Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
16,764 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

IK

Dec 19, 2021

Basics concepts are well covered within a short time and a few videos. I would recommend it for those who want to learn complete basics. but to master it, you need to enrol in a specialization course.

DA

Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.

I really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 4,293 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By mohadeseh m

Jun 25, 2020

Thank you sir for everything. During the course I feel like I am in a real class. I appreciate your time and I am grateful for everything I learnt.

In an one sentence: It was great!

By Subhojit C

May 30, 2020

It was a great experience, going through this course I not only learned about Matlab but also developed good programming skills. The course was fun and challenging at the same time.

By Geran T

Aug 16, 2017

Great instructor. Thought-provoking assignments. Except that in the later lectures, complex concepts are not fully explained. Need to watch the video a few times to finish homework.

By Ghufranullah K

Oct 26, 2022

This is an amazing course, especially for both for engineers and data analyst. It provide in depth insight into most of the basic of programming. Highly recommend it for beginner.

By Ganesh M

Aug 19, 2017

Detailed and extremely comprehensive !! Glad to take the course. Im feeling pretty confident not only in Matlab but also in other prgramming languages. Once again thanks Coursera !

By Zhu W

Oct 2, 2016

The course is very helpful for students who want to get familiar with the Matlab application. Try to be patient with all the practices and you will find yourself improve gradually.

By Kevroy K L

Nov 11, 2021

Great course. Really shows you the power of using MATLAB. Doesn't go in-depth into plotting and such but the foundation laid here gives you the basis for tackling many challenges

By KALPESH K

Dec 8, 2020

The teacher has very good skills to represent his knowledge about MATLAB

along with small jokes, and I learned a lot of new things and I will continue with some other new courses.

By David F G

Jul 18, 2020

Excellent course, ralative difficulty, very well explained. the professor has an excellent pedagogy and a fine sense of humor. rapid support in the forum, thank you all very much!

By Prince K

Jul 15, 2020

This course has given me a great learning experience on various matlab problems and it will definately help me in gaining a life long experience for my further work life.Thank you

By Puneet M

Jun 4, 2020

It was really fun to complete course ..I got addicted to this course problems and it gave me a good fundamentals .

I like the way the Prof. Mike taught the course with full of fun.

By MADHUMANTI S

May 12, 2020

The course materials are very good undoubtedly. Previously i had some basic knowledge in MATLAB. But I get more advanced knowledge from this course. This is a Zero to Hero course.

By YU-CHEN H

Mar 25, 2020

I really like this course! The course is easy to fallow and every exercise is challenging but fun. The professor has humour, too, which make the long lecture hours more enjoyable!

By pulkit j

Mar 20, 2020

Great course for absolute newbies. Very well organized course material and challenging homeworks.

The tutor is awesome and explains everything nicely. It was fun doing this course.

By SHIVAM V

Apr 1, 2019

Very nice course for beginners in programming.Very good for depth understanding of basic programming language and also matlab programming and use of its tool was taught very well.

By Rajat S

Mar 26, 2018

It was a good introduction course. A little slow for my liking but good thing is you can always speed up the videos. The assignments had a balance between easy and good questions.

By Kaushik S

Jan 28, 2018

The way the course was taught will help people of all backgrounds to start with Matlab.The assignments and quizzes also helps users to apply their learning and correct themselves.

By David C

Dec 27, 2016

Great course with a very charismatic lecturer. The assignments were very challenging which was essential as the majority of learning takes place when actually coding.

Thanks,

David

By Mina H M (

Oct 11, 2021

I knew how to write code in MATLAB before but I wanted to complete my knowledge so I started watching this course and do the exercises, It helped a lot. Thanks you instructors :)

By Mintu M

Sep 2, 2021

The course is best for those who want learn Matlab,teaching techinuque course material is better than any other course and the assignment is so good. Overall the course is best.

By Manas R R

Jan 17, 2021

Enjoyed the course, it was fun and engaging especially with humour of professor. The assessments are of good quality. After 6 weeks the problems level up and challenged me a lot.

By Neelkant N

Apr 11, 2020

This course is very basic course. The course is explained in very nice format. Training exercise are of advance level and this course is not sufficient to deal training exercise.

By Chin J H

Aug 4, 2020

This is my first programming course and it is just nice for me to understand the important concepts of computer programming such as function, loops, if else statement and so on.

By Ankit P

Jul 19, 2020

A great course for a beginner who wants to start programming. Some of the questions really force the learner to think. It's fun and informative. I really had a great experience.

By Longfei C

Apr 20, 2019

Very solid knowledge of MATLAB is taught. It is not only useful for using MATLAB but also for understanding how programmers do to achieve some functionalities while programming.