Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
15,500 ratings
3,848 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

GT
Dec 19, 2019

Great structure and interactive format. Clear expectations and excellent materials. Subject was explained in an effective manner that was easily understood and applied. Very useful for any profession!

IT
Oct 12, 2020

this opened my mind towards intervention needs in a catastrophic event. something like this is required more than ever now. the content of the course was very good and thorough. very nicely explained.

Filter by:

3476 - 3500 of 3,820 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Tan h n

May 25, 2020

This is my first time to learn what is PFA?I am appreciate to our lecturer George, who is use a simple way to help me understand PFA.

This course help me to deep understand my mind. I hope can help others by use PFA.

By Wasitphon A

Feb 27, 2021

Great course. Easy to understand in short study time. The structure of material helps me remember the materials pretty well. The only drawback is that there is no answer or discussion from professor for lecture 3.

By Andreea A C

Jul 16, 2020

Very useful information! It teaches you also how to deal with people in your life that experience crisis moments. I recommend it! It has the potential to increase you compassion and empathy towards other people!

By Rosa M A

Aug 7, 2020

Loved how the information is presented, very well organized, wise, and eloquent. I found everything I was looking for, except I would've needed more simulations on how to intervene when the person is unstable.

By SUNNY S

Apr 19, 2016

It was a very good course - simple but had all essential components.... would have loved it if there were one more simulation for a different situation throughout the course.... Rest, it was a great learning..

By Shreya A

Jun 1, 2020

Very well structured course outline with great simulations that help in understanding of the subject. It is useful for any profession to be honest, and I am glad to have taken this course. Thanks Mr. Everly.

By Benjaporn N L

Feb 10, 2020

I appreciate the PPT and those mini videos. Makes it easier to understand and think along as you are listening. One thing i like to improve is actually the voice of a reader... makes me sleepy a little

By Aqilah K

Mar 7, 2018

I am very satisfied with the course. I understood every explanation given by Dr. Everly. I am looking forward applying these techniques in real life. Thank you for the course, I have had a lot of fun

By Yuchang L

Jan 22, 2017

This Content mainly focused on Disaster Survivor's psychological support.

However, I am still looking for like daily basis psychological support.

For example, employees' stress, children's stress. etc.

By Deleted A

Oct 23, 2020

EXCELLENT SELF-IMPROVEMENT AND POTENTIALLY USEFUL COURSE OFFERING A FIRST LINE OF APPROACH FOR CRISIS VICTIMS.

(However the course offers little follow-through advice or Certification for future use)

By Teresa V A

May 3, 2020

The formats of the material (videos and slides) are not the most user friendly and engaging - they could be updates. But the content is very useful, even for someone with no medical relation at all

By Pablo S S

Jan 3, 2017

A great course for anybody working outside the field of mental health, and interested in psychological first aid. Too basic for psychologist or mental health workers, but wonderfully summarised.

By Pei-Hsuan L

Apr 30, 2020

The instructor was excellent, but the video lectures and simulations would've been perfect if there were more pop up questions, just to engage the students a bit more on the do's and don'ts :)

By Patricia G

Jul 5, 2020

The lectures are straight to the point.

I wish there are more examples or case studies of actual events for better understanding of how to make use of the guidelines in a real world scenario.

By Smruthy N

Mar 16, 2018

An interesting, easy to understand and hands-on approach to dealing with acute trauma. As a trauma counsellor, I am sure I will use the skills I learnt during the course while dealing with cl

By Kaylyn L D

May 21, 2020

I have learned how immediate psychological intervention may really count during times of disasters and pandemic. It has personally helped me deal with the stresses that this COVID pandemic.

By Amanda Y H F

Apr 13, 2018

Brilliantly paced and narrated. I was hoping to get an overview of other exisiting PFA models/frameworks in the field though. Nonetheless, contents were highly relevant and informative.

By Suparna S

Jun 25, 2020

The course was concise and perfectly structured. would have been even better if there were more information on reciprocating with people who are unwilling to speak to or not compliant.

By CELINE C C Y

Aug 7, 2020

A very interesting course explaining the RAPID model of PFA, with simulations that help to visualize the points and notes. Not only benefits the self, also the others. Worth learning!

By Debra W

May 3, 2020

I learned what I came for. There were a couple errors on the quizzes, and George's name is spelled wrong on the very last screen. If these details were corrected I'd give it 5 stars.

By CHARLIE S C H

Apr 9, 2020

Very concise preliminary introduction to PFA. Good video demonstration. Would like to suggest variation of questions in question bank to offset practice effect from multiple attempts.

By Maria A B P

Nov 14, 2020

I am satisfied with the psychological first aid course, because it provides very relevant information to act when necessary. Also, the modules are short and the information is clear.

By Andrew J L

Apr 2, 2018

Expertly taught and these skills extend far beyond just Psychological First Aid, you can also implement this knowledge into every day life. Well worth the time learning the material.

By Gehazi B

Apr 26, 2020

Concise but straight forward course to introductory PFA. It helped me differentiate PFA from Disaster & Emergency Psychology, as well as be informed about the important job of PFAs.

By S Y

Jun 30, 2017

Good for understanding the basics of PFA in disaster response. The ongoing challenge is to educate those in Emergency Response in its practical evidence based grounding and utility.