Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,258 ratings
7,514 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB
Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 7,400 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Matthew T

Mar 9, 2016

Very good course to build on basic knowledge of python. Content is accessible, lectures are well presented and easy to understand. Using python for tasks such as web scraping shows the potential of python whilst still being fairly accessible for the majority of students.

By Saman M A M

Apr 9, 2020

This chapter was truly helpful, as an engineer you have to understand how computers are communicating with each other via the internet, rest systems and APIs are part of this process which were covered in this chapter. Thank you Dr.Chuck for being the amazing professor.

By I4II7038 - H A

Nov 9, 2020

Thank You dr Chuck for the great courses. I am working on my final project as a student at Sumatera Institute of Technology (Indonesia). This course helps me a lot since i am working on data scraping through marketplaces, and build a recommender system from these data.

By Omer F S

Oct 7, 2020

It was an amazing journey going through this course. Got knowledge about the data transfer between web servers, how to extract the data from web, serialisation, de-serialisation, xml schema, json schema etc. Loved doing assignments, overall a great course by Dr. Chuck.

By Ana I P

Apr 3, 2020

Fantastic course to discover how to get the most of python. Essential course if you want to go further on your coding skills with Python.

The teacher is incredible, he explains very well and make it very easy to catch everything at the moment.

I highly recommend it :)

By 荆天泽

Mar 22, 2020

Compared to the previous two courses, this course is relatively much more hard, and more useful. With the clear instructions of the teacher, I am now able to use python to get access to data from the web. I am sure this will help me a lot in my future life and career.

By Anna T

Nov 16, 2019

Looking back at when I started and could barely write 3 line code I understand how simply amazing this course is. I can see progress and my knowledge grew so much thanks to all materials that are provided by Dr. Chuck. Can't wait to go further in this specialization.

By kuldeep s

Sep 5, 2019

course its self quit self explanatory but i like to add few things

1 - Need little bit explanation how to use real life scenario

2 - JSON part is quit short but now a days JSON is big thing, so i suggest please keep eye on current trends and elaborate topic accordingly.

By Robin P

Jan 9, 2018

The assignments are becoming more and more difficult. But very rewarding when you finally get the solution. It's very important to understand every line of code from the previous chapters.

But again, very well explained (also by the assistants in the discussion forum)

By Jonathan L

Sep 3, 2019

I was greatly engaged and challenged by this course. Each week of work has only one or two assignments, but they all require careful attention to the lecture and the code provided to complete the tests. I am very glad for the material provided and the examples given.

By Gisael G

Jun 28, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. I am not really good at finishing MOOCs but this one is different. I really love Dr. Chuck's passion for teaching and appreciate all the effort he and his team had put on his book, materials, and assignments. This course is unbelievable.

By Ryan R

Nov 19, 2017

Definitely a novice level, but appropriately paced, course introducing web data fundamentals. The course gradually implements key "Pythonic" modules that allow you to connect to websites--parsing and extracting their real-world data! Well taught Dr. chuck, thank you!

By Brandon M

May 4, 2020

In my opinion this serves as a good introductory course for web services; it doesn't really delve deeper into the abundant knowledge needed to become a professional but it keeps it masterfully focused on the topic (Python) and Dr. Chuck's explanations are very good

By Essam Q

Apr 13, 2020

This course was fun and not hard to understand, because Dr. Charles has a great way of simplifying the concepts, and the assignments were great and effective. Also a great thing is that the course have a clear vision of where you are in the path of learning Python.

By Casey C

Jan 15, 2017

Great course. If you want to know some of the basic of how to get data from the web (web scraping, api's) and how to use that data (json, xml), this course if for you. Dr. Chuck uses primarily python, but many api's and the data structures are language agnostic.

By NI

Jul 26, 2019

The assignments were more difficult than the previous courses and I literally have to pull all of my limited Python knowledge to finish it. The journey was not easy but because of these assignments, I am now feeling much more comfortable with Python than before.

By MARIN P

Mar 28, 2019

This course covers a lot of different material and is, in my opinion, more difficult than the previous two Python courses offered in this specialization.

Overall, very good. The only critique I have would be to clarify some of the instructions for the assignments.

By Sam Z

Oct 26, 2016

I was shocked when I saw the inventor of Python from this course. But now I got used to see any inventors of Internet. After you met those Internet Inventors, you felt anything about Internet is simple.

The way Prof. thought was very fun and easy to learn. Great!

By Ananya S

Oct 24, 2020

Once I got started with courses by Dr Chuck, I haven't been able to resist doing all of them. I love his courses and I'm so grateful that I could learn more in a few weeks than I'd previously managed in several months. Thank you, Dr Chuck. Coursera is a godsend.

By HONG Y

Jun 20, 2020

It is kind of diffiicult for me since I don't know anything about web service. I think it will be nice if there can be some recommendation of books or videos to learn the basic knowledge of web service. Still, thank you professor for giving a such great course.

By Shivam I

Nov 19, 2018

This course introduces to the Json, XML and other python modules which are very fundamental to Web programming. Professor has nicely covered all important topics and the course gives a start that one needs to take interest and learn more about different modules.

By Vaibhav K

Oct 3, 2018

The course is great.

There's just one thing i always crave for in this specialization, there are only limited Graded Courses that are really challenging.

(one of them was such a mess, i couldn't proceed for 5 days.)

The exercises are really fun. Highly recommended.

By Alejandro M

Jul 12, 2017

It is an excellent course (as the previous ones).

The lectures and examples are very helpful.

I already work as a Programmer and courses like this help me improve my skills even further by learning from other people experiences.

Thanks Dr Check and Teaching Staff!!

By Doug J

Jan 2, 2016

Charles Severance is perhaps the greatest instructor of a programming language that I have ever encountered. Not only are the lectures engaging but the assignments are relevant and I have been able to apply what I have learned immediately to my day to day life.

By Adib B

Jun 12, 2021

Thanks Coursera

Thank you so much Dr. Severance and Thanks University of Michigan I learned a lot during this course and realized how powerful Python is I hope to take other related courses with the help of Coursera, Dr. Severance and the University of Michigan.