Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Project Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Project Management by Google

4.9
stars
60,485 ratings

About the Course

This course is the first in a series of six to equip you with the skills you need to apply to introductory-level roles in project management. Project managers play a key role in leading, planning and implementing critical projects to help their organizations succeed. In this course, you’ll discover foundational project management terminology and gain a deeper understanding of the role and responsibilities of a project manager. We’ll also introduce you to the kinds of jobs you might pursue after completing this program. Throughout the program, you’ll learn from current Google project managers, who can provide you with a multi-dimensional educational experience that will help you build your skills for on-the-job application. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define project management and describe what constitutes a project. - Explore project management roles and responsibilities across a variety of industries. - Detail the core skills that help a project manager be successful. - Describe the life cycle of a project and explain the significance of each phase. - Compare different program management methodologies and approaches and determine which is most effective for a given project. - Define organizational structure and culture and explain how it impacts project management. - Define change management and describe the role of the project manager in the process....

Top reviews

SC

Oct 10, 2022

Very informative. Did not realize there was more in order to get the certificate. Need to be more transparent with the actual course agenda and allow for a less controlled way to get thru the courses.

LL

Jan 18, 2022

Very informative and thorough! I've finished this course with so much knowledge that can be applied to the workforce. Everything is laid out in easy to follow and efficient steps. Couldn't be happier!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations of Project Management

By Jessica N

Jan 9, 2022

Although I had learnt these topics in school, it has been a long time since those lessons. This course helped me to reflect on the projects I have taken on in these past 6 years and the factors that made them a success (or failure). I am currently in a transitional part of life, having left my first professional job, and eager to apply my efforts in a broader range of work. I enjoyed the learning experience, and look forward to completing more modules. Thank you Googlers for your contributions in creating and maintaining this course. I appreciate the choices you made.

By Sally T

May 22, 2022

I am really enjoying the course Foundations of Project Management. The instructors are very clear and concise and the different forms of presenting the information (videos, readings, interactive videos) make learning fun. This class gives an overview of Project Management including transferrable skills you may already have, project management roles, project management methodologies, organizational culture and more. I highly recommend the class and am looking forward the next five courses in the Project Management Certificate program. Thanks, Coursera and Google!

By Joshua M

Apr 18, 2022

The course was a good overview of project management concepts. Efficient use of learning time. Effective resources/readings. The quizzes were intuitive and matched the content.

Application-wise, the assignments where you write your own thoughts were effective, though I noticed not all students gave detailed answers. Take advantage of every assignment and you'll get a good learning experience.

A little over 3 hours for each week and there are 4 weeks in total (for me it took 1 week). About 15 hours in total including job searching as part of a couple of the exercises.

By Maria F

May 29, 2022

This course is an excellent introduction to Project Management. I like the format, which is a combination of short videos, pertinent readings, a discussion board, and practice activities to apply newly learned skills. This course includes career possibilities, which I think is great to have at the very beginning of the course. This course also teaches about how the organization that you are a part of impacts your position as a PM. I was excited to complete every part of this course! Continuing on to Course 2~ Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project.

By Oluwabukunmi V K

Aug 21, 2022

The course has been really helpful and educative, as it has offered me the insight i need concerinng project management. Have learnt what project management is all about and how to implemet it in my day to day activity. With all i have learnt, i am confident that i am more knowledgeable in the field. I can now take up project without any fear of not delivering quality service. I also want to appreciate all the project managers that handled one part or another of this course. I am so happy i get to complete it, as i can now focus on the next course ahead.

By Kassie C

Sep 5, 2022

This course was very user friendly and I am a not so techy person. Plenty of additional resources from outside the course classroom were provided for every topic along the way, with real life examples and the ability to chat with classmates. Those tools combined with graphs and images helped to make the material way more memerable. The best part for me was that I was able to follow along with and complete the tasks in my own time. I highly recommend taking this course both for the official certification and the professional and personanal development.

By Ibilola O

Nov 7, 2022

I giving a five star !!! I am so excited that I have gained a deep overview into the foundations of project management. It has boost my confidence which assured me that the beauty of project management is that you don't need to be an expert on a focused field but my ability to able to manage projects. It's an incredible useful and versatile certification. It is a career path with a great potential in which I will gain transferable skills that can be used in many different Jobs and career paths. Looking forward in learning more in course 2.

By Kathryn R

Oct 29, 2021

As a new project manager, I found this course to be fantastic. It provides a great overview of what project management is for those of us who are just getting started and I appreciate the additional insights from program/project managers who have found this career path from many different backgrounds (army, bartending, etc.) It is amazing how many skills translate to this kind of work and I have noticed this myself as I have a background in sales. I would highly recommend this course if you are new to project management or looking for a career change.

By Aung T

Nov 5, 2021

Great and Best of getting opportunities to acquire comprehensive capabilities in respective fields from Google Industry for very practical, functional, actual and hands-on experiences & skill-sets under efficacious teaching tactics with simplicity to quality.

Love to learn more extended studies at Google in areas of Marketing, Finance, Human Resource Management and so on. Today education is not to get certificates from good ranking universities, but to become real capable and functional at current industries' workplaces for growth. Thank so much :)

By Buddhika U

Sep 10, 2022

It's a great pleasure to be apart in this course. Such a interesting lessons I learned so far. This may help me to learn in-theory knowledge to practice my day to day life management routine. And I would like to give my heartiest grattitudes for all the lecturers in this course to feed me in a polite way with their knowledge. And also like to give blessings to the GOOGLE because, I haven't a credit card to pay for this course and for the acceptance of my AID request gently and give me the chance until Sep 30 full free pakage of this Course one.

By cfoxphoto@yahoo.com

Jun 8, 2022

This course is incredibly engaging, well thought out and presented in an easy to understand format. I wish I could recommend this course to every Corporation for their employees to take, since everyone who works within an organization is a Project Manager in one way or another.

The Google employees who present the course are next level cool and articulate, confident and friendly.

Very empowering and enlightening. You will learn not just about the technical side of Project Management, but the human side as well. Behind all projects are people!

By Socorro H

Nov 28, 2021

This is a really great introduction into the field. The downloadable materials for the course are a great organizational resource that could be incorporated into your work almost everyday ! I highly recommend for people to consider taking some interpersonal/communications course. From a collaborators standpoint, it is really important to come into collaborative projects with some kind of concept of how the process of feedback works and how it can impact your outcomes and even different aspects of your career. Good luck and keep thriving!

By Sima H

Apr 14, 2021

I very much liked the course. The videos and readings were not too long and were indeed engaging. I appreciate offering it as I am trying to expand my learning and help my candidacy for job opportunities as well as learning personally. If Google and Coursera could offer classes related to financial management similar to CFP or CMA with a certificate would be absolutely wonderful. with CFP even if we go through the course, if we are not working at investment companies, we cannot earn or receive the degree. Thanks again. Sima Hassassian

By Sami U K

Sep 1, 2022

Alhamdulillah completed the Foundations of Project Management course by Google

In this course, I learned what project management is along with the role and value of a project manager, the project life cycle and the tasks to manage a project from start to finish. Learned about different project management methodologies and tips for choosing the right method for any project. Also learned about how creating simple team connections can lead to a successful project outcome and how organizational structure and culture can impact the project.

By seraj a

Jan 6, 2022

At this point I would like to gain a deeper understanding of the different phases of project management. As I progressed through this course I have realized that many aspects of my previous jobs would have gone more smoothly had I had this type of training earlier. I am more interested in project management without taking on a leadership role when undergoing change within an organization. I have had such a negative experience with this in the past that I would prefer to support someone else in that role rather than manage the changes.

By Olumide O O

Jun 25, 2021

I must say that cousera has added a fresh dimension to my academic life and zest for same. Studying this course injected into me a new zeal towards pursuing project management courses and I am now daring to go for PMP CAPM etc! I feared these courses before but the study of this course, even though due a number of complexities like power outage challenges in Nigeria and harsh conditions of living, I couldn't finish the other levels of the course before it closed down on me!

Thank you for the powerful opportunity and lifetime impact!

By Sandip Y

May 15, 2022

Thanks, Google for the Amazing course material useful for foundations of project management. I Would like to learn more about the tools, software, and new strategies that can be useful to manage and track projects. In this course, most of the points are covered and useful in our day-by-day project management activities. I learned how Interpersonal skills are important to becoming a project manager. Interpersonal skills are Enabling decision making, Communicating and escalating, Remaining flexible, Organizational Skills, etc. Thanks

By Markus S

Mar 28, 2021

This course is really incredible and one of the topics that I liked the most was the following and I believe that it is what can make a big change in many companies, the importance of organizational culture. The culture of an organization defines its identity. Its identity essentially describes how the company conducts its business, both internally and externally. A company's values and organizational culture go hand in hand; its values are part of its identity. You can almost think of an organization's culture as its personality.

By Fabio C

Jan 20, 2023

Useful notions about project management at the very beginning phase. A worthy approach to introduce ourselves in a streamlined approach that sometimes we've already used with no consciousness. People who speak are extremely interesting and go straight on to the point focusing on learning and showing practical cases, quizzes, so well done, let's start with the second one after a breathe to digest all the concepts. Thanks for your efforts to share contents and principles making it easier to understandable in few hours, days. Fabio

By Kavita M

Jun 2, 2021

The course has strengthened my job search. Its making my foundation stronger to be a Project Manager. The videos are amazing and the examples are very relatable. Having the glossary also helped a lot as I would have to prepare it myself. The main learning is it tells if one wishes to be Project Manager they can always learn these skills and pursue their dream. It's not that you need to have a min. of this experience or this education. Its never too late and never too early to dream and work towards to it. Thanks team for this.

By Michael F O

Nov 15, 2022

The Foundations of Project Management was created and thought by seasoned business and project management professionals to provide a thorough understanding of project management. This certificate course will offer me specialization options, allowing me to concentrate on knowledge of the fundamentals of project management while specializing in a subject that interests me. Process groups, cost management, risk management, task management, and project restrictions are all basic concepts in the foundations of project management

By Lucas K

Sep 29, 2021

This Course as part of the 6-Course Professional Certification is providing a great "kick-off" and basic overview on Project Management which even offers good refreshers and new perspective even for experienced and more senior Project Managers. I highly recommend this course for learners approaching a career in Project Management as well as for experienced professionals in the field. It's never wrong to get to know different perspectives and this is truly providing that in a refreshing and exciting format. Well done Google!

By Ashley D

Sep 12, 2021

Foundations in Project Management is a great course for someone learning to understand the basics of project management. This course offers a good overview of project management methodologies, skills that a project manager should have or develop, and how project management fits into the larger framework of various organizational structures. It is certainly a "beginner" level course but one that could also be a good review for more seasoned project managers for whom their formal PjM education occurred some time in the past.

By Christina S

Mar 22, 2021

A well-done course. I like that this introductory course laid the foundation of what project management is all about that has less to do with the hard skills like responsibility matrices, budgets, and deliveralbles. But instead, it makes it crystal clear that success in project management has so much to do with the flawless execution of the soft skills like effective communication, interpersonal skills, and team collaboration. I feel like it delivered a well-rounded perspective on project management at a 10K ft view.

By Geetha G

Feb 3, 2023

Everything about this course was so helpful and informative. I am very thankful to have been offered the opportunity to be part of this. It's truly a blessing. I am very excited to learn more and to be able to gain from all of this knowledge and additional skills to apply to whatever my heart desires in the future. I love the videos, and also to navigate each so easily. I was so happy to have found my Certificate for the course (it put a big smile on face). Thank you with continued blessings.

Geetha Green "GG"