Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
42,408 ratings

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content

(256 Reviews)

Practical assignments

(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB

Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

926 - 950 of 7,630 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Christian D A

Dec 22, 2020

The course was quite involving and interesting as a beginner. It was a very well-laid and humble start to Web services and APIs in their entirety. Glad I took it.

By Talitha S F

Sep 18, 2020

Esse curso é incrível, super didático. O Dr. Chuck é um ótimo mentor e apesar do assunto ser complexo ele consegue explicá-lo de uma maneira didática e aplicável.

By Nicolas T

Apr 25, 2020

Great course to get you started with Web data in Python. You may have to do some in-depth research about a couple of thing, but as I said, it is perfect to start.

By Winnie C

Jun 5, 2019

A bit more challenging than the previous two, but very rewarding! I don't think it's hard, but you need to be very confident and familiar with previous materials.

By Kyle C

Apr 13, 2017

As a high school teacher learning how to process student performance data to drive instruction, I found this and Dr. Sev's instructional style incredible helpful!

By Aliou B D

Jun 11, 2016

Great teaching. Genuinely share useful tips and add fun into teaching. Best teacher I have come across thus far on Coursera and Edx combined. Keep the great work!

By yudu c

Oct 10, 2021

good course for newbie like me who lacks substantial programming experience and intend to moderate work about web scraping without know how to "build the wheel".

By ANAND K

Jan 14, 2020

The best brain of the nation may be found to get the specialization in Python by Charles SIr from the University of Michigan. Thank you Charles sir and Coursera.

By Tan C H

Mar 4, 2019

A very high quality and condensed course on a number of interesting topics like web scrapping, sockets, RE, XML, & JSON. Professor Charles is a great instructor.

By Gowtham B

Nov 15, 2016

Excellent teaching work with fantastic videos. Assignments were challenging and interesting than expected. Looking forward for more such similar stuff from you.

By Moez B

Aug 14, 2016

Excellent course, fantastic instructor. The lectures are well-designed and well-delivered. The assignments are not challenging enough, but overall they were fun.

By Zhang K

Dec 29, 2020

Throughout this course, I learned how to use Python to access web data. All the materials are easy to understand. I'll continue my study on this specialization.

By Harini G P

Oct 1, 2020

I love this specialization series of Python. Lecturer is so good and can understand very well. I want to finish my specialization in Python as soon as possible.

By NIKAM S A

Sep 27, 2020

That was the best I have learned so much new things from this course thank you for this course. Most thanks to instructor Dr. Chuck for this wonderful guidance.

By Moyuan S

Apr 22, 2020

Somehow this section is bit confusing or rather to say the content is not really enough to work alone. Not even to solve the assignments without example codes.

By Stavros B

Mar 26, 2020

As i continue the journey to Python for everybody i get excited to learn day to day so useful things that i can use in my future professional and personal life!

By Adinath C

Aug 18, 2019

This course inspired me to take extra effort and learn new concepts. It might seem difficult to understand at first but just keep going. Persistence is the key.

By Ivana K

Aug 6, 2018

Dr Chuck explains everything in a clear and fun way, as always! The assignments are challenging enough and you get to play and have fun with xml and (geo)json !

By VAMSI B

Jun 26, 2018

This course is awesome. However would have liked to see few more assignments, like something based on twitter APIs etc. Never the less these course are awesome.

By Paul d R

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent course, teaches you from a to z how to do web scraping with Python. It is advisable to do dr. Chuck's first 2 Python courses before starting this one.

By Michael G F

Jul 26, 2017

You view the most importan topics about python and the data in the web, really easy to understand (hard to remember for a lot of information, but you can do it)

By Joan M

Jun 26, 2017

Great course for learning how to create applications that can interact with the web and are able to read data from the web services using standard data formats.

By Zvinodashe M

Mar 16, 2017

Very powerful course for beginners to programming and python that immediately gives you the tools and skills to do interesting things with the web and web data!

By SRU

Dec 14, 2016

The best of the three so far!

You really start to interact with the real world. Things start to make sense and python is really becoming a tool to do some work.

By Jett L

Dec 4, 2016

This course is really useful and the tutor always gives wonderful solution for my problem. Sincerely recommend anyone who want to learn python take this course.