Chevron Left
Back to Programming Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Fundamentals by Duke University

4.7
stars
5,916 ratings
1,551 reviews

About the Course

Programming is an increasingly important skill, whether you aspire to a career in software development, or in other fields. This course is the first in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C, but its lessons extend to any language you might want to learn. This is because programming is fundamentally about figuring out how to solve a class of problems and writing the algorithm, a clear set of steps to solve any problem in its class. This course will introduce you to a powerful problem-solving process—the Seven Steps—which you can use to solve any programming problem. In this course, you will learn how to develop an algorithm, then progress to reading code and understanding how programming concepts relate to algorithms....

Top reviews

EE
Aug 13, 2020

The instruction provided in this course are very clear and anyone who can learn coding by this course. But the course has more readable content for you to take notes and reading it may take more time.

TL
Aug 30, 2020

I had no background in programming before attending this course and I had my own doubts on learning a new language online. But trust me, this course is very well-built and it was a cake walk for me.

Filter by:

1226 - 1250 of 1,545 Reviews for Programming Fundamentals

By Manikanta P

Jun 1, 2020

This is the good course and basic fundamentals of c language for beginners.This course is more useful for me how I am learn online course and how to treat i it.so don't waste of your time to learn this course.

By Arpita K

Jan 25, 2021

This course is very effective for beginner level and to understand the primary basics in detail. But 'struct' and 'type def' parts can be described in more understandable way, I think. Overall, it was useful.

By Bhavanam V R

Oct 19, 2019

IT WAS AN AWESOME EXPERIENCE IN DOING THE ABOVE COURSE AS WAS VERY INTERESTED IN THESE TYPE OF THINGS.THE TEACHING WAS BRILLIANT AND THE LEARNING OF THE COURSES THROUGH VIDEO LECTURES WAS REALLY FANTASTIC.

By Scott W

May 30, 2020

The first exercise that required me to evaluate someone else's algorithm, and them to evaluate mine, did not make it clear how to find this person. I thought the system would connect us automatically.

By Sagar S

Sep 29, 2020

The course was quite good in every aspect and it met my expectations and thanks to duke university for providing such a good course and also thanks to coursera for providing such good platform for us.

By Pukalenthiran S

Apr 24, 2020

I love the way of approaching from planning then coding.The basic taught here are really awesome.I think enumeration concepts should be included in upcoming courses in this specialization

thank you

By Vighnesh V

May 7, 2020

Very in-depth and detailed explanation in introoductionto programming.If you are a beginner,I recommend you start with C.Some background is crucial or you will be confused in the later lectures.

By Rohit D

Jul 13, 2019

Great for total beginners.

Would totally recommend to college students who just started their programming classes in C.

Not for professionals eager to brush up their skills.Since it's too basic.

By Parker T

Dec 12, 2019

I thought the course explained everything very well. However in the readings I thought that some keywords should be highlighted or colored different to indicate that it's part of the syntax.

By Jeel s

Sep 25, 2020

Great course to learn basics for any programming language but the video lectures needs to be longer and a bit more detailed because reading content is the same as of the lecturer's content.

By Yugesh K

Jun 1, 2020

Great course to begin with programming in C, but remember this isn't a general course for writing a program in any language, anyways the course content was really good to start programming.

By Mei-Chi W

Oct 19, 2020

I learned how to devise an algorithm for my problems and different types of numbers. The teachers said this clearly. However, I think the hands on programming could be more. Thank you all.

By Aisha S

Jun 1, 2020

It was a little hard because most part of the information should be read. I am not a CS student so that was really hard for me to adapt cs language. But in total the course was interesting

By Nanayakkara, J G G

Jul 30, 2020

The course was brilliant. An improvement would be to introduce students to a compiler in the beginning to give a "hands-on" experience of the algorithms and codes they are learning about.

By Alessandro I

Aug 5, 2020

the course is very interesting and well structured, however the test of week 4 (writing an algorithm) should change. I think that an instructor should evaluate my work, not a friend

By Abhigya S

Jan 26, 2020

I've got a really nice overview of what programming is all about. I now kind of know what kind of thought process goes on behind the cryptic looking codes of a programming language.

By TOMÁS N P B

Dec 5, 2019

It is a great introduction course about programming logic. I've already taken classes in university about this topic, but I still managed to learn new things trought this course.

By Daniel A

Oct 16, 2020

I learned to better understand algorithms, to follow a series of steps to solve them, also to improve my deductive logical thinking and data about computers that I did not know.

By Piero Z

Jun 10, 2020

Easy to follow and very informative. Sometimes I think that the lectures are not as emphatic in some ways to solve quiz problems as they should be. Especially in the first week.

By Isabella A V

May 17, 2020

There are some typos in the text. Also, there ought to be more resources for people who learn more via videos/ visually other than readings. Still a great tool to learn, though.

By Kareim G

May 2, 2020

thank you a very good course with lots of important details but i would like to add more videos instead of the reading along with programming tutorials to strengthen the ideas.

By Seonghun K

Dec 11, 2020

It would be the opportunity for beginners to build the fundamental concept of C language. It seems to be much better if there are more videos and visuals rather than scripts.

By clemera

Jun 17, 2019

I liked this course but I always thought "How hard would this be if I wouldn't already know binary numbers?". Be prepared to look this up, if you don't have the background.

By Xuejia D

Dec 22, 2020

It has too much readings. Videos is better than just reading. The examples it uses are not well explained. Besides, the examples are still to little. More will be helpful.

By 손승건

Jan 15, 2020

I recommend beginners who aren't know about programming. when I learned basic programming language I felt a lack of explanation in course. This is a factor of deduction.