Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
40,500 ratings
7,358 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

JM
Dec 2, 2016

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 7,206 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Gisael G

Jun 28, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. I am not really good at finishing MOOCs but this one is different. I really love Dr. Chuck's passion for teaching and appreciate all the effort he and his team had put on his book, materials, and assignments. This course is unbelievable.

By Ryan R

Nov 19, 2017

Definitely a novice level, but appropriately paced, course introducing web data fundamentals. The course gradually implements key "Pythonic" modules that allow you to connect to websites--parsing and extracting their real-world data! Well taught Dr. chuck, thank you!

By Brandon M

May 4, 2020

In my opinion this serves as a good introductory course for web services; it doesn't really delve deeper into the abundant knowledge needed to become a professional but it keeps it masterfully focused on the topic (Python) and Dr. Chuck's explanations are very good

By Essam Q

Apr 13, 2020

This course was fun and not hard to understand, because Dr. Charles has a great way of simplifying the concepts, and the assignments were great and effective. Also a great thing is that the course have a clear vision of where you are in the path of learning Python.

By Casey C

Jan 15, 2017

Great course. If you want to know some of the basic of how to get data from the web (web scraping, api's) and how to use that data (json, xml), this course if for you. Dr. Chuck uses primarily python, but many api's and the data structures are language agnostic.

By NI

Jul 26, 2019

The assignments were more difficult than the previous courses and I literally have to pull all of my limited Python knowledge to finish it. The journey was not easy but because of these assignments, I am now feeling much more comfortable with Python than before.

By MARIN P

Mar 28, 2019

This course covers a lot of different material and is, in my opinion, more difficult than the previous two Python courses offered in this specialization.

Overall, very good. The only critique I have would be to clarify some of the instructions for the assignments.

By Sam Z

Oct 26, 2016

I was shocked when I saw the inventor of Python from this course. But now I got used to see any inventors of Internet. After you met those Internet Inventors, you felt anything about Internet is simple.

The way Prof. thought was very fun and easy to learn. Great!

By Ananya S

Oct 24, 2020

Once I got started with courses by Dr Chuck, I haven't been able to resist doing all of them. I love his courses and I'm so grateful that I could learn more in a few weeks than I'd previously managed in several months. Thank you, Dr Chuck. Coursera is a godsend.

By HONG Y

Jun 20, 2020

It is kind of diffiicult for me since I don't know anything about web service. I think it will be nice if there can be some recommendation of books or videos to learn the basic knowledge of web service. Still, thank you professor for giving a such great course.

By Shivam I

Nov 19, 2018

This course introduces to the Json, XML and other python modules which are very fundamental to Web programming. Professor has nicely covered all important topics and the course gives a start that one needs to take interest and learn more about different modules.

By Vaibhav K

Oct 3, 2018

The course is great.

There's just one thing i always crave for in this specialization, there are only limited Graded Courses that are really challenging.

(one of them was such a mess, i couldn't proceed for 5 days.)

The exercises are really fun. Highly recommended.

By Alejandro M

Jul 12, 2017

It is an excellent course (as the previous ones).

The lectures and examples are very helpful.

I already work as a Programmer and courses like this help me improve my skills even further by learning from other people experiences.

Thanks Dr Check and Teaching Staff!!

By Doug J

Jan 2, 2016

Charles Severance is perhaps the greatest instructor of a programming language that I have ever encountered. Not only are the lectures engaging but the assignments are relevant and I have been able to apply what I have learned immediately to my day to day life.

By Adib B

Jun 12, 2021

Thanks Coursera

Thank you so much Dr. Severance and Thanks University of Michigan I learned a lot during this course and realized how powerful Python is I hope to take other related courses with the help of Coursera, Dr. Severance and the University of Michigan.

By Álvaro J V M

Jun 8, 2020

The series of courses until now, help me a lot to improve my computer programming skills, due to the most of my current experience was programming micro-controllers and some class projects in MATLAB. I'm very grateful with all of you for this excellent course.

By Mayur K

May 19, 2020

Incredible, it gave me joy of learning. I am now very confident while accessing web data. Even based on this course knowledge I automated my one downloading task where I was expected to download more than 400 pdf files of in total 6 gb. Its really nice course.

By KARTHIKEYAN B

Feb 11, 2020

This course was such a smooth journey wherein challenging assignments were given. It was certainly worth my time and money. I feel empowered after completing every course in Python for Everybody module. Thanks to University of Michigan and Bows to Mr Severance.

By Kesavan N

Dec 17, 2017

I really liked the two exercises that compared XML to JSON - it helped that we were able to have the same assignment in theory but with different transfer protocols. Also, the worked examples were really well crafted. I really enjoyed this course! Thank you.

By Lindsay V

Nov 5, 2016

This course is relevant and insightful. I learned a great deal about how to communicate with internet services using python libraries. I learned about API's and how to parse HTML, JSON and XML. I did not even know what these were prior to starting this course.

By Mauricio A G

Mar 3, 2020

Another nice course from Dr. Chuck. Its difficulty level is higher than the two previous courses and one has to apply oneself harder. It would be great if there were a wider selection of activities to cover more different cases of web data retrieval-handling.

By Niveditha D

Mar 7, 2017

Amazing course with an even amazing professor! Keeps me so involved and inspired to finish the course and the content is so interesting, I dont feel like I should stop these courses! I have already started using the concepts I learned here into my daily work.

By Aditya V

Jun 10, 2017

Dear Prof. Charles Severence, I can't thank you enough for this wonderful course. The way you have taught the concepts of accessing web data using python is simple yet extremely effective. I am very happy for getting this opportunity to attend your lectures.

By Uma S

Apr 27, 2017

The way Dr. Chuck teaches and shares his knowledge is way too much fun and easy to understand. Made me to think that Python is easy to work and more enjoyable. Thanks to Dr. Chuck and Coursera.

Please carry on with your great service to the online community!!

By Tibor J

Feb 28, 2021

In this course, the learning curve takes off a bit vs. the first two which were easier, and for me, this worked fine. The course is helping not just to learn the basic web-related Python programming, but it is also a great introduction to how the web works.