Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA by Imperial College London

4.0
stars
2,549 ratings
632 reviews

About the Course

This intermediate-level course introduces the mathematical foundations to derive Principal Component Analysis (PCA), a fundamental dimensionality reduction technique. We'll cover some basic statistics of data sets, such as mean values and variances, we'll compute distances and angles between vectors using inner products and derive orthogonal projections of data onto lower-dimensional subspaces. Using all these tools, we'll then derive PCA as a method that minimizes the average squared reconstruction error between data points and their reconstruction. At the end of this course, you'll be familiar with important mathematical concepts and you can implement PCA all by yourself. If you’re struggling, you'll find a set of jupyter notebooks that will allow you to explore properties of the techniques and walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you are already an expert, this course may refresh some of your knowledge. The lectures, examples and exercises require: 1. Some ability of abstract thinking 2. Good background in linear algebra (e.g., matrix and vector algebra, linear independence, basis) 3. Basic background in multivariate calculus (e.g., partial derivatives, basic optimization) 4. Basic knowledge in python programming and numpy Disclaimer: This course is substantially more abstract and requires more programming than the other two courses of the specialization. However, this type of abstract thinking, algebraic manipulation and programming is necessary if you want to understand and develop machine learning algorithms....

Top reviews

JS
Jul 16, 2018

This is one hell of an inspiring course that demystified the difficult concepts and math behind PCA. Excellent instructors in imparting the these knowledge with easy-to-understand illustrations.

NS
Jun 18, 2020

Relatively tougher than previous two courses in the specialization. I'd suggest giving more time and being patient in pursuit of completing this course and understanding the concepts involved.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 626 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

By qwer q

Jun 24, 2018

Nicely explained. Could be further improved by adding some noted or sources of derivation of some expressions, like references to matrix calculus

By xiaoou w

Nov 21, 2020

great content however the programming part is too challenging for people without propre guidance in the subject. the videos aren't of much help.

By J A M

Mar 21, 2019

Solid conceptual explanations of PCA make this course stand out. The thorough review of this content is a must for any serious data researcher.

By Amar n

Dec 11, 2020

Just Brilliant!!! Very well structured with very clear assignments. Doing the assignments is a must if you want to get clarity on the subject.

By Sateesh K

Sep 24, 2020

This course should be part of "gems of coursera". Excellent specialization, thoroughly enjoyed it. For me the 3rd course on PCA was the best.

By Moez B

Nov 24, 2019

Excellent course. The fourth week material is the hardest for folks not comfortable with linear algebra and vectorization in numpy and scipy.

By Hasan A

Dec 30, 2018

What a great opportunity this course offers to learn from the best in this simplified manner. Thank you Coursera and Imperial College London!

By Duy P

Sep 24, 2020

Excellent explanation from the professor!! Besides he is the author of the book Mathematics for Machine Learning. You should check it out.

By Alexander H

Jul 30, 2018

Highly informative course! Loved the depth of the material. Found this course content highly useful in my current project based on PCA.

By Prabal G

Oct 21, 2020

great course for mathematics and machine learning...A big thanks to my faculty to guide like a god in this applied mathematics course

By Jason N

Feb 20, 2020

A lot of reading beyond the video lectures was required for me and some explanations could be more clear. Overall, a great course.

By Rishabh P

Jun 17, 2020

Well-detailed course and straight to the point. I enjoyed the course even though the programming assignments can be challenging

By UMAR T

Mar 10, 2020

Excellent course it helps you understanding about linear algebra programming into real world examples by programming in python.

By Josef N

May 14, 2020

It would be great if the course is extended to 8 weeks, with the current week 4 spanning at least 3 weeks. Otherwise great.

By Dora J

Feb 3, 2019

Great course including many useful refreshers on foundational concepts like inner products, projections, Lagrangian etc.

By Trung T V

Sep 18, 2019

This course is very helpful for me to understand Math for ML. Thank you Professors at Imperial College London so much!

By Mukund M

May 24, 2020

Professor Deisenroth is amazing. Very tough course but appreciated all the derivations and explanations of concepts.

By David H

Mar 21, 2019

It was challenging but worth it to enhance the mathematic skills for machine learning. Thanks for the awesome course.

By Lee F

Sep 28, 2018

This was the toughest of the three modules. It gave me a strong foundation to continue pusrsuing machine learning.

By Nileshkumar R P

May 6, 2020

This course was tough but awesome. Lots of things i learnt from this course. Great course indeed and worth doing.

By Kuntal T

Feb 15, 2021

one of the best course to learn whats happening in machine learning and how it make sense through mathematics.

By Nishek S

Jul 30, 2020

The PCA part Was a bit tricky barely handle the concepts.

thank you imperial team for such interactive course

By Krzysztof

Aug 21, 2019

One of the most challenging course in my life - almost impossible without python and mathematics background.

By Pratama A A

Aug 25, 2020

Need more Effort to grasp the materials explained_-" you need to be patience,the lecturer is really on top

By Nelson S S

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent course ... Quite challenging, a little difficult but I have learned a lot ... Thank you ...