Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science and AI

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science and AI by IBM

4.6
stars
13,276 ratings
1,858 reviews

About the Course

This introduction to Python will kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general. This beginner-friendly Python course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours. Module 1 - Python Basics o Your first program o Types o Expressions and Variables o String Operations Module 2 - Python Data Structures o Lists and Tuples o Sets o Dictionaries Module 3 - Python Programming Fundamentals o Conditions and Branching o Loops o Functions o Objects and Classes Module 4 - Working with Data in Python o Reading files with open o Writing files with open o Loading data with Pandas o Numpy Finally, you will create a project to test your skills....

Top reviews

HM

Nov 18, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

WL

Mar 14, 2019

Every course has offered something interesting, challenging, and surprising. I am glad I have spent the time with this class. I would strongly recommend it to others with an interest in data science.

Filter by:

1151 - 1175 of 1,842 Reviews for Python for Data Science and AI

By Mattheus S d S

Jun 23, 2019

Very good course, the fundamentals are approached in a very easy way and understandable, though I think the exercises could be quite harder to train programming basic skills, because if the course does not do that, then just the syntax is explained without the development of applications skills that are far more important than anything else in a programing language course.

By Junjie Z

Mar 02, 2020

the material of the course is awesome, the practices are sufficient and helPful. along with the videos are very clear what to pay attention to. However, the instructions for practices are sometimes confusing. The amount of different applications used were overwhelming. it would be better if work can be done in just one app instead of making many different accounts.

By asher b

Oct 26, 2018

Very basic, assumes no prior programming, which is a relief for most intro courses. Would have liked a bit of what we use some of this for; the course just kinda "starts" and goes along. Lots of typos, too. Didn't like the end project. Confusing directions, and didn't really use the functions we learned about in the course. Lots of google and guesswork on my part.

By Radwan M M

Dec 24, 2019

I am new to python I used it for the first time in this course. I found the course to be well organized. I liked the labs and how they are organized and well written. I found the course to be hands-on which I needed. I did have some background using MATLAB and found that to be useful, however, there are some differences in the syntax and the data structures.

By Akshay K

Sep 01, 2019

It is an amazing course where everything is taught from the basic. One can follow the lectures very easily and can apply it. Video lessons are good and test questions could be little more better, it was way simple. There will be difficulty in searching the assignment data for students but it is fine, we can look out for it. Overall, it was a good experience.

By David G M

Dec 18, 2019

Great tool to manage and understand how to work with Pandas and the basics of Python programming. Honestly, it is worth to do the curs even if you have no idea about Python. There are step by step manuals about how to program this stuff. It is far away from difficult! Though a tip is to try to run this on your computer and keep some examples. Great Job!!

By Lauren J

Apr 11, 2019

This was a solid course, despite some errors in the instructions that made it difficult to complete some assignments. I'd recommend this course for people very new to Python - it does a good job of explaining basic Python concepts (objects, classes, etc.) for someone who's never programmed before. Overall, I'm glad I took this course.

By Bercessio M

Dec 12, 2019

I know this is an IBM program, but we shouldnt be forced to use Watson Studio.

The video were really short, so i had to reviewed many time and still find the concept of (class, and calling on other code through API difficult)

this is probably just "intro to Python" the knowledge taught here are not yet applicable to real life context

By Omid K

Jan 06, 2020

The course provides the student with the required basics of Python for those seeking to work in the field of data science and artificial intelligence. However, there is a section about APIs that is a little hard to follow due to the lack of sufficient explanation. This could be a result of the level of the course being elementary.

By Matthew C L

Jul 15, 2019

This course is very informative, perhaps you could take it with little to no coding background and understand everything in it. My only fault with it is that the quizzes/exercises are not particularly intensive, so you will have to make programs and study a good deal outside of the class to achieve mastery of the concepts.

By Jacqueline C

Mar 28, 2019

A good intro to Python. The only frustration was that sometimes the examples presented and content covered were different from the a couple of questions in the lab and final project without explanation (most were covered however), making it a bit confusing and leaving an inexperienced programming student a bit in the dark.

By Dimitrios S

Sep 03, 2019

Some changes exist on IBM Watson comparing to the lectures. Plus the way Watson Studio hanldes notebooks, storages and buckets is different from the instructions in the class. An update in the slides and instructions would sort it out properly.

Other than that, a good course with solid information and explanations.

By Dita A

Mar 16, 2019

Course materials are really good. Practice labs are also good. However, Final Assignment section needs to be revamped because it has little to no relation with the course materials. I would like to see the Final Assignment section to assess the coding skills which were taught in the previous 4 weeks of the course.

By ŞÜKRİYE H E

Jan 06, 2020

IBM CLOUD portal operations could be more explanatory, in terms of instances, if lab is 1 hour, 40 minutes is spent in the way to initially open notebook... after finishing mandatory questions, optional ones are also not explicit, I created unnecessary credentials, buckets... Without understanding, and left

By Sheva S

Oct 25, 2019

This course was extremely useful in helping a beginner understand the basics of Python coding. However, as times, I felt like the instructions were a bit unclear and I had difficulty figuring out what to do for the final assignment. In the end, I was successful but maybe the instructions can be clearer.

By Davy D

Mar 21, 2020

"Python for Data Science and AI" is a bit misleading. It's rather a 101 level course. If you know Matlab, R, or any other language, going through some of the videos is a bit a grind. But overall, the quality is good. Good job on having up to date videos about Watson, compared to other courses.

By Nathan P

Oct 10, 2019

Good introduction to python. Some lectures were quite lacking but overall decent introduction. If this is your first programming class, you will probably need more homework to get used to typing the correct way. Google beginner practice python work or something like that and it should help.

By Rajkumar A

Jan 04, 2019

Excellent course for beginners who wants to learn python for data science. In videos, all the concepts have been explained in very simple way which makes it easy to understand. Thanks for creating such course. I took the course in audit mode so don't know about the quality of quiz sections.

By Chung-Han L

Jun 10, 2019

I love this course with a bunch of useful exercises and helpful demo with tool. What can be progressed is that some materials are out of date because the interfaces of Watson and IBM tools are edited and the materials are kept with old. It makes learner not able to find and do efficiently.

By Liyijian

Mar 23, 2020

at some point, this is the very good course for who want knock the door of python and data sicence, but the content seems to be a little easy and some of the function used in the couse is not explained very well. As for the api part, after the course, I still find i know little about it.

By Elyas M

Dec 09, 2019

I knew Python before enrolling in this course and didn't have any problem with the course materials. However, I believe the teacher taught the course very fast with the least explanation on each topic. I think a person who does not know Python beforehand, may have a problem in learning.

By Victor(JingFeng) X

Aug 22, 2019

Good general outlook of basic Python programming operation. Although the details for each type operation is not in depth enough as memory model were not sufficiently utilized to complement the explanation, the overall teaching style is detailed and easy enough for anyone to comprehend.

By Manel L K

Jan 05, 2020

An amazing course for beginners like me who have no clue about Python. It's really helping me learn how to write my first lines in Python. The instructor explains codes in a very clear and simple way.

The only issue is that this course doesn't provide us with professional practices.

By Ramakrushna M

Aug 25, 2019

The videos are really well made and strongly explained each and every point. I really enjoyed while viewing it. Only one demerit is the quiz section. The quiz sections could be more difficult. But its okay, because in assignment its is managed.

highly recommended for this course.

By Jesús J G S

Feb 12, 2019

The quizzes in the videos had some awkward cuts where they would ask something that would be taught right after and felt a bit odd since I think you should ask things that were taught previously in the video not afterwards.

But overall the contents were clear and understandable :)