Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
7,844 ratings
1,840 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top reviews

LT
Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG
Apr 10, 2021

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 1,835 Reviews for Introduction to Philosophy

By Joel P

Sep 17, 2021

I loved it, thought-provoking and very well laid out, and easy to follow while presenting hard questions! 10/10

By Vanessa A Q T

Aug 9, 2020

Awesome! I came from venezuela expecting a lot of wisdom, and i get more than i ever expected! thanks a lottttt

By Israel J G R

Jun 20, 2020

Muy bien organizado y estructurado. Cada uno de los docentes manejaron los temas de manera profesional y clara.

By Dr P S

May 13, 2020

It was INDEED a good experience to know the fundamentals of Philosophy. Very well explained.

Thank you very much

By Daniel B

Feb 27, 2019

Good spectrum of topics covered; question / quiz format is helpful too. Recommend as a great broad introduction

By Octavio A M C

Oct 24, 2015

Es dinámico y claro, sin ser pretensioso que justamente eso hace que sea en ocasiones cuestionada la filosofía.

By Jahayra J V J

Jan 14, 2021

Me motivo a seguir aprendiendo más sobre las grandes ideas de innumerables pensadores filosóficos y sus ramas.

By Eliecer A P

Oct 18, 2020

Es un curso excelente. Interesante y retante tanto desde la perspectiva académica como en el aspecto personal.

By Banu Y

Jul 17, 2020

Thank you, it was really helpful to learn concepts with clear explanations and very well prepared assignements

By Guido S

May 23, 2020

I really enjoy this curse. Thank You very much for all the information that you gived me. Best for the future!

By Alejandro D

Feb 5, 2017

Well structured course, great instructors, they master the subject and make the course a really enjoyable one.

By Liliana E G d l F

Aug 13, 2015

Showed me a different way to see life.

Philosophy as a lens to look clearer or cloudier, depends on the angle.

By Franco D

Feb 2, 2021

Quiero agradecer a la Universidad de Edimburgo, por darme la oportunidad, de poder acceder a su conocimiento.

By Xavi R

Aug 27, 2020

It was a very fulfilling course. It gives a clear introduction and the material they link to you is excellent

By Catherine H

Mar 5, 2019

This class is awesome!! I learned so much, and it has really sparked my interest in other philosophy classes!

By Debolina K

Jun 13, 2021

The faculty is really great and the course has helped me massively in understanding the beauty of philosophy

By Mari C

Sep 3, 2020

Overall enjoyed the videos and information. Added to my knowledge and processing of information thank you :)

By Iván M C V

Jul 11, 2018

Muy buen curso. La manera de explicar de los profesores y los temas abordados son excelentes. Aprendí mucho.

By Ama G

Oct 14, 2015

This course has taught me much in so little time, i'm truly looking forward to completing the entire course.

By Natalia G S

Sep 17, 2015

Mil gracias por ofrecer esta posibilidad de visión amplia sobre Filosofía. Ha sido muy enriquecedor para mi.

By Shreya G

Aug 29, 2021

The Teachers were very cooperative and the work given was very relatable to the lectures. Thankyou Coursera

By MOHAMMAD T T

Jul 12, 2020

It was a great experience. Mostly all videos was interesting and quiz help me to implement my understanding

By Raj B

Jul 2, 2020

Challenging and complicated, the tests were particularly difficult. Thought provoking and worth the effort.

By Faisal G

Apr 11, 2020

I read many books about philosophy but this course though me in sequential manner, cleared my understanding

By Leticia T P

Mar 7, 2018

Es excelente el curso. Me está ayudando a comprender mucho mejor una materia que antes no me gustaba mucho.