Chevron Left
Back to Practical Time Series Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Practical Time Series Analysis by The State University of New York

4.6
stars
1,066 ratings
304 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Practical Time Series Analysis! Many of us are "accidental" data analysts. We trained in the sciences, business, or engineering and then found ourselves confronted with data for which we have no formal analytic training. This course is designed for people with some technical competencies who would like more than a "cookbook" approach, but who still need to concentrate on the routine sorts of presentation and analysis that deepen the understanding of our professional topics. In practical Time Series Analysis we look at data sets that represent sequential information, such as stock prices, annual rainfall, sunspot activity, the price of agricultural products, and more. We look at several mathematical models that might be used to describe the processes which generate these types of data. We also look at graphical representations that provide insights into our data. Finally, we also learn how to make forecasts that say intelligent things about what we might expect in the future. Please take a few minutes to explore the course site. You will find video lectures with supporting written materials as well as quizzes to help emphasize important points. The language for the course is R, a free implementation of the S language. It is a professional environment and fairly easy to learn. You can discuss material from the course with your fellow learners. Please take a moment to introduce yourself! Time Series Analysis can take effort to learn- we have tried to present those ideas that are "mission critical" in a way where you understand enough of the math to fell satisfied while also being immediately productive. We hope you enjoy the class!...

Top reviews

JM

Mar 21, 2019

This was a very good and detailed course. I liked this course for two reasons mainly:\n\nIt started from the basics of timeseries analysis, covering theory and secondly it took me gradually to r.

RT

Jul 17, 2020

Easily one of the best time-series courses online. Although it says "practical", there is plenty of good theory to back up the practice and at the same time not overwhelming or distracting.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 303 Reviews for Practical Time Series Analysis

By Felix

Apr 08, 2020

i liked the course, which is quite useful for the beginners.

I'd add additionally some theory and other examples to make the understanding better.

By Nikhil S

Jul 29, 2020

This course has wonderful explanation of Mathematics behind the graphs. One should not give up initially is the best way to complete this course.

By Neil T

Oct 02, 2019

Classic intro class. But it will be better to explain the difference between exponential smoothing and SARIMA and why we need the first one.

By Abhay K

Jul 17, 2020

The course provides an overall idea about time series forecasting from the scratch. The examples to explain the concepts are very accurate.

By NAFIS S F

Mar 30, 2020

There should be more R codes and the explanation of the codes should be made easier. However, it is a good course on time series.

By Angelo A d M F

Aug 31, 2018

A very good introduction to time series analysis. Provides some theoretical fundamentals and explains how to implement it in R.

By Dhruv G

May 17, 2020

Great Course. Beyond what I thought it would be. It brings you 1 step closer to doing practical time series analysis using R.

By Dheeraj T

Jan 16, 2018

Course is good and intuitive and people not from non-mathematical/non-engineering backgroung may take more time in week 2

By Supakrit N

Jul 09, 2019

Great course with clear description but the sound of mentor is almost monotone making me feel some sleepy

By Parikshit A B

Sep 11, 2019

The course is well paced and covers a lot of material. It could have been better structured though.

By 李欣儒

Feb 02, 2019

some mistakes in the handout, but still learn lots of useful knowledge and skill from this class.

By Abdul A S

Mar 31, 2020

wonderful course. But what the methology for retransformation? its may not discussed here.

By Roman P

Jun 27, 2018

I thought everything was had a great layout. I found the proofs dry, but necessary.

By Ramprakash V

Oct 15, 2019

Helpful for the ones who really want a strong math foundation for Time series.

By Gabriel B

May 21, 2018

Chapter 3 needs work. Everything else is great! Good course overall.

By Al A M

Nov 26, 2018

Good! but Theoretical terms were little bit boring & confusing.

By SUBRAMANYA T A

May 03, 2020

Good Introduction to Time Series with implementation in R.

By Minoru N

May 02, 2018

The lecture ended just where it has become interesting.

By Andrew W

Aug 26, 2019

Well presented material and relatively easy to follow.

By En

Dec 23, 2018

It was more theoretical than practical, in my opinion

By Hilmi E

Nov 21, 2018

Good practical overview with lots of exercises

By kirran

Aug 31, 2018

Answers to assignments could be more elaborate

By Federico V M

Feb 18, 2018

Very useful introduction course to Time Series

By Alex L

May 06, 2019

maybe useful, but this course worth listening