Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
15,298 ratings
4,021 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 4,005 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Manohar M

Mar 12, 2017

Video Lectures were easy to understand and discussion center helped in further understanding the subject. Examples were chosen from real life, which made the course very useful.

By Gustavo J M M

Aug 23, 2021

PESIMA plataforma para estudiantes de otras regiones. No debería ser un estrés llevar los cursos virtuales. Debería tener el formato de Onramp de la misma pagina web de MATLAB.

By Barani Y

Aug 5, 2020

This is a very interesting session sir but I had a some struggles in the last few assignments

and I have some doubts sir could you please explain the last assignments in future.

By ganesh Y

Jul 23, 2020

great work done by professor really understood well explained....to the root of course with amazing mind set of assignments and topics. thank you so much really appreciated sir

By Deepak V

Jun 5, 2020

Great course for jump start in programming. Amazing explanations and structure of the course. Must for every beginner. Thanks to developers of this course, you did a great job!

By Rishabh D

May 20, 2020

That's a very tough course as a beginners. But I learned a lot from Matlab. Thank you sir for mentoring me. Thank you Vanderbilt University for Make this program for beginners.

By Michael G

Apr 13, 2018

Best presentation, nice humor, multiple examples and so much interesting.. I highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to learn MATLAB or even refresh it

Thanks Coursera

By Chukwuebuka O

Jun 8, 2017

This course is the best MATLAB program that I have ever taken. Sticking with this course till the end was not quite easy, but my time spent on the course is highly justifiable.

By Patrick S d O

Nov 14, 2016

A very good course for who wants to learn the matlab programming language from the basics. The homework problems are very challenging and the video material are well organized.

By Adane M D

Dec 4, 2020

This course is well prepared and presented in every way. I took several Matlab programming courses previously but none were close to the understanding level this course gives.

By Victor F

Aug 9, 2020

This course is awesome! Not only because of the content itself, but also because of the professor, Mike Fitzpatrick. I am far more confident about programming with Matlab now!

By Priyan K

Jun 8, 2020

Very good course to get to know a wide variety of MATLAB commands, still I would say that it scratches the surface of MATLAB, to dive deep you need to read the suggested book.

By Md. R M

Jun 5, 2020

This course was a very useful and interesting one. All the lectures and assignments were very good. I totally enjoyed the course and hoping to work more with matlab in future!

By Karan M B

May 24, 2020

Very Well Explained with all the little details including adjustment of datetime etc.. This Course covers maximum of what basics required to programming & much more. Thankyou.

By aniket v

Mar 24, 2020

Excellent course for beginners in MATLAB. especially assignments were good and challenging. Quick reply to queries. and Mike is a very good instructor. Thank you very much !!!

By Teng

Mar 21, 2020

My first completed course in coursera.

The forum is especially useful throughout my learning in this course.

Thumbs up to all the professors and staffs that made this happened.

By Gizem M E

Jan 11, 2020

It is amazing knowing that you can easily get an access this class who taught by amazing professors. I am so thankful that you gave me this opportunity to be part of coursera.

By Margaret W

May 20, 2017

As a beginner, I learnt a lot from this course. Professor Fitzpatrick has a very good sense of humor. I enjoyed a lot from learning this course and finishing all the problems.

By Joshua O

Feb 25, 2021

Very well planned course outline and lectures. It covers the essentials and like the exercises that are given. Also, a humorous professor teaching the course adds motivation.

By zhuqing w

Oct 18, 2020

a nice course for people who start to learn machine language. assignments are challenging while inspiring. thanks to the professor and people who put efforts to this course!

By Hakan K

Jun 30, 2020

Dont think just enroll.excellent course with excelent instructer. warning final exams solutions are on the internet dont directly look at them. instead solve them by yourself

By Rohit R

May 4, 2020

An exceptional course for Introducing the basic concepts of MATLAB programming! Professor Mike is just great! His narration and explanation made the course a fun experience!

By Beyisa B

Mar 18, 2020

This introductory course very important for an engineering or Science student ..So I finally recommended if possible to add numerical method solving using Matlab

By Marcos R V M

Oct 9, 2017

Outstanding!!! Before doing this course, I already have been using Matlab... After concluding it, many gaps were filled! I do recommend this course! The teacher is excellent!

By KAMAL T

Sep 21, 2020

such a awesome course fully loaded with assignments for better practices and makes your coding skills better and better.I wil recomeend u to do this awesome designed course