Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
22,287 ratings

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

MD

May 23, 2020

A wonderful course of prevention that I learned a lot from,

Using commands with Windows and Linux

How to deploy and install operating systems through the network and Alot

Thanks GOOOOOOOOOGLE

BO

Apr 1, 2019

This is my most favorite module module, especially the Linux, which is my all time favorite OS ever enjoy learning, working Programing, and configuring, and will continue enjoying til the end of time.

Filter by:

3976 - 4000 of 4,378 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Muhamad A P M C

Mar 16, 2021

All went fine on Linux. But I had a bit problem when completing assessment in Windows VM, especially on course 3 week 6 "updating vlc". The score didn't increase after I updated VLC for many times.

Just suggestion, maybe you can make windows assessment to be optional.

Thanks

By Hillary P

Apr 15, 2019

This coursework was segmented so that we went back and forth from Linux to Windows. The instruction seemed choppy when using this approach. I understand comparing the OS's, but perhaps finish explaining a full process or function in one OS before moving to the next.

By C E

Mar 30, 2018

The assessment tool used for the course is buggy, unreliable, and often difficult to access, requiring multiple attempts just to get it to work. Considering this is how you pass the course, this is a critical issue. It was an issue in course one as well.

By David J

Oct 18, 2018

I felt like it left something to be desired in the assignments. also some things that we were told to do was not clearly covered in the course material. I know that It is also a self learning environment but a bit of better direction would be appreciated.

By Amanda D

Mar 21, 2022

I did not find this course to be practical. There are several mentions of "this is how you would use this to trouble shoot" and then no details at all. It was difficult to follow, and the final Windows lab is glitchy and extremely difficult to solve.

By Viet A T

Mar 31, 2021

The lab was lagging, so it took more time to complete tasks. Overall it was nice and I know you will fix that problem so for now just 3 stars. I also encountered the problem in the lab in week 6 where I couldn't get points but It happened to be my bad.

By Jakiela H

Sep 20, 2018

I learned a lot of valuable information about running commands in Windows and Linux, but the Quiklab tool was difficult to use at times. I had to complete an assignment twice ti receive a grade even thought I made a 100% on my first attempt.

By Kristi L

Dec 20, 2020

The information given in the videos is sometimes confusing and not adequately explained. The labs cover elements that are not covered in the videos, and can be a bit confusing as a result. The delivery of the material is a bit dry as well.

By Arrington E

Apr 25, 2022

So many commands to use and without a vm to follow along with it was hard to retain and keep up on the material presented. This was is my least favorite course yet, which is sad becuase the OS seems so fun and interesting to work with.

By Stas

Sep 4, 2021

I loved the qwiklab I learned from the labs much more than from the video lectures, I'm sorry, but the video lectures were not for beginners like me, the videos assumed a lot of prior knowledge, poor job of explaining a lot of topics.

By Jones, D L

Nov 8, 2019

I liked the labs. The labs gave me hands on experience. The labs allowed me to verify if I accomplished my objectives instantly. I learned more utilizing youtube instructional videos than I did watching the instruction provided.

By Jasmine M

Oct 30, 2018

The course started out really great, but when it came to the final assessment and their Qwiklabs things started to fall apart. In the end I was able to learn how to navigate both the Linux and Windows Operating systems like a boss.

By kamil

May 1, 2018

I thought that there was way too many times of. 'We won't be covering it in here, check the suplemental reading', I kind of hoped for better explanations on some topics :( All in all I guess it was a good overview for us though.

By Javier P

Jun 14, 2020

Connection from my computer to your servers were slow and so I did not realize that the test results were excepted on your end. It kept giving 0 points on my end when I clicked the green score square. In the end it worked.

By Paul J

Jun 15, 2020

It was difficult to complete the work in the allotted time. The transcripts helped. I wish I had noticed that these were available earlier. I suggest a quick start module outlining the features of this course.

By Nicholas S

Nov 5, 2019

I've never been more frustrated with a test. I knew what I was doing, but I feel it had to be to the standards that you taught. There is more than one way to skin a cat, but the result should still be the same.

By Sharon

Jun 20, 2022

It would be helpful to have more quizes that required you to work more with the commands. There was a lot of material covered re: Operating Systems and You..... One of the most challenging courses thus far.

By Eric A

Jul 29, 2022

Lots of good information and commands. But some of the labs gave me problems, and wont accepts the commands making me stuck at 92% and wont let me compleate the course beacouse i cant compleate those two labs

By Miller, T

May 26, 2020

I loved this course don’t get me wrong! But I think there needs to be some more hands on work. I thought I was doing very well until I reached the very last quizzes or tests, they were very difficult for me.

By Bína M

Jun 26, 2021

I​ think the course has taught me valuable fundamentals, as well as some extras. Personally, I wasn't very fond of switching between Windows and Linux so often, as it made keeping notes on paper tedious.

By Nicholas K

Jun 27, 2018

Not the best one of the courses, a little dry. Glad for the hands on labs though. They are a little rough and don't do exactly the best job, some are down-right difficult because of poor instructions.

By Starkey R

Apr 25, 2020

Everything was good until I got to one of the assessments. The system was rigged and I had to contact support to take the assessment off my list so I could pass the course. What an inconvenience!

By Ali E

Mar 22, 2019

Definitely not a power user course. The first hands-on lab asks the user to create, copy, and delete a couple of files and directories using Windows GUI. This is more like an intermediate course.

By Joshua R I F

Oct 12, 2021

Course content was useful but the external graded labs were difficult to interact with and often no more than an exercise in copying the commands into the window without understanding the process.

By Jessica L S

Sep 27, 2020

Packed with a lot of useful instruction, but very confusing to me in the end. I barely struggled through the final Graded Assessments and it left me feeling like I had not learned one thing well.