Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,094 ratings
7,484 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

ML
Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn to access Web Data from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of using Python to Access Web Data.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 7,375 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By K. S

Jun 25, 2017

Excellent course, I've gained so much Python knowledge, thank you dr Chuck, you are indeed an excellent teacher, the matterial presented here was easily understood... After taking this course, I could make a 330+ line python program..!

By Daniel Ś

Jun 23, 2016

Great introductory series of courses led by Charles Severance. Lot of fun and learning and good sense of humor of Dr Chuck. Fantastic idea with series of video interviews with people who made great impact on computer science. Thanks:).

By Karel S

Feb 21, 2021

I like Dr. Chuck's courses.

He knows how to teach so that one easily understands the topic at hand. The quizzes are not too easy nor too demanding. Assignments are well instructed and cover the topic that was discussed during lectures.

By Huacong T

Jan 7, 2020

That was a great experience to use Python to access the real world data. I finished the first fours course with only playing Python on my computer and this course, Using Python to Access Web Data, opened up a whole new world for me!!!

By Thomas V

Feb 4, 2016

Pretty easy but that does not mean one does not learn anythonig from it. It means it is pleasant and not a too big workload.

The instructor is really clear and fun. I recommend it just for that even if you are familiar with the topic.

By Amanda D

Dec 29, 2015

Fantastic course! I was vaguely familiar with XML, APIs, web services, etc. prior to taking this course, so this laid everything out in an organized and logical manner with good explanations, great textbook/slides, and good exercises.

By Penpichaya S

May 13, 2020

The course is great for beginner and who's new to python with some basic skills. This really helps you learn to in more particle ways. The assignments aren't too hard, yet it will give you enough difficulty to strengthen your skills.

By Alexander R

Jul 8, 2016

The instructor is able to explain the concepts clearly and effectively. After participating in other Python courses, I have come to appreciate Dr Chuck's method of teaching a lot. Also, I love the ability to practice what is learned.

By Japna C

Feb 27, 2020

This course was excellent right from the explanations to the exercises. It is going to be so useful in software development and most of it is not taught in regular courses. I will try my best to complete other courses in the series.

By Alper A

May 28, 2017

If you want to learn coding, definitely you should start with this specialization. I can't believe that i can write all these codes by my self. If I am capable of this as a complete beginner, this means this course definitely works.

By Mehmet Ç K

Nov 21, 2015

It was amazing course and easy to understand at the same time. Topics cover all the basics . I can humbly offer extra non-mandatory lectures and assignments(A bit harder and taking more effort to complete) for non-beginner students.

By Dr. S S

May 3, 2020

It's really a good but challenging course. Though I have completed the first two parts of it by Dr. Chuck, this course was really challenging for me. But I loved it. Thanks to Dr. Chuck for entertainment along with nice teaching .

By Gabriel M O D

May 2, 2020

Es un excelente curso para quienes buscan adquirir habilidades en poco tiempo y poner en práctica todos los conocimientos. Los materiales son muy útiles y valiosos. Todo se explica muy claramente. Recomiendo ampliamente este curso.

By henry h

Nov 7, 2015

I really enjoyed this class for several reasons: 1) Dr. Chuck, 2) The assignments were fun, 3) I did not know python a couple weeks ago, and now I can say that I kinda do! Thanks for a great class! Hope to take another some day!

By Krishna R

Jul 30, 2020

It was a great course, on how we could access data from Web using Python. Dr. Chuck is the best person who could teach us these topic. It is a pleasure to have been taught by him. Thank You Dr.Chuck, Coursera, UM for this course!!

By Jeffrey K

Feb 14, 2017

Awesome course. As usual, Dr. Chuck presents the material in a very intuitive and fun way. The videos are a joy to watch and I look forward to the programming assignments. Would definitely take more courses taught by Dr. Chuck!

By João M M M d S

Dec 6, 2015

Very nice course and very well organised. The only thing I have to point is that I expected a little bit harder. Nevertheless perfect. It is very good to have all the classes ready at the beginning, so one can take its own rhythm.

By Muhammad J M

Dec 20, 2020

I started this course when I started learning Python. This course is really helpful for me getting basic skills for handling web data with python. I also have learned basics of Data Scrapping from this course. Highly recommended!

By Arka S

Jun 4, 2020

The best course till now. Had a lot of intermediate knowledge about Python libraries, and then some more. XML, JSON, REST APIs were an added bonus. And as always, the interviews with legendary developers is a constant attraction.

By Imran Z

Apr 4, 2020

Salaam to all! This course is very well taught by Dr Chuck. The course material is really helpful in daily life. Great series by University and Coursera to hand over the power to non-programmers. Keep up the good work InshaAllah.

By Daniel G M

Sep 25, 2019

Really good material and lessons. One of the best short online courses I've taken. The intensity is not demanding but contents are of really good quality (you can complete this seemingly six weeks course in less than two weeks).

By jeff d

May 17, 2017

Professor Chuck Severance does a great job of balancing how to write code and the theory behind it. His teaching methods are also more engaging than a lot of other teachers that are "dry" in how the deliver the subject content.

By Jasper H

Dec 16, 2015

very inteserting course, not only about python and great introduction to internet protocol and how web service works from a coding perspective ! very useful and it is one of the best class attained on Coursera!!!! Thank you prof

By Howard W P J

Nov 23, 2015

I really enjoyed this course, and the Programming for Everybody (Python) that I took before this. Dr. Chuck has a unique way of explaining things, that makes his classes interesting and fun to take. Keep up the work Dr. Chuck!

By Garnet C

Jun 26, 2020

Another excellent course taught in a clear, easy-to-learn fashion by the wonderful Dr. Chuck. I cannot recommend enough the Python for Everybody specialization--it's friendly to beginners, fun, engaging, and highly educational.