Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,100 ratings
3,946 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

KG
Apr 15, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

ED
May 22, 2020

I am very happy and satisfied with the course program. In fact, I am excited to apply what I have learned and also looking forward to enroll in another course. Thank you for this learning opportunity!

Filter by:

3501 - 3525 of 3,955 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Natalie

Aug 22, 2017

This was an excellent course. It provided a basic understanding of PFA, going through the John's Hopkins RAPID model for treating someone in acute psychological distress. I got a lot more out of the course than I intended. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I am still not quite sure I could go into the field right now and utilize the skills I learned in class. While the fact-based knowledge obtained in class was superior, I wish there was a way to practice. Thank you, Dr. Everly for a wonderful course!

By Lisa I

Sep 10, 2020

Learning videos & information is very good. I got frustrated with the language used & how quiz questions were phrased & had to redo quizzes several times. I had to write out each question & the answers, making note of my guesses for when I re-took tests. Very time consuming.

Also was looking to pay for the certificate, but was unable to see where to do it at end.

Thank you for making this course available to us, as I work for a tight budgeted nonprofit helping the houseless community.

By Sarah N

Apr 12, 2017

I liked all the content though I thought presentation of it was a bit boring, a lot of the what not to do examples were a bit obvious or extreme rather than attempting to shed light on the subtle mistakes one might be inclined to do. Some of the quiz questions seemed almost purposefully confusing or worded in a trick way, which felt a little pointless. Otherwise I've enjoyed everything I've learned and would definitely take another PFA course, maybe a level 2 or something.

By vaishali t

May 7, 2020

I am psychology student and this course was very helpful to understand the basic things like active listening, forming rapport etc. Psychological First Aid is really a very interesting topic to study and to understand, not only for mental health or social workers but for everyone who wish to know about psychological first aid. The simulation videos were very helpful to understand practically. Thank you George sir to guide us through out the course.

By Yueh Q C

May 16, 2020

I think it is definitely a good introduction to psychological first aid. However, the topics weren't discussed in-depth and there were a lot of lingering questions by the end of each module. It would be great to see more examples presented instead of just 1 simulation if possible. If you are looking for something much more informational or detailed, you might probably want to read the book at your own pace or take a more advanced course.

By Katherine M

Jun 22, 2020

I thought this course was extremely interesting and useful for people potentially going into healthcare. I am also a leader for an outdoor education group and am grateful to have these tools now in case anything happens while we are in the field. I feel better prepared for my future in medicine and the outdoors! My only critique is that the slides were very boring and I often found it hard to keep focused. Other than that, it was great!

By Elita F M U

Jun 4, 2020

I really liked, the simulations and the way Prof. George explained was very clear, slowly, good pronunciation. The best were the simulations, made me feel like in a kind of lab. It was very nice.

THANK YOU PROF. GEORGE AND TEAM.

Suggestions: Maybe the ppt was a little boring in the part of the sentences, about video making I suggest to improve it with some techniques like the Mooc from Barbara Oakley Mindshift Mc Master University.

By Carolyn N

Mar 27, 2021

The course was well laid out and easy to follow. I enjoyed how the course built upon and refreshed some of the stuff I'd learned from CISM and paramedic training.

I also really liked that there was a separate module for self-care. I am seeing more of this kind of content highlighted in first responder courses, and always try to bring this content in when I teach first aiders, but I feel like we still have some ways to go.

By Renu K

Jul 14, 2020

I enjoyed this course thoroughly. I would have liked some more video to watch. For eg: video of a person who is dysfunctional. All the videos were of Gina who was coping with trauma.

Beyond the ashes: I couldn't figure out how to sequence them since there were no names or numbers.

Since I work with staff, parents and children my learning in this course will help me. Can you suggest a follow up course please? Thank You

By Ruth M

Oct 25, 2020

This course has given a lot of insight especially being a psychologist.

I have known when to apply the PFA and when the therapy is needed. After the course you learn the difference between the two. I have always wondered how disaster surge people can be helped especially briefly as possible but thanks to the course, all my questions have been answered and confident that i am able to offer the psychological first aid.

By Gwendolyn U M

Apr 30, 2020

The content was easy to understand, and the simulation of what not to do and what to do were very helpful. I just wish there were more examples or exercises for us to apply RAPID, so we can put theory into practice, even if they're just practice sessions. It could be broken down per letter and then done as a whole in the end. But in total, I was happy with the course coverage. The concepts were clear and concise.

By Khrystelle-Gaelle M

Apr 28, 2020

I would like to say many thanks to everyone who was behind and in the fronts to make this course available and free for people online. Earning a certificate for a course is one thing, but having such an applied and interactive, even through online lessons, is another thing. I am well aware that this course will be useful to me presently and in the future. Hope to see more courses like these ones in the future!

By Amalia S

May 18, 2018

well structured and interesting. I would prefer however, to have more practical questions and steps in order to be able to understand in depth how to offer the needed help in case of emergencies.

The videos were not clear enough in the sense of distinguishing between a nice approach and a bad approach and I think that it would also be helpful to have more than one stories developed in the case scenarios.

By Dawn M

Jan 24, 2017

This course was very informative and helpful, especially for a beginner's course. I wish I would have been exposed to different scenarios of situations people face. For example, dealing with a death, mass shootings, terrorist attacks, more natural disasters like earthquakes or tornados, and even abuse. However, learning the basic terms and how to approach and speak to others was very helpful. Thank you!!!

By Lynne Y E L

May 24, 2020

It would have been nice to know the answers and rationale behind the quiz questions that I got wrong. The way it is set up now still leaves me unsure of why I got it wrong. Otherwise, the materials are presented in a very accessible manner. The format of transcribed lecture is extremely helpful for those of us who are visual processors versus Auditory processors. Thanks for making this course available.

By Oscar

Apr 29, 2020

This course has introduce me to be to the world on crisis intervention and preparation. The course offers great knowledge, training, and situations on how to respond to each situation. What I learned from this course is when disaster strikes, the respond to an individual is never the same so you have to active listen and reflective listen to best respond to each individual's need to help others recover.

By Nina L

Dec 3, 2019

I get a basic understanding of PFA but I do hope I can learn more theories and materials through this course. The method of reflective listening real helps me to think about the way I communicate with people. And the methods and theory really help me to do better work if things really happen. I think everyone needs to have the basic knowledge of PFA but I hope there are more things to be learned.

By LAVANYAH A A

Nov 12, 2020

It was very interesting and made me reflect upon how I have been responding to someone in distress previously. It helped me identify what I was doing wrong or not enough up to now. There were a couple approaches I disagreed with in the simulation but it made sense after watching the lectures. I enjoyed learning the material but some documentary clips made me feel a little depressed and stressed.

By 126 R D

Nov 27, 2020

This is a very good course that everyone should take. Apart from the amazing content of the course, the course is made in a manner that doesn't drag or bore you. Even if you are very busy, the course doesn't overload you with content and hence manageable.

The only downside I could think of that they could have included at least a couple more simulation videos as it will prepare us even better.

By Malavika S

Sep 6, 2020

It has been an insightful experience throughout the course. It made me think about the wonders that can be worked upon by reflectively or actively listening to a person in need. The course has helped me to stay resilient and tackle my own demons. It has also made me understand the importance of self-care which aids us to stay sane and thrive; and thus being a serene presence for those in need.

By Jing X

Jul 20, 2020

Reflectively listening is not only important for people working in this field, but for people like me who have difficulty comforting others in daily life. I always listen to others' stories quitely and give them my suggestions that they actually don't need at all. I will look to be an active listener and try to make them feel better, rather than drain my brain for a 'useless' piece of advice.

By Kimberly A C

Apr 20, 2020

I found the Instructor to have excellent tempo and tone in videos; the material was concise and applicable. I have a background in Emergency Management and I believe PFA is often overlooked. This is a good course for anyone, even those who won't ever work in Disaster Management, as the techniques are applicable in regular job situations, where people deal with traumatic things that happen too.

By Deleted A

May 25, 2021

Excellent course for beginners and with no background in Psychology. The course material is very simple to understand with lay man language. The professor's communication style is very clear and precise. Only thing is history related quiz should be skipped as prime focus is learning the insights of the subject. However, more practical knowledge is required for career in this field. Thank You!

By Dr N S

Nov 22, 2020

This short course helps to get a quick background for response in times of emergency by helping those affected by providing 'psychological first aid'. The content of the course is 'to the point' and with videos of sharing by real life disaster management team members. Questions of the quiz are based on these video abstracts and assess your understanding rather than just theory alone!

By Lai M Y

May 9, 2020

The explanation is very clear. The videos short and simple. Brings the message across. I like the quiz which helps me to understand the material better.

I wish for more videos or teaching on prioritisation. This was the most difficult for me.

A nice to have - more videos would be assessment and intervention.

Maybe one more example would be just nice to show all these three.

Thank you.