Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,460 ratings
7,554 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

JM
Dec 2, 2016

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 7,441 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Kaiser A S

Jul 9, 2020

This is very well informative course . I did not know about how i can implement python in the website. Now i have basic understanding of this. Thanks to Coursera and Awesome instructor chuck to teach this course.

By Md. R M

Jun 27, 2020

This was a much harder course than the previous two courses. Yet, Dr. Chuck explained very good and made this course really enjoyable! I am looking forward to completing this specialization courses set. Thank you

By SHUBHAM P

May 22, 2020

An extremely beautiful course for understanding the fundamentals of Web Scraping, also getting a bit tougher as we are heading towards achieving specialization in python but it goes interesting in many ways also.

By Lluis d Q G

Oct 28, 2017

Great course for looking at the basis of data extraction. There should be a second part though, because I was trying to scrape wikipedia infor and it's very different from the tidy datasets we where working with.

By Adam M

Apr 12, 2017

It took me longer than I had hoped to complete this course, but it is very satisfying to finish. Dr. Chuck, I appreciate your passion and your dedication to teaching the world about Python. Thank you very much!

By Tobias D

Nov 2, 2016

Excellent Course. Apart from Dr Chuck giving great lectures, this course gives a good overview about Python and shouldn't be too difficult even for programming beginners (if you took the previous Python classes).

By AV

Mar 26, 2016

Very well structured, very informative. It is great that is not going into great detail, but directs the students to more resources, and focuses on the gist of the concepts.

Many thanks for this course, Dr. Chuck!

By Soham B

Oct 21, 2020

Good course, but assignments were relatively tougher. I am not criticizing - it actually pushed me to read about topics in detail from various sources. But you have got to be patient while doing the assignments.

By 张琦

Sep 28, 2020

This is a good online class for people who are interested with different tools to access web data. Besides the theory and methodology, it has some practical exercise to get familiar with the programing language.

By Yibo W

Jul 24, 2018

Accessing web data is so much fun. I sincerely hope to learn more about it. Also the professor is terific. Only one thing that bother me is the content of this class is kind of easy. Anyway, it is a nice class.

By juan m t z

Jul 28, 2020

Es un excelente curso. Creo que aun lo voy a profundizar mas.

Pero me agrado tanto que lo recomendaría para el manejo de transferencia de informacion por un sistema alambrado corto, largo o mundial.

En horabuena.

By Ryan H

Mar 6, 2019

This like all the other courses in this line is perfect for beginners. All the examples and exercises are perfect for beginners and afford the opportunity for the class material to really sink into the learner.

By Bele

Feb 1, 2018

Neat and well presented. what makes this course special is the way the professor presents it, he makes it so easy to understand. i suggest this course for those interested in python programming. it will be fun.

By T.a. B

Nov 14, 2016

This course came in handy JIT for my new job. It made me a look like a rock-star to my new manager and director! It has pushed me further into Python and realizing it's much easier to deal with than powershell.

By Anton K

Apr 8, 2016

It was the most interesting course on Python for me. I started this to learn more about JSON and XML, but figure out how to parse websites and work with APIs. Everything was so clear and fun. Thanks Dr. Chuck!

By 032_ARKAPRAVA G

Jul 10, 2021

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

Helpful?

By Wasif E

Jan 31, 2021

This is a wonderful course. I really like the instructor of this course, the content of the course is outstanding and highly filled with excellent knowledge. A "Must Have" course for everyone learning python.

By Akash S B

Sep 28, 2020

This is amazing course to learn about using python to access data from internet and use it for programs to help you to get work done. The Practice exercises gives a very good understanding of course material.

By Santiago G I

Aug 30, 2020

Thank you very much Dr. Chuck! The time you took to talk background and mention related technologies like AJAX, JavaScript and APIs gave me tons of topics to research for fun. I'm excited for the next class!!

By Vatsav S

Jun 19, 2020

Great step up in difficulty from the previous 2 courses in the specialization. I definitely appreciated this change. Learned a lot from this particular course and I look forward to complete the specification.

By Divyum S

May 31, 2020

The course helped me learn how can we parse HTML, XML and JSON files. Theoretically, i feel like i have not understood completely as in how the methods and libraries which are used to parse the webpages work.

By Sumeet A

Jul 16, 2018

The course material was brilliant. I especially enjoyed working on the Assignments. What I'd really love is to have some more assignments given to people who are interested in practicing the concepts further.

By Vipul P

Aug 16, 2017

The course was bit fast when ti comes to understanding the command related to the URL library and the JSON library. It would be good, it the course consist of additional material on the coding logic involved,

By Joseph G

Sep 20, 2016

This class does a good job of easing you into the world of retrieving and using web data. Though, I do wish that there were just a few more assignments at the end in order to solidify the learning a bit more.

By Petrov A Y

Jul 29, 2016

I've learnt a lot of new. I've discovered such things as XML and JSON for myself. I hope this course become a great beginning for my further studying of computer science. Thanks to Dr. Chuck and his comtades.