Chevron Left
Back to Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? by University of London

4.6
stars
1,391 ratings

About the Course

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Top reviews

TS

Apr 30, 2020

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

NS

Apr 22, 2021

James Abdey is an excellent lecturer. He explains clearly while using a lot of examples from real life applications. I am considering to read his PhD thesis (even though I don't have insomnia :-))

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 460 Reviews for Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

By Chaitanya K

May 19, 2020

very informative and helpfull.

By Ichcha R

Apr 29, 2020

The host is really good....

By Tanguy P

Apr 14, 2020

Very good beginner class

By Suramya S D

May 14, 2020

well presented course.

By Anamika S

May 6, 2020

I enjoyed this course.

By Tanguy N

May 25, 2022

Excellente course

By Mayur P K

Sep 10, 2018

Great Course.

By Kaushal S

May 24, 2020

Great course

By Ahmad H J M J A

Jun 19, 2020

Thanks!

By Wiratama P P

Oct 24, 2021

good

By Daniel F

Dec 23, 2020

I think this course does provide a broad overview of statistics, which helped me get my feet wet. I think it may have been helpful for students that need learning visuals to have more of the diagrams and equations on the screen longer. It would also be helpful for those who have less experience in the field to have a definitions list provided for all of the symbols used. This would have been a useful study guide. Also, there are some quiz questions that have equations that are quite difficult to decipher because they were typed from the keyboard. I think it would be helpful for students to use the same equation imagery used in the video presentations for the quiz question equations.

By Jennifer W

Feb 26, 2023

Great course for a beginner probability course. The ONLY downfall is that your grade and the rate at which you finish this course depends upon peers reviewing two assignments. When iI went to review peers for the same assignment their work had been over two months old. I am taking this class for admission to a master's program and expected to finish that day. After over 12 hours of work, I completed all of the coursework, but have to wait on the peer review and have no idea what will happen when the course deadline is up and the peers still haven't reviewed my assignment.

By Sarah L

May 22, 2021

It was ok. It was an introductory statistics course. I thought it was going to be more probability-based. The formatting was all over the place in the quizzes and the lectures weren't very engaging - I know this is hard for a statistics class, but I've seen it done. I was kind of let down from this course to be honest, but it did give a nice overview for people unfamiliar with the topic.

By Aun A

May 22, 2020

In an introductory statistics course, there was no need of discussing the Monty Hall Problem, Decision Tree Analysis, Monte Carlo Simulation etc. Time saved by foregoing these could have been utilised for incorporating some mathematical rigour. Without math anyone's undertanding of statistics and its usability will always be restricted.

The PDF notes were a good thig to use in a MOOC.

By VIJAY N

Mar 27, 2020

The subject was interesting and he did brought new topics which i liked but it was a bit draggy at times which made me to loose attention. Overall i liked it - especially the Monty Hall problem formulation and Bayesian update. The topic on p-value is still muddy for me.

By Farhodbek S

Dec 3, 2021

I found this course a little bit boring. Sorry for such feedback. It took me a lot of time to complete. Maybe statistics is boring, maybe tutor, maybe I am dummy in probability and statistics. I do not know!

By yogita k

Jun 6, 2020

last week's content was too short. It will be great if one more week is added to the course where the students can learn more about decision trees, linear modeling, and regression.

By Irem K

May 23, 2020

The Professor can't get to the point easily and he's clicking his tongue all the time, it's unbearable for people with misophonia.

By Daniel D

May 9, 2019

Nice overall introduction to statistics, but suffers from bad grading mecanism when perofrming peer graded assignments.

By Rahul V S

Apr 7, 2022

Assignments are too simple and are not in the proper readable format. Videos lack animation and are mostly wordy.

By Yogendra C

May 19, 2020

the course is good but the first two week are boring and there I have lose my interest in this course

By Deepa N

Sep 28, 2020

Not as much hands on as I hoped

By PARDESHI R H

May 11, 2020

Easy to teach Probability

By Naing​Lin​ H

Jun 2, 2020

I achieve new knowledge.