked the way of teaching from this online classes. now i can go for learning advance matlab. i enjoyed classes.

By PRAKASH B

Sep 1, 2020

The explanations are really good, but some of them are too long and boring (i wish they would more comprehensive)

By Zarin R S

Jun 22, 2020

A very good platform for basic learners of MATLAB.The assignments are effective. It was a good experience for me.

By SATYANARAYANA M

Jun 16, 2020

I am new to MATLAB, i learned a lot from this course. I will try to solve more engineering problems using MATLAB

By Franco E S Q

Nov 16, 2021

This course is fabulous, but I would like the PPt's to be translated into other languages, for example Spanish.

By Deepak K P

Sep 4, 2019

whenever i gets any confusion regarding any problem in matlab, u can just revisit it , then it gets clarified

By Taghreed I E

Aug 29, 2020

The last 2 weeks were so long and not effective as the previous ones, But total it was very good and helpful

By Travis H

Jul 30, 2020

This course was challenging, because it involved not only coding but problem solving with math through code.

By Akhil T

Jul 4, 2020

These course is very help full in my future.The course is very good and am enthusiastic to learn this course

By SUJETHA T

May 12, 2020

A USEFUL COURSE IN MY LOCKDOWN PERIOD. I GAINED A GOOD KNOWLEDGE IN MATH CONCEPT IN THE PROGRAMMING LANGUAGE