Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
42,416 ratings

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content

(256 Reviews)

Practical assignments

(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB

Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

951 - 975 of 7,631 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Hefer O

Jan 2, 2021

I really wanted to learn about API and how they work, this course help me big time to understand how to access web data big time. Thank you very much Dr Chuck!

By Vinay K G

Sep 17, 2020

Compared to the previous course on Python, this was a bit difficult to grasp. But the content delivery was really good and it made the learning relatively easy

By Anand M

Jun 18, 2020

Really nice course full with technical stuff (including real world example) and nice assignment tool with sample data to compare with.Knowledgeable instructor.

By MD. S H S

May 22, 2020

It was a great course on web scrapping . I never thought i would be able to work on XML / JSON so fluently . Thanks to Dr. Chuck for making me feel confident .

By Y. I

Nov 25, 2017

I learned a lot from this course. Dr.Chuck is a great teacher and his team of TAs and mentors is wonderful! They really help all students answer any questions.

By Jeff S

Jul 19, 2017

Another great course in the Python for Everybody specialization. Learned a lot of skills very quickly that can apply to a vast amount of different data tasks.

By Ananya P

Jan 1, 2017

Superb course, and very engaging lectures!!

Thanks so much, Dr. Chuck and Coursera team.

Will look forward to more advanced courses on this topic from you now...

By Sebastian M

Jun 1, 2021

The course should include a new small tutorial on how to set up geojson api, since now it needs a series of steps in order to be able to use it in our program

By Javier A C C

Feb 24, 2021

Es un excelente curso que ayuda a enriquecer el conocimiento del uso de Python para el manejo de diferentes fuentes de bases de datos. Lo recomiendo bastante.

By W F W

Jul 24, 2020

Greatly helped me learning python for web access. Some were kept unclear but I believe they will be cleared in next courses of specialization. Thanks @drchuck

By Vadim S

May 17, 2020

Exceptionally well put materials and motivating lector! This course is definitely one of the best among those I have taken online in the last couple of years.

By Totok W W

May 8, 2020

I learned a lot during this course. I honestly can't believe I made this far in a Python Programming course. All thanks to Dr. Chuck for guiding this lecture.

By Ritik K

May 6, 2020

I get a great opportunity to learn these behind the GUI things.. its just awesome to get to know about all this. The teaching manner of MR. Chuck is great....

By Sahil M

Feb 16, 2020

The course taught by the instructor is simply easy and great. The learning curve is not steep. Highly recommend the course for people who want to learn Python

By Vignesh K P

Jan 18, 2020

Great course to learn how to Access Web data through Python. Easy to understand,improvise and this course is very relevant and important for python developers

By Roshan K

Jan 7, 2020

Really amazing web services course. working on real-time API were awesome. Going forward to learn more in this awesome specialization . Thanks a lot Dr. Chuck

By kartikey t

May 13, 2018

True learning with good assessing style makes this course worth for everybody who share some interest in PYTHON. Its great to learn from this great platform.

By Manuel X D

May 9, 2018

This 3rd python class follows the trend of the two previous ones. It steadily builds on the foundation acquired and allows to apply the skills to new levels.

By Rohith N

Jun 26, 2017

If you want to learn python, I would suggest to take all the courses. Each and every course is awesome in it's own way! Well done Dr. Chuck- You are the best!

By Dirk A

May 4, 2017

This is a very useful course. There is a lot of web apps these days and Python seems to be a very powerful way to access, translate and use data from the web.

By Lara H

Mar 10, 2017

The assignments are just difficult to solidify understanding without becoming frustrating or getting stuck. The mentors are very helpful and quick to respond.

By Pamela A

Feb 21, 2017

I like the teaching style. I have learned how to do web scraping, parsing json and APIs. Reading the book was very helpful in addition to the lecture videos.

By Igor M

Jan 13, 2016

Awesome level of teaching by Dr. Chuck, many valuable theory about web. Interesting tasks. May be the best course within whole specialization. Thanks so much!

By Matt B

Dec 6, 2015

This course teaches the "why" and the "what" as well as the "how" to gather data from around the web. Particularly excellent is the web service through API's.

By Alicia S

Jun 16, 2022

Me gustó mucho el curso sin embargo las últimas dos semanas fueron dificiles para mi.

I really like this course however I felt frustrated the last two weeks.