Chevron Left
Back to Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
16,781 ratings

About the Course

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top reviews

AB

Mar 8, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

DS

Jan 9, 2021

There are a lot of real cases to explain the theory, steps to create a negotiation strategy and tips to become a better negotiator. You don't have to be born negotiator, you can learn the methodology.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 3,993 Reviews for Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

By Sumit B

May 11, 2020

One of the best MOOC i have applied for it was easy to understand especially due to the situational based questions the instructor asked making me able to think differently that i am used to .

By J. B D

Nov 24, 2019

Really one of the three best courses I have ever taken in my life. It has helped me not only better understand the world of work but has also had practical benefits in my everyday life as well.

By Viet T

Sep 7, 2016

I have learned many things through this course. I appreciate to Dr. George Siedel, University of Michigan, and Coursera.com for your contribution to provide this course to us. Thanks so much .

By Juan K

May 30, 2016

The best online course I have taken in my life. I like so much the way in waht the professor explains every concept of the course. It was a really good experience start with a course like this.

By Aris V

Sep 13, 2015

This is a wonderful course about Negotiation. What I like most is the teacher who is really prepared and the subject which allows me to evolve in many situations concerning conflicts and deals.

By Abdelrahman E

Jan 29, 2021

A great course by a great instructor! Totally recommended for those who want to promote their negotiation skills with organized content which is linked with a lot of stories and real-examples.

By shreya v s

Sep 24, 2020

Professor George made this course really fun and informative,the amount of knowledge,the planning of every negotiation was beautifully layed out by him throughout the course!thank you so much!

By Taiwo M A

Jun 3, 2020

I found the course very useful and I gained a lot of insight into the process of Negotiation. Taking this course has made me also consider forging a a career path in Negotiation in the future.

By suvendu l

May 2, 2020

Its been a very enriching experience. One of the best online courses i have ever attended. The faculty Prof.George Siedel has explained the negotiation concepts holistically and unequivocally.

By D E

Nov 10, 2017

This course is essential for anyone like me who uses negotiation skills in my occupation. It is an intense course at times, but really prepared me for my job duties in a more professional way.

By Fernando L Z

Apr 16, 2017

Interesting introduction to negotiation techniques and strategies.

Very pedagogical videos, congrats to Prof. Siedel.

I totally recommend this course to people feeling curious about negotiation!

By Desiree D

Oct 10, 2015

Excellent, the professor is very well spoken and he give clear explanations. The material of the course is very interesting and useful. I'm very glad I took this course. Thank you very much!!!

By Alejandro L

Oct 7, 2015

Muy práctico y claro. El profesor tiene gran habilidad para dar buenos ejemplos y ser claro en los conceptos del curso. Termino el curso feliz por lo aprendido y satisfecho por la experiencia.

By Alexander D

Aug 16, 2015

Very good! George Siedel was an amazing teacher with a lot of great tips, tricks and tools to use in real life negotiations. I am very appreciative for the opportunity to complete this course.

By H R C

Jun 12, 2020

An excellent course for professional grooming. it would be injustice i dont talk about the instructor, An excellent instructor who has a wonderful knowledge with positive grip on the subject.

By Julio c l

Jun 5, 2020

Thank you very much for the opportunity to the University of Michigan and Coursera to participate in a training program like this. My best recommendations and qualifications for this course.

By Ruchi N

Jun 2, 2020

Dear Professor Siedel,

Thank you so much, I virtually experienced and Learned a lot from your course in last 7 weeks. The examples were very informative and insightful. thanks you once again.

By Jason J

May 19, 2020

Loved George Siedle's insight on negotiation and the way that he broke the skills down to a science. His real world experience painted a picture and gave me an angle I have never seen before.

By Ignácio d C G P

Mar 20, 2019

Curso e professor ótimos! A dificuldade foi ainda maior porque embora as aulas sejam com legendas, a prova final é toda em inglês. O idioma é mais um obstáculo pra quem não compreende inglês.

By Sandeep K

May 5, 2021

The course is great and helps in both personal and professional growth. The examples Prof. George Siedel have given are a cherry on the cake. I just loved the way the modules were explained.

By ALESSANDRO S

Oct 30, 2020

Thanks tp prof. Siedel. Very good course, well organized and well explained. Examples very useful to fix the theory. I had no difficulty with English because he speaks very calm and clearly.

By TANISHKA S C

Jul 15, 2020

One of the few truly useful courses I've enrolled in, the case studies, examples of real-life cases, mock videos were extremely helpful

looking forward to yet another course in greater detail

By Chioma S J

May 18, 2020

This is one of the best courses on Negotiation I have taken. I have learnt lessons that are not just applicable to work or business but to life in general. Thank you Professor George Siedel.

By Borislav C

Oct 19, 2019

this corse has helped me to develop both how I approach a negotiations wells as ensuring that customers are kept happy which therefore allows for a healthy relationship and revenue pipeline.

By Raphael A

Aug 14, 2019

Great course with some very nice techniques and tools to achieve the best results in negotiations. The professor has vast experience and masters the art of negotiation, strongly recommended.