Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
42,307 ratings
7,719 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content

(256 Reviews)

Practical assignments

(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

JM

Dec 2, 2016

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 7,613 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Emilie P

Mar 14, 2021

Great course! Dr. Severance is an engaging lecturer. His staff do a good job answering questions on the discussion forums and the programming assignments will really help you build skills.

By Vikramdas V

Jul 18, 2020

After completing this course I have gained great confidence and set my Goal much higher. I want to thank you, Dr. Chuk, Coursera, and University of Michigan to bring such a Practical course.

By madhav n

Jul 15, 2020

It was really a rollercoaster experience and great learning throughout the course. Those worked out example videos were of great help and though I had to pay for the course but it was worth.

By Abhik B

Jun 29, 2020

Course content is very good. Videos are nice and I enjoyed watching the. Intuitively formed auto-graded assignments were really good. However, there is a bug in the last assignment of weeks.

By Aditya M

May 8, 2020

Really AMAZING Course!!!!!!! It had amazing resources and videos . Thank you so much Dr. CHUCK for your amazing videos, your upbeat attitude and for helping me continue my journey in PYTHON.

By Nihit S

Jul 2, 2019

Excellent! Highly recommended! I am a novice with no coding background but the way this course is presented by Dr. Charles and the material provided really makes it easy to understand a lot!

By Gustavo S H

Mar 14, 2016

Delivered just right. I actually got a good understanding of JSON and XML, and how to use them with Python through this course. Thank you for all the team, this has been a great experience!

By Neil R

Nov 30, 2015

Awesome program, well structured, well lectured, student-focused and challenging engaging while making all the hard parts easy to grasp and understand to the novice/entry level student. A+++

By Rodolfo A

Mar 6, 2021

Excellent course - enjoyed the theory, the demonstrations and the assignments. In my honest opinion, this is a great course for working adults that are looking at enhancing their skill set.

By PRITI K

Jun 17, 2020

Accepted Good python course you are at right place. This course helps to learn so many things. You can easily understand all thing. Given Assignment is perfect for for test your knowledge.

By Deepak S

May 17, 2020

Dr.Charles Severance is perfection. 100% worth the time and effort it took for me to complete this course. Dr. Charles has put a lot of effort into making the assignments which are awesome.

By Nagendra R

Feb 1, 2020

Excellent course, it not only teaches you about how to access web data, but also make you write a few programs to test your understanding of the concepts. It is very well engaging. Thanks!!

By Jason T

Jun 22, 2018

Very good course. I would recommend it to everyone who wants to learn Python. It introduced me to accessing web data using Python. From there, I could learn more on my own. Thanks Dr Chuck!

By Alper S

Jun 21, 2017

It is a great course for python. I am very happy to take this course from Dr Charles Severance. Course is very easy to understand.

I am planning to continue to take the next lessons as well.

By Chen H

Feb 5, 2017

This course is really fantastic! Both the lecture and assignment are well prepared.Now I have got basic concept of accessing web data using Python.It's time to write my own Web crawler now!

By Md. H H M

Sep 17, 2020

The title of the course may not be of enough help if you look for what can I learn from this course? You can learn about XML, JSON, regular expressions, and some interesting python coding.

By Jerin P R

Dec 10, 2019

Very neat course. Gave an insight into how to use Python to access and extract Web data. Understood API's and JSON files in more detail. Very well structured course and would recommend it.

By Phil T

Sep 16, 2019

Another enjoyable course learning how Python works, this time interacting with the web. I'm looking forward to trying this in practice and learning more about APIs and API keys. Thx Chuck!

By Karan M

Jul 17, 2019

Its an awesome course as always. I love coursera. they have provided me with financial aids and I have started to gain value as an industry professional. Thanks, Coursera, and Dr. Charles.

By Vivek K

Dec 12, 2016

Great Material, and superb style of presentation. The examples are good, and the explanation is very detailed. Really appreciate the effort towards the material creation and presentation.

By Denis S

Oct 5, 2021

Very interesting, especially projects, just another great course from Dr. Chuck. the best thing about all his courses that gradually you are able to do things you couldn't imagine before.

By Sharmi S

Sep 14, 2021

C​ompared to the other 2 Courses, this one was more difficult. I had to watch some videos again. We still used stuff learned in the other Courses. It is getting more and more interesting.

By MUKUND M J

Jun 1, 2020

great thing to do. Just the right decision. Taught me a lot about web crawling and xml and what goe son behind the url things when I click. Sir Chuck is a great teacher to say the least.

By Thanh H P

Aug 31, 2019

This is an absolutely interesting and helpful course. It was a bit difficult in the middle but the feeling of completing the course is so awesome. Many thanks to Dr.Chuck for this course.

By Zisis V

Nov 22, 2016

The course is generally great and Dr. Charles' explanations of the taught material are plaint and understandable. Hope some day to see all the specialization teaching Python 3.x version.