Chevron Left
Back to Private Equity and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Private Equity and Venture Capital by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
5,772 ratings
1,367 reviews

About the Course

The course deals with the analysis of the private equity and venture capital business. Over the course, students will be provided with a deep understanding of the mechanism underpinning the creation and/or development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. The course tries to discover how special financial intermediaries (called private equity investors) finance through equity companies belonging to different stages of their life-cycle, starting from the very beginning (startup and early stage) to a more mature phase (i.e. expansion, mature age, etc.) or also staying into crises and decline. Private equity (named venture capital when the company is in the first phases of its life cycle) deals with very different activities, such as scouting, advisory, deal-making, valuation, and financing as financial intermediaries see it. COURSE SYLLABUS The course is made up of four different modules: WEEK 1 - Introduction to Private Equity and Venture Capital WEEK 2 - Discovering Private Equity Investors: Legal Issues and Taxation WEEK 3 - Management of Private Equity and Venture Capital Funds WEEK 4 - Company Valuation And Deal Making In Private Equity Settings WEEK 5 - Final Test Throughout the course, guest speakers and practitioners will be interviewed to provide some examples of concrete applications of the contents presented. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND An understanding of the basic concepts of corporate financing accounting principles is required, while prior knowledge of private equity and venture capital is not required however it is recommended, as this is a course designed to introduce you to the fundamental concepts in private equity and venture capital....

Top reviews

TP
Oct 26, 2019

Excellent content, and superb slides.\n\nPlease check the quality of the English in the slides, and also in the quiz questions. Many quiz questions were difficult to understand because of the English.

AM
Dec 3, 2015

Amazing course! Thank you very much, Stefano Caselli, for a such wonderful content and perfect presenting. I took a lot of very useful and practical information from it.\n\nI do appreciate it. Thanks!

Filter by:

1126 - 1150 of 1,362 Reviews for Private Equity and Venture Capital

By Christoph B

Dec 16, 2018

Great overview of PE & VC especially for newcomers to the field. Good choice of level of details, in line with the expected work load. Wording and precision in exam questions could be improved as questions and MC answers are a bit tough to understand properly in some cases. Maybe a language check by a native speaker could help to clarify some exam questions/answer options and the lecture material.

By Nicolas D

May 27, 2018

Thank you for this course that provides great insight to the world of private equity and venture capitalists. The only weak spot was with the start-up simulation that didn't work, which is quite a shame. I would have really loved using it and being able to practise the knowledge I gained on cases.

Anyway, thank you for this course and wish you the best for any endeavour the future holds.

By Andre C

Apr 15, 2018

A good course to learn the basic models and mechanics of PE & VC. The slides were a very helpful compliment to the course videos, and a good tool for future reference.

The content could have been more dynamic, however. There could have been more variation in delivery than the pure lecture model. Also, i didn't find the practitioner interviews very helpful.

Thanks though for a good course!

By Laurent T

Feb 3, 2018

Great Course! Really useful to get an overview of PE world. Some people were complaining about the lecturer accent but it was totally fine with me. I think the calculation part of the course could be better explained. I really struggled to understand how it worked... Good that the test didn't have too many question related to these calculations. I learned a lot from the course! Thanks!

By Ashwin N S

Nov 12, 2017

Gives an in-out view of the PE/VC industry of the world. The course is very structured and contains many interviews giving practical exposure. The professor, interviewees, study groups, activities and material provided justifies the great quality of the course. Highly recommended for starters, finance enthusiasts, knowledge gainers, working professionals and entrepreneurs !

By Tomas S

Mar 22, 2020

Nice introduction to the methods and standards of PE world. It is a great approach into the business laying out the basics and common methods.

It has a certain complexity on the accounting side but it is very well explained so you will probably have no trouble. Would have appreciated more accounting practice and deeper insight into VC business, such as a business case.

By Quinty M

Apr 12, 2020

Very comprehensive overview of the basics of PE & VC. Clear explanations of main concepts. Sometimes much information was compressed into a single module. Since Bocconi is an international business institute, I would have expected a more international selection of guest speakers. Updated material with relevant examples could provide additional value to the course.

By JP B

Jul 24, 2019

This course offers a comprehensive view of the VC and PE world. The background of both industries as well as the hard financial portion of the course were in depth and clear. The only recommendation I have is for the formula portions of the Quiz, it would be helpful to see explanations for wrong answers as well, not only for correct responses.

By Elena P

Dec 15, 2015

It's difficult to find university courses that are more hands-on other than theoretical, which is definetely the case with this Private Equity and Venture Capital course. It helped me refresh previous knowledge, while at the same time providing insight into practical matters such as regulation, regional differences as well as

By Brad D

Sep 15, 2019

Very interesting course and the basics are covered very well. However, I think the detail around the valuations and calculation of returns/fees could be done a little slower and a bit more clearly as there is a lot of detail. I would definitely advise making print outs of the slides and working through actual examples.

By Timo P

Aug 3, 2017

A lot of effort was put in the study material such as the slides as well as the video lecture. Valuation methods were explained very well. I can recommend to make the course a six week programm and explain an LBO Analysis. That is the only reason I did not give a 5 star rating. Other than that great course after all.

By Thato S N

Apr 24, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, gave more of a technical view of how PE works instead of just the buying and selling of businesses. I also like the considerations around the evolution of PE through Crowd Funding and SPACs etc, if there could be a specialist course on these areas as well that would be even better.

By Rhishabh J

May 1, 2020

Th course is really necessary to explore you knowledge in Finance area and to understand the valuation of every type of company. Valuation is very important in the life of every company whether it is mature company or a start-up. Also, the course is helpful if one is aiming to become an Entrepreneur.

By santosh k

Jul 2, 2017

The module was well structured. And content was basic enough to understand followed by simulationon.

During each video there was few questions which made it very engaging. Excel sheet with calculation of different parameters is also useful. I would suggest some more reading material be given.

By Karthik T

Sep 26, 2019

The course was more practical than theoretical which is good. It would've been better if the calculations were done a whiteboard in a manner that the process could be seen. It's a completely new topic for me, so I came in with no expectations and I was very please with the end result.

By Pulkit S

May 16, 2021

A brilliant course for PE/VC beginners/enthusiasts. It is a well-structured course with great clips for each topic. We need to dedicate a lot of time to practice the valuation models ourselves since the application aspect cannot really be comprehended well in an online medium.

By Piet H

Jul 2, 2017

Very well structured and succeeds fully in giving a clear overview of the PE and VC world. Concepts are well explained. Excellent as an introduction. Would require a lot more detail to be of practical use to persons directly involved with PE (Sconsidering PE or PE analysts).

By Franck C

Jun 11, 2017

Great overview of the PEVC world. Thank you all. The courses were very clear. One star less though as all calculation methods would have diserved some more lessons/time.

I am finally very positively impressed and thankfull for the course.

See you probably soon. Best regards.

By Luciano C

Oct 30, 2018

The course material (readings) and the video classes were very good. I believe the test questions could be improved and perhaps be a bit harder. Finally, I have participated of the forums but could not find my postings later (may be because I have not bought the course)

By Deleted A

Jan 10, 2018

Flow of the course was good. Concepts were explained in a simple manner. Field experts and PE investors were called for sharing their experiences and views was very much appreciated. However more practical examples and a case-study would have made the course better.

By Carlos M

Jul 28, 2020

Wealth of knowledge given was definitely comprehensive. Only improvement would be to guide students in the computation of Equity Value, etc. as it can be challenging understanding how certain figures were derived without the whole computing process being shown.

By Satyageet

Jul 8, 2020

The valuation part could have been taught better. The other sections were well explained. The accompanying slides are quite detailed. If one is interested in understanding the basic principles underlying Private Equity and Venture Capital, this is the course!

By Anoop D

Sep 29, 2019

good course provides a good understanding of PE & VC world with working examples and worksheets. Love to see some more real-life working examples and maybe add a capstone project to complete at week-5. Good work prof. for building and educating us.

By Hakim B

Oct 11, 2016

Professor Caselli is an amazing teacher, with a real expertise and a lot of experience in Private Equity and Venture Capital. The lessons are clear and well-structured. Nonetheless, I would have liked to work on modelling as well in these lessons.

By Robert M

Jun 26, 2016

Interesting and informative. A good entry-level course for those looking to get a clearer picture of the PE/VC space. I found the financial side of it a bit difficult to follow (though might just be me). Keep up the good work Universita Bocconi