Chevron Left
Back to Python Data Representations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Data Representations by Rice University

4.7
stars
911 ratings
148 reviews

About the Course

This course will continue the introduction to Python programming that started with Python Programming Essentials. We'll learn about different data representations, including strings, lists, and tuples, that form the core of all Python programs. We will also teach you how to access files, which will allow you to store and retrieve data within your programs. These concepts and skills will help you to manipulate data and write more complex Python programs. By the end of the course, you will be able to write Python programs that can manipulate data stored in files. This will extend your Python programming expertise, enabling you to write a wide range of scripts using Python This course uses Python 3. While most Python programs continue to use Python 2, Python 3 is the future of the Python programming language. This course introduces basic desktop Python development environments, allowing you to run Python programs directly on your computer. This choice enables a smooth transition from online development environments....

Top reviews

LF

Sep 11, 2020

Exceptional course, well guided with very good examples and very accurate tips for how to code. This course is a bit challenging but when you finish it. You feel so realized, don't be afraid to try.

JA

Aug 02, 2019

This course is really fantastic for beginners and those who want to start learning python. Instructors teach the essentials and principles of the python language patiently and fun.

Filter by:

126 - 148 of 148 Reviews for Python Data Representations

By Amit C

Aug 26, 2020

Good course that teaches how to read and write from files.

By KRISHNA A V N

Jan 12, 2018

Excellent course! with challenging assignments.

By Peter

Apr 05, 2019

The programming project is very interesting !

By Disha G

Dec 13, 2019

it is a basic course. good for beginners.

By valmir b

Dec 24, 2017

I liked the projects quite a bit!

By Mary A H

Jun 25, 2018

Too easy, but comprehensive.

By Sebastián R B

Jul 04, 2020

really good!

By Rohit K C

May 29, 2020

good course

By Dibyendu b b

Apr 20, 2020

thank you

By manoj s

Nov 07, 2019

good one

By Carl M

Apr 19, 2018

Weeks up to the capstone project were good. The last week has issues in my opinion. The projects' documentation isn't what I would expect if you were teaching beginners. It lacks key examples that would help explain some of the items you are to complete. It may be just me, but I had to read the projects several times and even then I may not have gotten the concept. In other words, it isn't plain English. I finally gave up and asked in the discussion forum. Save yourself some time, if you don't understand use the forum.

By Robert B

Jul 09, 2018

I feel the instructors tried to jam too much into this course. Some of the videos should have been longer with better explanations. They were talking so fast to force it into a short video, that I actually had to slow the replay down, and also pause, so that they would talk normally and not jump to the next topic too quick.

By Alina S

Apr 01, 2020

Nice course with interesting material but the final project is waaaaay too dofficult for what is taught in the course. There is no chance anyone could answer the questions without massive help after just taking the first two courses of this series.

By Kristoffer H

Mar 27, 2018

Lacks the modern functionality of Coursera courses made by University of Michigan which incorporates Jupyter notebooks into the course making homework assignments more awkward than they need to be.

By Sinem A

Mar 03, 2020

up until final project, course was very good, well explanatory. But the level of final project on week 4 was too high for a beginner who took only python Programming essentials and this course.

By Pratyush A

Sep 06, 2020

The course starts off easy. The professors are very nice and teach us the basics but the final assignment is extremely tough. Hard to complete it.

By Matthew W

Jul 15, 2018

Projects could have been a little better explained and more straight forward. Learned a lot of problem-solving skills, however.

By Weerachai Y

Jun 26, 2020

thanks

By Nicholas L

Nov 13, 2019

Subpar followup to the first course in this specialization. Felt entirely unprepared for the week 4 final project based on the material covered in the previous weeks. Based on the volume of posts in the forums for week 4, the professors should be well aware of this (hopefully that means they modify the final project).

By Devvrat P

Apr 17, 2018

The lecture and first 3 weeks were not sufficient to prepare us for the project work in week4. I think it would be better to ease the complexities through by dividing them between week 3 and 4.

By Karan

Aug 16, 2020

The cousrera LTI grading system is very bad.

I personally do not recommend this course to anyone.

Please use other python beginner courses

By Samantha R

Feb 13, 2019

didnt enjoy - too few relevant exercises/examples that enable one to do the quiz. I found the University of Michigan course to be more comprehensive. Sorry guys

By Qihang S

Mar 22, 2018

not useful.