Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,238 ratings
3,963 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

PG
Feb 9, 2017

A very helpful course and full of practical information for persons interfered with disaster relief and crisis intervention as this course has a well- planned syllabus and really informative vignettes

IT
Oct 12, 2020

this opened my mind towards intervention needs in a catastrophic event. something like this is required more than ever now. the content of the course was very good and thorough. very nicely explained.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 3,971 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Nikolina S

Dec 2, 2020

Trully a wonderful course.

Very well planned syllabus, really informative simulations and the instructor is very knowledgeable. I was really engaged throughout the the course and feel like I gained a lot of valuable knwoledge on the topic of PFA.

A great learning experience!

Highly recommended !

By Adi P

May 19, 2020

The course is short, but it provided me with a lot of information regarding psychological first aid. The things that I enjoyed the most in the course are watching the demonstration videos and taking quizzes. I recommend the course for everyone who wants to learn basic psychological first aid.

By Mary J B

Apr 4, 2020

Thank you for feeding me information that is important not only for the sake of others but also to myself. Thank you, Dr. Everly. I appreciate how you explained the content in a very calm yet engaging manner. It was like hearing a storybook yet it's educational and wholesome at the same time.

By Shabib K

Apr 12, 2020

Psychological First Aid (PFA) course has been an enlightening experience for me. For those who believe in empathy and making the world a better place, this is the course and it will truly enhance the understanding level and make us more compassionate and supportive. Thank you for the Course.

By Genevieve S

Dec 14, 2020

A short, useful course that introduces the basic principles and techniques of PFA. Very apt for anyone who wishes to learn new skills that can be used to respond to people in acute distress who have experienced recent tragedies. I wish I had known all about this while I was still a student.

By S. A E

Jul 10, 2020

A wonderful course that left me feeling as though I am ready to handle someone who has just gone through a disastrous/traumatic event. The course was well laid out, very educational and informative, and the vignettes gave a very supportive and easy to understand visual of each topic. Kudos!

By Beatriz R L

May 3, 2020

Psychological First Aid has been a very helpful course and a great learning resource. Not only does it teach you how to effectively help those that seek for support, companionship, and compassion of others, you also learn how to better take care of yourself and cope with stress and fatigue.

By Ms. D B

Apr 26, 2020

This was my first online course and I really enjoyed this PFA class.Clear explanation in RAPID model.Good Videos and Simulations.This course very useful to me and I would recommend to others.

Prof.George S.Everly was great instructor and thank you to Jonh Hopkins University.

D Boonsri.

By Karen d C

Dec 31, 2020

This course is designed for first responders, but I went through a traumatic event and had no one to explain to me how to treat the trauma. This course has helped address that trauma and practice self-care, at the same time of been compassionate with myself and make peace with the trauma.

By Marusa S

Mar 2, 2018

Despite being a psychologist, this course was very valuable for me. Surely my previous knowledge has helped me to acquire the contents faster, but this course is absolutely suited for complete "beginners". I feel a lot more competent to work with people in acute distress after a disaster.

By STAMATINA K

Dec 30, 2020

It was great, thank you! The course helped me a lot and put some of my thoughts in order. I learned very interesting things, I will continue to read on this subject. And of course I will re-read many times again all the lectures I saved. Congratulations on the level of the presentation!

By Emmanuel S

Sep 1, 2020

Basically the course is timely as we all can see the ways and manner both man made and natural disaster is happening all over the world. With regards to that i appreciate all the modules in the course, the only thing is that i have not received my certificate up till now. I thank you all

By Lee A D

May 27, 2020

While I already had a good understanding of RAPID, This course allowed for me to review and relearn the basics of Pyschology during a disaster. I would recommend this class to everyone who deals with emergency situations or those who are around persons who deal with emergency situations.

By AMEH Z A

Apr 4, 2020

Am most grateful to JOHNS HOPKINS for giving me this awesome opportunity to participate in this very informative course. Am also very thankful to George Everly Jr for detail and committed teaching skills exemplified. Much appreciated. I look forward to getting the certificate.

Many thanks

By Teresa H Y

Feb 4, 2018

Excellent overview of the history, need for, and how-to of psychological first aid. As a CPE (clinical pastoral education) student, I anticipate being able to apply this knowledge immediately in the hospital setting, and am grateful for the information on its utility and best practices.

By Antoinette T

Apr 19, 2021

I am very satisfied with this program. It is very well presented and quite comprehensive for people like me who are often at a loss for words in comforting another person facing psychological stress or mental health challenges. The course is very relevant and timely during these times.

By Sandra V

Sep 7, 2020

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. This course worked directly in conjunction with becoming certified as an Addiction and Recovery Coach. I wish there was additional time to purchase the certificate. During this pandemic, funds are strained at this moment. Keep sharing this course.

By LIZ E C

Jun 15, 2020

This course enabled me to fully grasp what and how it is to be a psychological responder in traumatic and challenging situations. Taking into consideration the mental health of the victims is as important as caring for their body. I enjoyed this course and I have learned a lot from it!

By Roberta M

Sep 15, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It contains great material and Dr. Everly is a great professor. I was really impressed with his handling of the case shown in the simulations and can only hope to become as good of a psychologist as he is. I am ready to keep on learning and help others!

By Erica D

Apr 10, 2016

The course teaches ways to help victims in a disaster situation. Professor Everly's course materials were easy to understand and enjoyable. The quizzes always related directly to the course material, and I feel that I learned what the course set out to teach me. Thank you Prof. Everly!

By Rosalee T K

Oct 1, 2021

After taking this course I'm feeling really good about being able to help others. The course was detailed and the instruction was easy to listen to and spoke at a good pace. It did take a little longer than the suggested time to complete but overall an amazing course. Would recommend.

By Daniela G

Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely good, very educational. More than an academic experience, I feel that it helped me to grow a little more as a person, to understand the importance of active listening, social support, and being human in adverse situations.

I loved it, thank you very much, super recommended!

By Ritu G

Jul 7, 2020

The course is a complete package to understand the basic idea of what PFA is all about. It helps one understand the importance of the first psychological aid at times of disaster. It helps one develop new skills like reflective listening that can be helpful in day to day life as well.

By Sanchi J

May 30, 2020

This course beautifully delivers it's purpose. The lectures and the materials provided in the course were easy to understand and it gave a clear insight on how to use the intervention in practice.

I am glad that, I joined the course as it has been a very effective and helpful learning.

By Leander S

May 23, 2020

It was an excellent learning experience for me since I'm a nurse and an instructor of the school for jail officers here in the Philippines, I can use this new knowledge in teaching my students.

Thank You John Hopkins University...

Thank You COURSERA and

Thank You DR. GEORGE EVERLY... :)