Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,094 ratings
7,484 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

ML
Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn to access Web Data from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of using Python to Access Web Data.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 7,368 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By James L

Jan 12, 2018

"Using Python to Access Web Data" required more time and study than the previous two Python courses taught by Dr. Chuck, but it was worth it to see some more complex, real-world applications of the language.

By 柴杭莹

Aug 16, 2016

Excellent course and excellent teacher.

The course is well organized that though it's a bit rough at the beginning , once you get into the mindset the video lectures and assignments come together very easily.

By Rodrigo F

Jun 28, 2016

Simplemente me encanta como está diseñado el curso. Tiene una mezcla perfecta entre contenido, dinamismo, evaluación y videos extras que el Dr. Chuck entrevista a personalidades relevantes de todo el mundo!!

By Markus N

Nov 18, 2015

I liked the course a lot! What I could wish for is additional smaller assignments that test parts of the learnt theory as well as the current assignments. This would make the learning process more intuitive.

By Gamze M

Dec 29, 2020

Dr. Chuck is a great teacher. He makes it really easy to understand the complicated parts. He loves what he does and you can feel it while you are taking his courses.

I will continue to attend his courses.

By Prakhar k

Aug 29, 2020

Thanks for availing this course.

This course really helped me to learn new things and as a studying engineer it really helped my academics to learn web information exchange , retrieval and analyse new stuff.

By Makarand D

May 15, 2020

This is an excellent course. it teaches you and shows you how easily one can access data from the web using Python. The code samples and exercises show how you can retrieve web data in xml and json formats.

By Disha V K

Apr 25, 2020

The couse content was somewhat new to me like the JSON that I enjoyed much with simplicity of Python.

The topic like XML and XML schema were already known but there was a new touch given to them with Python.

By ASHWINI A

Jan 28, 2019

I learn't many things from this course, this course is for those people who want to know the real world application of python and how easy python makes everything and thus python increases your productivity

By Craig K

Oct 24, 2016

Getting a little more difficult but you have the tools to do it. Make sure to reference previous classes/chapters. Class is good in that it makes you use what you've already learned to solve new problems.

By Luis A G

Aug 26, 2016

Great course, especially for those already knowing some coding, to get a full dive into accessing the most common web data formats. Dr. Chuck's lectures are funny and really out of the usual coding classes.

By Hamsa G

Jul 5, 2020

There were few assignments i had to struggle with, but thanks to the staff for helping me out with cues, which pushes you to think through and find out solutions by watching the videos over and over again.

By Richard Y C

May 11, 2020

a lot of effort made to learn from this course to excess the data outside the computer. Socket, HTTP, XML and JSON are all new to me before, but now they already become my knowledge basis for data science.

By Rohan S

Mar 1, 2019

I am really happy after completing this course. Now I have Three Python course certificates from coursera in my CV. This course is an advance course in Python and tell you particularly about web scrapping.

By Nicolai L v d L

Oct 12, 2018

Extremely well taught course with great assignments that are also set-up and explained in detail. Learned so much in this course and am very excited to continue with the next course in this specialisation.

By anshi s

Jul 11, 2018

Good course to understand basics of web in Python and gives you strong base to use python for accessing web data on yourself .Dr. Chuck is an amazing teacher who keeps you engrossed all through the course.

By Eduards K

May 13, 2017

Compared two the previous two courses in the Python specialization, this started to become a bit more challenging. I would have liked more programming assignments - but that might be a personal preference.

By Mukesh M

Apr 11, 2017

I am learning a lot but I understand there is a lot to learn, this course had the basics of it and Dr. Chuck explains everything very well. But would have been nice if the assignments were little harder ;)

By Daniel T

Aug 8, 2016

Things start to get a bit complicated in this course, but the step-by-step approach saves the day and you actually improve your programming skills without really noticing the process! Doctor Chuck rules :)

By sukrutha s

Dec 18, 2020

Dr Chuck makes the programming very easy. This is the first programming language I have ever learnt, and I never thought coding is fun. Thanks to Chuck for making this course simple and easy for learners.

By Trish P

Aug 12, 2020

This course is challenging, but in a good way - I had fun doing a number of the assignments, even when I had to dig a bit to figure it out. Dr. Chuck provides plenty of information and is easy to follow!

By Motao C

Mar 15, 2020

Nice introductory class for accessing web data. The course covers different web data formats and the ways to retrieve and parse the information using Python. The content is easy to understand and helpful!

By Armin L

Feb 4, 2019

Really another great course. The greatest of all instructors. Good homework. I liked it. Best, the links to all data samples available on the planet, a whole new world opened yesterday. Thank you so much.

By Harry L

Jan 6, 2018

Great course, I learned a lot. I recommend it to everyone regardless of interest as it provides a good understanding of how the internet works (and you probably use the internet if you are reading this!)

By Megarbane a

Jan 4, 2017

I like these courses very much. Dr Severance is such a good teacher!

But I found the last courses more difficult and maybe I need more time to digest all the elements and certainly need to practice more.